We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No customer service!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Cities of Gold Casino Hotel

Cities of Gold Casino Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Cities of Gold Casino Hotel to your Saves list
Cities of Gold Casino Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10-A Cities of Gold Road, Santa Fe, NM 87506   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #49 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“No customer service!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

While the hotel is nice inside, they have no customer service skills at all. We had previously received coupons for discounted stays, but nothing current. Told us too bad, we booked on-line. Casino Host was no help either. Service gets worse though. Our Jeep broke down and was towed to Barth Kia (great place), had no way to get there. Would not take us in their van. Manager even spoke bad about their van service but told us it was too bad. Got a map out and showed me where the dealership was in town. Ok, we know where our car is, we cannot get there. Told us not their problem. Guess what, it is.... Poor Customer Service and food is nasty!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    11
    16
    8
    8
See reviews for
10
18
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Socorro, New Mexico
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

My wife and I, quite familiar with Santa Fe area, chose to go to the Santa Fe Opera to
see a production of Bizet's Pearl Fishers. It ends late at night, so a nearby hotel is necessary.
We prebooked on the Internet a King bedded single, and were overjoyed with the result!
For $74 total cost, all taxes and fees included, we got a quiet, clean room just a few
minutes by car from the opera house. This is a lot cheaper and far better than some of
the flea pits we had previously endured in Santa Fe itself.

One hint: eat elsewhere! Their dinner is poor, and the only edible thing on the breakfast menu
was a large plate of cut fresh fruit. Santa Fe is full of gourmet places to dine, use them!

Room Tip: Internet pre-booking gives lowest rates.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

I spent the weekend in Los Alamos, NM and decided to go to Sunday breakfast at the Cities of Gold "Golden Buffet" at the Casino in Pojoaque, NM. The casino was surprisingly busy at 9:00 AM as I made my way through the smoky room to the back of the casino where the Golden Buffet was located.

I was greeted and immediately seated in a booth by the hostess. I made my way to a lack luster buffet featuring mushy pan fried potatoes, watery scrambled eggs, bacon floating in about a 1/2 of grease in a container next to sausage while ample was gray in color and ultimately rubbery in texture.

There was an omelet station where the line was 9 deep for one attendant feverishly making the egg concoctions to order. After a 10 minute wait, I opted for the watery omelets. Awful!

The red and green chile was hot and plentiful - tasted homemade. Truly the highlight of the truly awful buffet.

Come on Cities of Gold you have to work on this -- raise your prices and improve this white hot mess you call a buffet.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, CO
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

My room was exceptionally large, quiet, and well furnished. Room lighting well above average. Bed very comfortable. The facility is clean, nice amenities, nice decor inside an out. Value priced. The bar/restaurant are average. Staff friendly. General Manager was there and checked me in. How often does that happen? This is a well maintained property. Really a terrific value.

Hotel is across parking lot from casino. This hotel is midway between Santa Fe and Espanola and Los Alamos, so not really near any town, just casinos. But it was located for me as my visit in Santa Fe was over and the next morning I headed north to Colorado, so it got me on my way easily the next morning.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agoura Hills, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

This hotel exceeded our expectations in all respects. It was a very pleasant stay,and we would not hesitate to recommend this facility to any one. We had booked queen size beds, and found
they are really standard full size. The management solved this problem to our satisfaction in a couple of minutes. An excellent value for the price we paid.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

When checking in the front desk clerk was miffed because we had two beds. She asked me why? I said that's all there was when booking. Then we checked in the room and were told we would have queen size beds... we got full.
The rooms were clean and but have not been remodelled for awhile.
The buffet looked horrible.
We went to the little restaraunt there in the casino. We stood there and finally a girl came up and asked what we wanted. There were only two tables in the place. We were seated. Then waited about 8 minutes and still noone came. so we left. Went to room for room service. This was at 8:24 Pm. They close at 9pm. They said that the food would be 20 minutes. After 1.5 hours it showed up. Half burnt mexican plate . The steak sandwich was grisly and the cheese was processed and had been microwaved. They charged $36.00 for it. We packed our things and left the food outside the door.
When I went to check out and tell of our unhapiness; another desk night manager said that she would refund 1 night of our two night stay. I said no i want both nights. Plus not to be charged for the food. She said i needed to call 3 different managers to get it resolved. We left and went to the Hilton. WAAAY Better and POLITE staff there.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cities of Gold Casino Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cities of Gold Casino Hotel

Address: 10-A Cities of Gold Road, Santa Fe, NM 87506
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cities of Gold Casino Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cities of Gold Casino Hotel is located 15 scenic miles north of Santa Fe, New Mexico on Hwy. 84/285. 124 luxurious Guest Rooms. 1300 square feet of Conference Facilities. Breakfast and Dinner available in the Gold Dust Restaurant. Just steps away from the Cities of Gold Casino with Las Vegas style gaming action - seven days a week. Blackjack, Craps, Roulette, Slots, Bingo, Three Card Poker and the ONLY Poker Room in Northern New Mexico. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Cities of Gold Casino Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cities Of Gold Hotel Santa Fe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cities of Gold Casino Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.