We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another average restaurant instead of the next great place” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tomme - CLOSED

Tomme
229 Galisteo St, cor Alameda, Santa Fe, NM 87501
(505) 820 2253
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American, Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Alameda
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Another average restaurant instead of the next great place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Based on the hype surrounding the new chef we had high expectations and were somewhat disappointed. This is not the next great discovery in town. It misses the mark in more than one way: the great service we received does not make up for the so-so food, the lack of a warm and comfortable atmosphere (the deco style is "dental practice") or the high prices. We both had the oysters (3$ a piece) and the canard a l'orange (the duck was ok, nice portion, not as tender as expected and the orange sauce lacked character). We had Prosecco with the oysters (very nice) and a red by the glass from California (cant remember the grape or the winery but it was near spectacular). In summary: in that general location and price category Tomme has a LOT of competition.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    26
    15
    13
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“Even better with new chef”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

If you are familiar with the cuisine in this part of New Mexico, then you might already appreciate the talent of the new chef at Tomme, who formerly owned Joseph's Table in Taos. Being huge fans of [the erstwhile] Max's, we had been to Tomme several times before, and thoroughly enjoyed both the menu and the quality of food served. Now that Jospeh is on board, we are completely enthralled and enchanted. Max, the owner, and Jospeh, the chef, are a winning combination! The food is superb, delicious, and of the highest quality. My sea bass with gnocchi was out of this world. My husband had the trout, which was equally delicious. We will be back, many times, we hope!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“My new favorite Santa Fe restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We ate here on our last evening in Santa Fe last month, and it was simply fabulous! I read a review and decided we should try it. We were a little worried when we arrived as there were only a few diners, but we had a wonderful experience, great service, wonderful food. After a small salad and a complementary appetizer, my husband had the ratatouille, I had the duck. Everything was well prepared and delicious. To top it off, I chose the warm chocolate pudding for dessert, with nuts, whipped cream, and a shortbread cookie. Oh my, I was so happy with this simple dessert. I cannot say enough about the food here, truly wonderful.

It was also nice to be in a restaurant that was not overcrowded and loud, it was very comfortable.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Great little bistro.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

My husband is almost vegan & we love to eat. There were many things he could eat on the menu & they were well prepared. They were very kind to substitute a quince quinoa (that he's still raving about) for the side that came with his dinner. Reasonably priced & delicious.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The netherlands
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Friendly and relaxed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We didn't have a reservation, but somehow we were seated by the owner at the best table. We had lamb and the vegatarian ratatouille accompanied by glasses of Malbec and Viognier. Very good. Service was friendly en relaxed. There was no rush, people were just enjoying their meals and conversations. Overall a great experience. No espresso though...

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tomme also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tomme, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.