We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, outstanding front desk service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Old Santa Fe Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Old Santa Fe Inn to your Saves list
Old Santa Fe Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   320 Galisteo Street, Santa Fe, NM 87501   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free parking
Ranked #3 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Mexico City, Mexico
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Great location, outstanding front desk service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We have stayed at the Old Santa Fe Inn four times so far and will definitely return on our next trip to Santa Fe. The location is excellent, just across the Alameda from the center, which means that while you are less than one block away from the historic center you can easily reach the hotel with your car without having to navigate into/through the busy old town. Walking time to the Plaza, Canyon Road or the Railroad District is about 5 minutes. Same short walk if you want to go to The Shed for authentic New Mexican Food or Loretto for the haute cuisine version of it.
As many reviewers have pointed out already the front desk is extremely friendly, welcoming and helpful. Our car got broken into while we were in Santa Fe recently for a quick stop-over and we needed a computer and printer to file the police report and also a place to change. Matt at the Old Santa Fe Inn, who remembered us from an earlier stay, didn't hesitate a second to offer us their facilities and support.
The hotel has a great South West feel and is build in a motel way with your car parked in front of your door. Rooms are all very clean and charming, offer functioning wifi, but differ a lot in size. Given the location and that it is Santa Fe, one of the most expensive places in the US, the hotel offers good value for money.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

997 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    672
    256
    47
    15
    7
See reviews for
150
544
59
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colden, New York
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Stayed 2 nights at the Old Santa Fe Inn last week. Read the on line reviews and Frommers review and decided to give it a try, so glad we did. Easy to locate from the directions. Just couldn't found the reception desk, since there were 3 big SUV's parked in front of it. When you walk from the interior parking lot we couldn't see the reception door. That was our only problem. We stayed in the suite with the fireplace in in a separate sitting room and an outdoor rooftop porch. What a wonderful room. The bedroom was huge with a king size bed. Enjoyed the fireplace in the cooler evenings and the patio during the warmth of the day. As was stated before. great breakfast buffet and the best guacamole, chips, and warm cookies in the evening. Very friendly staff. Very close to town to walk to plaza.

Room Tip: suites large and roomy
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012 via mobile

A great place to stay in Santa Fe. Very welcoming at the front desk and most helpful with our touring and restaurant recommendations. Very comfortable beds, kings with a fireplace in the room for the romantics. Cookies and tea in the afternoon and a very nice continental breakfast. Very convenient location. Would stay there again.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
Top Contributor
221 reviews 221 reviews
96 hotel reviews
Reviews in 100 cities Reviews in 100 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Unfortunately we spent in this hotel only one night. We felt so welcomed at our arrival: one of the warmest check in we ever experienced: the staff was so helpful in giving us suggestions for place to see and things to do and where to eat. The room (standard room) was clean and charming, furnished with style. Although not very large, it had everything we needed. The included breakfast was the best (most various) we had during our southwest tour. They also offer freshly brewed coffee and cookies from 4 to 6 pm. The location is excellent to walk to the main Santa Fe plaza (5 minutes walking), along a very nice street (Galisteo Street) full of nice shops. They have a free parking, and free wifi (perfectly working). They gave us the opportunity to leave our car in the parking even after check-out. Good quality/price ratio. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Booked based on reviews here at TA, and wasn't disappointed.

Passed it the first time, and had to circle around, but otherwise no problems finding the place. Staff friendly. Found the welcome snack of chips and guac in the lobby. Easy to park our Tahoe in the lot. Whole area felt safe. Distance to shops and restaurants easy to walk. Great location!

Room was surprisingly large (#21 or 22? Can't remember). Tvs need to be upgraded though.

Breakfast was excellent and one of the reasons I booked here from the reviews.

Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, PA
Top Contributor
741 reviews 741 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
3,297 helpful votes 3,297 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

This hotel is "atmospheric." It is very clean and the included breakfast - complete with a "burrito bar", is very good. You can get Starbucks coffee in the lounge from 6 a.m. until 10 p.m. and you have a coffee maker with Starbucks coffee in your room. They have a small exercise area, but you cannot enter it until 6 a.m. when they open the lobby. The hotel is "pet friendly" but you can also request a room where pets have not stayed. It is within walking distance of old town Santa Fe, which is handy. There is also free parking. It is a very nice hotel but a bit expensive for the type of hotel it is.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhyl, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

stayed one night at this fab hotel. the guy on check in was friendly, very efficient and helpful and had a passion for the hotel and the town. the hotel was a couple of blocks from the plaza. the room was spotlessly clean and had good amenities. free breakfast was good, and fresh backed cookies in the afternoon were delicious. there were three computers for guest use near the lobby. plenty of parking spaces as well. only thing missing was a pool.

Room Tip: we had a standard room on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Old Santa Fe Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Santa Fe Inn

Address: 320 Galisteo Street, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#4 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#12 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Santa Fe Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Locally-owned and managed, and selected as one of the ten classic and reinvented motels in the United States, Old Santa Fe Inn is located only four blocks from the historic Santa Fe Plaza in downtown Santa Fe. Our Inn also has free parking and free 100MBps Internet access. Imagine a slower pace…..a more peaceful tempo..…a time when artists and writers were just discovering the charm of Santa Fe, the oldest Capitol city in the United States....Old Santa Fe Inn captures that feeling of warmth and hospitality from a simpler time.We're located only four blocks from the Santa Fe Plaza on Historic Route 66 and three blocks from the Railrunner train station, you will easily walk to the best of what Santa Fe has to offer. The colorful history of Santa Fe is reflected in our guest room furnishings, which are patterned from historic collections of New Mexican antique furniture and textiles, and the famous woodcuts of beloved local artist Willard Clark that decorate the walls are reminiscent of his heyday…a time when noteworthy artists and writers were attracted to and lived in Santa Fe. Parking right outside your door, 16 Mbps high speed internet access, our expanded business and fitness centers, and morning breakfast burritos are all complimentary. Many rooms feature a kiva-style fireplace and a private balcony or patio area, and our suites offer separate living areas, jetted tubs, microwaves and refrigerators. All rooms and suites feature flat screen televisions (with HBO) and wireless and wired Internet access.As you can tell by our high TripAdvisor ranking, we value your patronage and will offer you the best guest service in Santa Fe. Please stay with us at Old Santa Fe Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Old Santa Fe Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Santa Fe Hotel Santa Fe
Old Hotel Santa Fe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Santa Fe Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.