We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Customer service is not one of your sting points! Horrible service!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Cities of Gold Casino Hotel

Save Saved
You added Cities of Gold Casino Hotel to your Saves list
Cities of Gold Casino Hotel
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cities of Gold Casino Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10-A Cities of Gold Road, Santa Fe, NM 87506   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #49 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Customer service is not one of your sting points! Horrible service!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

The lady at the front check in desk was not friendly. We had no hot water in the morning and were told we were the only ones to complained. No one had a hot shower. When we spoke to the lady at the front desk. She was very uncaring and never apologized for the in convince. And said well you pre paid for your room so that's it. We asked to speak to the manager and was informed mark the manager would not be in till after noon. Had to ask for marks business card which did not even have his name on in. Had to write his name down myself. Plz do not stay here it's not worth 180 a night. I recommend buffalo thunder and I wish they were not full so we could of stayed there. Their customer service was great just visiting the casino. Will never stay or recommend to stay here to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    11
    14
    8
    9
See reviews for
10
19
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Silver City, New Mexico
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

Went to lay down n felt something weird inside my pillow...it was a huge sewing needle. When we called the front desk they said they would be right up. They never showed! We took the pillow to the front desk n the lady thought it was funny n just apologized! When we asked for the manager they said there wasn't one available. We asked for the number and they said they didn't have the number !!! Really??? I will never stay here again

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topeka, Kansas
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We were visiting in Santa Fe for five days and wanted to find an inexpensive place to stay. The COG Hotel was basic no-frills comfort. The King bed gave an excellent night's sleep--and after a day at the Balloon Fiesta-- we needed the sleep. The facility was pretty worn and not exceptionally well maintained. However, the staff went overboard to be helpful.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockport
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We checked in with our bus tour director at this hotel. The food we were served for our dinner in the conference room was better than I expected. The hotel personnel were all very helpful and nice. With that being said, when we got to our room, we needed toilet paper and Kleenex. Our room telephone did not work right. I could hear the front desk but they couldn't hear me.
When taking a shower, the shower was very slippery and didn't have anything to hold on to. All other hotels had a grab handle. We were on the second floor. I wanted to get ice and the ice machine was on the lst floor only and half way down the lst floor hallway. The ice machine was broken and it directed me to another building. These nice folks need to pay some attention to detail. For these reasons, I wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Came here on a recommendation of my parents who have stayed here before. I needed an inexpensive place to stay on our lengthy vacation, near Santa Fe, NM. We arrived early so couldn't check in, but they registered that I had arrived with the family. I told them we were going into Santa Fe to sightsee and that I would return. We came back to a nice, quiet room. We loved the inner atrium which lended itself to a more quiet hallway experience too. We could walk over to the casino for some fun and then walk back safely. The breakfast the next morning was great, 3 servers working non-stop filling coffee cups and taking orders. We would stay there again

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

A good traveling place to stay that close to Santa Fe but reasonably priced. the Checkin is quick and easy and the hotel has two completely separate wings for smokers and non-smokers. THe hotel is 100 meters off highway 285 to Taos so its a good place to base a visit to the northern pueblos, Chimayo, Los Alamos and the Sangre de Cristo mountains. THe rooms are fairly large and have 2 sinks each with large counter space.

Room Tip: Select the room in the wing with your smoking preference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

My husband and I made reservations a week before our trip to stay two nights. We reserved a king size bed, non smoking, dog friendly room. We showed up at 10:00 pm. When we went to check in, Heather at the front desk told us someone decided to extend their stay and so they had no pet friendly room. I told her we drove two hours with our dog what were we supposed to do, we were told we could stay but our dog couldn't. We asked for a manager she said there wasn't one, they couldn't do anything for us. A new staff member Chris called the manager and they found us a smoking room with two full size beds. The bed was small for my husband and I. This morning went to talk to the manager all he had to say was they had found us a room and I had got a good rate because of my prayers card. He only had excuses. Heather needs customer training and the manager needs to be responsible for his employees making mistakes.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Cities of Gold Casino Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cities of Gold Casino Hotel

Address: 10-A Cities of Gold Road, Santa Fe, NM 87506
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cities of Gold Casino Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cities of Gold Casino Hotel is located 15 scenic miles north of Santa Fe, New Mexico on Hwy. 84/285. 124 luxurious Guest Rooms. 1300 square feet of Conference Facilities. Breakfast and Dinner available in the Gold Dust Restaurant. Just steps away from the Cities of Gold Casino with Las Vegas style gaming action - seven days a week. Blackjack, Craps, Roulette, Slots, Bingo, Three Card Poker and the ONLY Poker Room in Northern New Mexico. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Reservation Counter, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Cities of Gold Casino Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cities Of Gold Hotel Santa Fe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cities of Gold Casino Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;