We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Front desk person heather was extremely rude.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cities of Gold Casino Hotel

Cities of Gold Casino Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Cities of Gold Casino Hotel to your Saves list
Cities of Gold Casino Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10-A Cities of Gold Road, Santa Fe, NM 87506   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #49 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Front desk person heather was extremely rude.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

My husband and I made reservations a week before our trip to stay two nights. We reserved a king size bed, non smoking, dog friendly room. We showed up at 10:00 pm. When we went to check in, Heather at the front desk told us someone decided to extend their stay and so they had no pet friendly room. I told her we drove two hours with our dog what were we supposed to do, we were told we could stay but our dog couldn't. We asked for a manager she said there wasn't one, they couldn't do anything for us. A new staff member Chris called the manager and they found us a smoking room with two full size beds. The bed was small for my husband and I. This morning went to talk to the manager all he had to say was they had found us a room and I had got a good rate because of my prayers card. He only had excuses. Heather needs customer training and the manager needs to be responsible for his employees making mistakes.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    11
    15
    8
    8
See reviews for
10
18
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Do not bother to stop at this hotel. Management is horrible, customer service is lousy and unprofessional. No one is willing to help you out and the housekeeping personnel steal. The rooms are old and smell like cigarettes and the sheets do not seem to be clean nor fresh. Really stay away from this place

Room Tip: No good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Cities of Gold hotel for 4 amazing evenings. The peaceful room, great service, small casino in-house, and terrific on-site restaurant were all a plus for our visit. We will recommend this hotel to our friends!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springdale, Arkansas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We recently spent three nights here while on a motorcycle trip. We were a little concerned after reading some of the reviews posted but I am happy to report we enjoyed our stay. The hotel is older but our room was clean and the bed was comfortable. The staff was so nice and helpful. The restaurant was absolutely delicious and moderately priced. The bar is new and bartender very hospitable. The location is great to ride out and tour the area. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Just returned from Santa Fe where we stayed at the Cities of Gold casino/hotel. We used to stay there when it first opened but then moved on to Buffalo Thunder Hilton. Since we hadn't stayed here in years, we decided to try it again. Our memories of it where good. Beautiful inside corridors and nice rooms. Reality is that the corridors are still nice but the rooms don't seem to have changed since it was first opened. The TVs are of the old bulky variety and the bathroom towels are so skimpy. We weren't impressed with the maid service. Every day we had to ask for enough towels for our family of 3. Two out of 3 days the key didn't work so we had it have them rekeyed. Sorry, but what is more annoying than lugging all your luggage down to the room assigned to you - to find that the key doesn't work? And again the next day. It makes you feel like an outcast. When I complained nicely, the front staff personnel took my key, rekeyed it and returned it without even an apology. What could it have hurt to be a bit extra nice? When we checked in, two of the 'big wigs' were in the lobby talking about the personnel and customers right in front of us. Finally, they got a clue and moved off where we couldn't hear them anymore. I don't want to hear what you have to say against your employees, please! We ate only once at the restaurant for breakfast and it was tasty. The waitress who took care of the whole dining room was very polite and busy except that she kept yelling at the cook through the kitchen doors because he couldn't hear (this is what she said loud enough for us to hear). We won't be staying there again. I can't believe they were charging $89 and $105 for the rooms. Those rooms were dinky and way over priced. I happened to be in the lobby at the time a front desk personnel was talking to a customer about the complaints he had with the room prices. The employee was nice and polite to him but why do the rest of the customers have to listen to every problem they have. The customer wasn't even loud - we could only hear the employee. Anyway, we did enjoy our trip to Santa Fe and the hotel did not really distract from it but travelers need to be aware that this hotel needs some serious updates to include flat screens (and I don't even watch TV)! As much money as the casino is making, they should take some of the profits and buy new carpeting and get new pictures in the rooms. Those looked like the same pictures they had when the hotel was first built. Take my advice and stay at Buffalo Thunder at the HIlton!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Onawa, Ia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stayed here again the 4th of March..Room very nice and clean. Quite affordable and would stay there again if we are out that way. The rooms aren't super large but very but served our needs. Easy to get to and close to a casino. The casino was quite smokey so we didn't spend much time there. The beds were comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

For 10 plus years I had been stopping at the Cities of Gold Hotel and Casino at least twice a year. In November of 2012. I booked in for several days. The room was absolutely bad! Smelled and had small bugs. The Carpet was horrible. After a couple of Days of losing money at the Casino, I moved on. Because of the ideal location of the facility, I booked in again In December 2012 to be mistreated by the management and now there is a credit charge dispute over one night stay.The slots at the Casino were insulting by never giving a fair return. Well last week I decided to give the facility one more try. The Casino Slots have not improved and the Hotel management is still rude and insulting! I've given up! Never again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cities of Gold Casino Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cities of Gold Casino Hotel

Address: 10-A Cities of Gold Road, Santa Fe, NM 87506
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cities of Gold Casino Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cities of Gold Casino Hotel is located 15 scenic miles north of Santa Fe, New Mexico on Hwy. 84/285. 124 luxurious Guest Rooms. 1300 square feet of Conference Facilities. Breakfast and Dinner available in the Gold Dust Restaurant. Just steps away from the Cities of Gold Casino with Las Vegas style gaming action - seven days a week. Blackjack, Craps, Roulette, Slots, Bingo, Three Card Poker and the ONLY Poker Room in Northern New Mexico. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Cities of Gold Casino Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cities Of Gold Hotel Santa Fe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cities of Gold Casino Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.