We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“quaint, friendly, and good breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Old Santa Fe Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Old Santa Fe Inn to your Saves list
Old Santa Fe Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   320 Galisteo Street, Santa Fe, NM 87501   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free parking
Ranked #4 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence 2014
southern IN
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“quaint, friendly, and good breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2011

My daughter and I stayed here for 6 nights and were very pleased with our stay. The front desk was very helpful when we wanted information. The breakfast was filling with plenty of choices and we enjoyed eating it outside on the patio area. Our room was small but very clean and had everything we needed. Parking is free and we could walk to the plaza, railyard area, and there were lots of restaurant choices within walking distance. We walked to the Thai Cafe, Louie's Cafe, the Burrito Co., Top Crust Pizza, and Tomasita's - all restaurants we enjoyed and all were affordable. Other recommendations - definitely drive to Bandelier National Monument - our favorite day if you love to hike and see ancient Pueblo cliff dwellings. Also, we enjoyed going to the Ten Thousand Waves spa for a soak in their tubs - very relaxing! The only negative about this hotel would be that the walls are thin. Although everyone was very quiet, you could hear voices through the walls so if you got some loud "neighbors", it could be a problem. We really enjoyed our stay and would book again at the Old Santa Fe Inn.

Room Tip: We booked on a major online travel site to save $
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,032 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    696
    264
    50
    15
    7
See reviews for
152
565
62
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aurora, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2011

We chose to stay at the Old Santa Fe Inn for our 10th anniversary based on the positive reviews. Let me say, we were not disappointed. We stayed in a Deluxe Suite, which was absolutely beautiful. This may have been the most quiet hotel room I have ever stayed in and every aspect of the property was exactly as I had hoped. My husband and I were very pleased with our stay and are now considering an annual trip to Santa Fe and that is based largely on our experience at the Old Santa Fe Inn (of course we would be staying at the Old Santa Fe Inn again!).

Michelle & Paul from Aurora, Colorado

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2011

We stayed two nights having reviewed multiple hotel options in Santa Fe. And we were very satisfied with our choice. Room was quaint and very clean. Parking was motel style and no problem. The plaza is only a three block walk away, so hotel is well located and quiet at night. The ambiance in and around hotel was relaxing and comfortable. Reception staff were super friendly and provided great customer service. Breakfast was very adequate and enjoyable at the Burrito Bar but could be better if more fresh fruit (v/s canned peaches) and healthy cereals were offerred. We really enjoyed our stay and recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Most rooms around the parking area seem quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate, NY
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2011

My wife and I were visiting Sante Fe for a few days and I was looking for a hotel within walking distance of center city and the plaza. The Old Sante Fe Inn was one of many web search locations. Based on reviews and their website I booked 2 nghts and I can't be happier. The location is perfect. It is clean and well maintained. The hotel breakfast is well done. The decor is a perfect fit for the location. In addition to all this the staff is SUPER helpful and friendly (Thanks Alex!). This will be where I stay next time we're in Sante Fe.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercedes, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

First time in Santa Fe and we were not dissapointed. The staff is extremely personable and helpful. Located about 2-3 blocks form the plaza, its close to the heart of the city, but quiet enough to enjoy a peaceful night's rest. Kids loved the daily breakfast spread and the afternoon cookies and hot chocolate. Rooms are well appointed and beds are very comfortable. Looking forward to a return trip soon.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
113 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2011

We had an unpleasant experience at the Old Santa Fe Inn that led to our checking out less than 30 minutes after we checked in. We arrived in Santa Fe in the early evening after driving from Denver and had a long drive the following day, so we really wanted to rest and have a good night's sleep. In particular, the front desk staff was inattentive and not helpful. We booked a reservation for a room with a king bed. When we checked in, we were first given a registration form with another guest's name on it. When we pointed out that this was not our registration, we were given the correct registration form. We then received keys and went to our room. The keys did not work. We returned to the front desk, we were given keys that worked. When we entered our room, we saw that the room had two double beds (the room was also quite dark and small). We then went back to the front desk and said that we had booked a room with a king bed. The person at the front desk told us that they had to change our room because another guest had not checked out. While we were sympathetic to the plight of the other guest, we did not feel that the Old Santa Fe Inn handled this situation properly. The front desk person indicated that they knew the night before that they would not be able to give us a room with a king bed. I indicated to the front desk person that they should have let us know about this so that we could make a decision about whether we wanted to accept the room with a double bed. Fortunately, even though it was Memorial Day weekend, we were able to locate a room at another hotel in Santa Fe that turned out to be much nicer than the room that we had been given at the Old Santa Fe Inn. We do not believe that we will stay at the Old Santa Fe Inn in the future and hope that they will handle these types of situations better in the future.

Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnJSmallwood, Manager at Old Santa Fe Inn, responded to this review, June 12, 2011
I have written to the guest to apologize for the series of events she experienced, and sent her my cell number for her to use to make her next reservation in Santa Fe. The 300+ reviews of our hotel indicate that this is not what guests commonly experience, but we made mistakes here and we will learn from the experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blytheville, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2011

We stayed for three days while on vacation. We were pleased with all aspects of our stay. I give it an A++++. The staff was helpful and very pleasant to deal with. The rooms were lovely and comfortable. The included breakfast was great. Within walking distance of the Plaza and the shopping area, it was a perfect fit for us. We'll absolutely stay here the next time we visit Santa Fe.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Old Santa Fe Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Santa Fe Inn

Address: 320 Galisteo Street, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#4 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#11 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Santa Fe Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Locally-owned and managed, and selected as one of the ten classic and reinvented motels in the United States, Old Santa Fe Inn is located only four blocks from the historic Santa Fe Plaza in downtown Santa Fe. Our Inn also has free parking and free 100MBps Internet access. Imagine a slower pace…..a more peaceful tempo..…a time when artists and writers were just discovering the charm of Santa Fe, the oldest Capitol city in the United States....Old Santa Fe Inn captures that feeling of warmth and hospitality from a simpler time.We're located only four blocks from the Santa Fe Plaza on Historic Route 66 and three blocks from the Railrunner train station, you will easily walk to the best of what Santa Fe has to offer. The colorful history of Santa Fe is reflected in our guest room furnishings, which are patterned from historic collections of New Mexican antique furniture and textiles, and the famous woodcuts of beloved local artist Willard Clark that decorate the walls are reminiscent of his heyday…a time when noteworthy artists and writers were attracted to and lived in Santa Fe. Parking right outside your door, 16 Mbps high speed internet access, our expanded business and fitness centers, and morning breakfast burritos are all complimentary. Many rooms feature a kiva-style fireplace and a private balcony or patio area, and our suites offer separate living areas, jetted tubs, microwaves and refrigerators. All rooms and suites feature flat screen televisions (with HBO) and wireless and wired Internet access.As you can tell by our high TripAdvisor ranking, we value your patronage and will offer you the best guest service in Santa Fe. Please stay with us at Old Santa Fe Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Old Santa Fe Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Santa Fe Hotel Santa Fe
Old Hotel Santa Fe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Santa Fe Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.