We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A memorable stay in a memorable place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Old Santa Fe Inn

Save Saved
You added Old Santa Fe Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Old Santa Fe Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   320 Galisteo Street, Santa Fe, NM 87501   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free parking
Ranked #3 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
London
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A memorable stay in a memorable place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

This review is long overdue, but I had to leave it. I stayed at the Old Santa Fe Inn in July 2010 (not March 2012 but this is the earliest date I could select whilst writing the review) as I was driving across the US. I booked directly with the hotel as they can offer you a better rate if you mention that you've seen a cheaper price elsewhere (which I had). This stop was a welcome break from staying in cheap motels and always being on the go. It was my birthday so I decided to treat myself to somewhere nicer and stay for a couple of days to recharge my batteries.

I missed the hotel first time round as I was driving late at night and wasn't expecting the hotel to be so near the town centre, but found it eventually. It is in a fantastic location, just a couple of minutes' walk from the main square and centre where all the shops, restaurants, entertainment etc are. For the price, the location and accommodation were fantastic.

The rooms are homely and comfortable, decorated in warm tones with a Spanish feel, in keeping with Santa Fe's history and architecture. Having said that, I wasn't quite happy with my first room, as it was on the ground floor (like all of the rooms) and near the front so felt quite exposed. The manager on duty, a lovely lady called Alex, offered me a better room (and one of the only ones available) near the back of the complex, which had a fireplace and jacuzzi but was darker as the window was slightly obscured by trees. I have to admit I did an injustice and got grumpy (I think the miles on the road might have got to me), and almost decided to shorten my stay because of the room, but I'm very glad I didn't! I also thank Alex for her gracious attitude in being flexible and patient with me - the room was actually very nice, and I am very glad I stayed 3 nights in such a lovely place.

On top of this, the breakfast served in the morning was delicious - fresh waffles and juice. They also serve delicious warm cookies in the afternoon, and lemon water throughout the day, very refreshing in the baking New Mexico summer heat! The reception area was also very nice for just sitting and reading, it was more like a living room. The internet connection was also good. The service was excellent, and I would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

938 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    636
    237
    43
    15
    7
See reviews for
143
501
57
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lawrence, Kansas
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Very nice old motel. Well maintained and updated. Great location just 1 block from square. Easy walk to shopping and great restaurants. Really good breakfast buffet. Friendly staff and a really good "bang for the buck". Would recommend.

Room Tip: Opt for the kiva rooms in the wintertime.....well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NORTH HIGHLANDS
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Wonderful if small motel close to Old Town. Best breakfast while on a trip of 3 weeks. Wonderful customer service--outstanding in fact. Electronic bar on table for all my plugin's. That was a real bonus. Beds comfortable. A nice grab bar in shower. Have had both hips replaced so that was comforting to see.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

The Old Santa Fe Inn started as a residence and was later converted to a Route 66 motel. It has been very nicely remodeled and oozes with Santa Fe charm. Check-in was efficient and friendly and Danny pleasantly changed our room from a second floor to first. He gave us maps and directions, recommended restaurants within walking distance to the hotel, and offered freshly baked cookies with tea and coffee in the library. It was indeed very pleasant to relax on the leather sofas in the library and also in the lobby next to the kiva fireplace.

Our room was very small but nicely appointed -- the mellow colors of the linens and carpet were very restful, the furnishings were in good repair, and the art and solid wood doors made for a homey residence . The free-standing armoire was sufficient for our hanging clothes, but there were no drawers for folding clothes, so we had to live out of our suitcases for four days. There were tables on both sides of the bed with lamps that provided sufficient lighting for reading, but there were no side chairs, so we could read only in bed. There was one straight-back chair at the table, but it wasn't suitable for lounging/reading. The bed was comfortable and the room and bathroom were very clean. One very convenient feature in the room was a multiple-plug-in attached to the top of the table which made recharging cell phone and camera batteries easy. Our key cards had to be refreshed daily as they flashed red more often than they flashed green.

A big plus in starved-for-space Santa Fe, was the free parking at the hotel. The lot was full every night, so it was good that most restaurants were within walking distance.

The complimentary breakfast in the charming dining room was very nice. The Burrito Bar also had scrambled eggs, sausage and bacon, and of course, New Mexico green chile and red salsa. On the lighter side, were huge bowls of yogurts, cottage cheese, granola, instant oatmeal, and make-your-own waffles.

We would stay at this hotel again, but we would inquire if they had larger rooms available. I gave the room a "very good" rating -- the decor sort of trumped the tiny space.

Room Tip: Ask for a large room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indian, Alaska
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We visit Santa Fe once a year and have stayed in a variety of places. This is the best value for the location, easy walking distance to the plaza and very close to Cafe Pasqual's, where we always go for mole. Our room was a double queen junior suite (#28). On the plus side, the beds were comfortable, with attractive bedding, and it was very quiet. On the down side, it was very cramped so calling it a suite was misleading. The "seating area" is the entry to the room. One night is was 14 degrees so we really enjoyed the kiva fireplace, although the glass needed cleaning. The breakfast area is a lovely room, with cloth napkins on each table, as well as condiments, which were nice touches. I'm picky about coffee and it was good. The hot breakfast including red and green chili to add to your burrito, tamales, make your own waffles, fruit, yogurt and cereal. The staff is friendly and helpful. The service is much better than the "boutique" Inn at Loretto. We will stay here again.

Room Tip: Most of the Inn is one story and most of the rooms are not on the street. If noise is an issue for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

The Old Santa fe inn staff, seems to really know what they are doing. Since the moment I booked the reservation to the moment I left the property they made me feel special. I am glad that I choose that hotel over others. The location is perfect, just a few block from the square. My room had a fireplace, a separate living area from the room and two TVs. We attended a local party over the holidays and everything was perfect i couldn't ask for more! The breakfast the next morning was amazing. Looking forward to my next visit!!! Good job guys!!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

My wife and I love using tripadvisor to help in finding those little gems as well as luxury. This past October 2012 we stayed at this property and fell in love. We were traveling with the family "Aussie" which they have dedicated rooms for. From check in to check out we were blown away at the cost, service and amenities of this wonderful motel and it's staff! We will be referring this to all of our friends as they pass thru the Santa Fe area, but we would prefer to keep it to ourselves!

Room Tip: We were traveling with our pet and we felt our rooms were as well located on the property as anyone...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Old Santa Fe Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Santa Fe Inn

Address: 320 Galisteo Street, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#4 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#18 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Santa Fe Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Locally-owned and managed, and selected as one of the ten classic and reinvented motels in the United States, Old Santa Fe Inn is located only four blocks from the historic Santa Fe Plaza in downtown Santa Fe. Our Inn also has free parking and free 100MBps Internet access. Imagine a slower pace…..a more peaceful tempo..…a time when artists and writers were just discovering the charm of Santa Fe, the oldest Capitol city in the United States....Old Santa Fe Inn captures that feeling of warmth and hospitality from a simpler time.We're located only four blocks from the Santa Fe Plaza on Historic Route 66 and three blocks from the Railrunner train station, you will easily walk to the best of what Santa Fe has to offer. The colorful history of Santa Fe is reflected in our guest room furnishings, which are patterned from historic collections of New Mexican antique furniture and textiles, and the famous woodcuts of beloved local artist Willard Clark that decorate the walls are reminiscent of his heyday…a time when noteworthy artists and writers were attracted to and lived in Santa Fe. Parking right outside your door, 16 Mbps high speed internet access, our expanded business and fitness centers, and morning breakfast burritos are all complimentary. Many rooms feature a kiva-style fireplace and a private balcony or patio area, and our suites offer separate living areas, jetted tubs, microwaves and refrigerators. All rooms and suites feature flat screen televisions (with HBO) and wireless and wired Internet access.As you can tell by our high TripAdvisor ranking, we value your patronage and will offer you the best guest service in Santa Fe. Please stay with us at Old Santa Fe Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo and Venere so you can book your Old Santa Fe Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Santa Fe Hotel Santa Fe
Old Hotel Santa Fe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Santa Fe Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.