We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central Location, Good Meeting Spot” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Flying Star Cafe

Flying Star Cafe
500 Market Street, Suite 110, Santa Fe, NM 87501
505-216-3939
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #106 of 464 restaurants in Santa Fe
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Rockford, IL
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Central Location, Good Meeting Spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Located in the rail yard, this is a good location to meet people for social or business. Food is adequate, order at the counter and they bring it to you. Lots of room and is bright and colorful interior. Good spot to have extended conversations.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

78% Recommend
    30
    38
    15
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Santa Cruz, California
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Good food, not good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

This is an order-at-the-counter place but food is efficiently brought to your table. Lots of diversity: my partner had a Reuben; I had grilled veggies with goat cheese & polenta; they also have many breakfast items, burgers, salads, gooey-good desserts. Lots of locally-sourced, healthy choices if you want them. So we liked the food, but portions were stingy while prices were very high, even for the Railyard. Atmosphere is coffee-house-esque... comfortable but certainly not peaceful or romantic.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OKC
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Looks like a cafe, but is much more . . .”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

I love this place. The atmosphere is casual, coffee shop-like, but the food was outstanding. Watching the chefs work in the open kitchen was interesting. I had the feeling that the staff genuinely cared. But the food! It is terrific. If you want good food--this is the place to go!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, NM
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Great fish tacos!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

I love the idea of Flying Star Cafe--good food and desserts, large and comfortable dining area which encourages hanging out, and a huge selection of magazines. I first visiting the Flying Star in Albuquerque, and I was so excited when Santa Fe got our own restaurant. Lots of people have meetings here-there are large tables and booths, which makes it easy for large groups to gather. On certain nights of the week, there are gaming clubs that meet as well. There are lots of options for food, and I haven't sampled too much, because I ALWAYS get the fish tacos. The sauce is amazing--kind of a tangy coleslaw taste, and the fish is moist and flaky, with a little blackening on the edges. The deserts are decadent and enormous. Good PIE! In fact, all the servings are large. Flying Star is not 5-star dining, but it's cheerful, warm, tasty, and a great meeting place in the Railyard area.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Flying Star Cafe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

We discovered Flying Star and were very pleased with our meals (yes we liked it so much we had 2 dinners and a breakfast there). They had great vegetarian options as well as baked goods on their menu along with other great meat eater options - all ingredients are from local providers (another plus)

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Flying Star Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Flying Star Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flying Star Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.