We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dunshee's Casita - Serene, warm, inviting and spacious !!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dunshee's

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Santa Fe
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dunshee's
986 Acequia Madre, Santa Fe, NM 87501   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 43 Santa Fe B&B and Inns
Los Angeles, California
1 review
“Dunshee's Casita - Serene, warm, inviting and spacious !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

You'll be very glad you chose to stay at Dunshee's in Santa Fe. My traveling companion and I chose the Casita and were both very pleased with the accommodations and our overall stay. This was my first time in Santa Fe, and my companion has been to Santa Fe many times and was thrilled with this ideal location, tucked away in a beautiful and quiet neighborhood, but within easy walking distance of Canyon Road which features many great art galleries and wonderful restaurants. Susan was a wonderful host, more than happy to help us, always available and made sure we had plenty of privacy. We will definitely be staying at Dunshee's during our next trip to Santa Fe!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    62
    6
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
10
37
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Charlottesville, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

This is the most spacious B&B suite we'd ever seen, beautifully and comfortably furnished. Susan is warm and welcoming, and the dogs are kept out of your way unless you request canine facetime -- and then they're quiet and friendly. We had pleasant walks to both downtown and Museum Hill, and there's a great bookstore not far away on Garcia Street. And you don't even need to make small talk with other travelers over breakfast!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Having just returned from our third or fourth stay at Dunshee's, we are pleased to repeat our review from last June:
Dunshee's, tucked away on a back lane near the upper end of Canyon Road, is a quintessential Santa Fe bed and breakfast. There's a quiet shaded patio and lovely garden that opens off the guest suite, roomy living quarters, comfortable and tastefully chosen furnishings--everything spic-and-span clean. Susan was most welcoming, as well as knowledgeable and informative with regards Santa Fe, itself. And her breakfasts each morning--wow! Each morning's repast was different, and each was excellent. We look forward to our next stay at Dunshee's, and highly recommend it to other visitors to Santa Fe.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

My wife and I had stayed in Santa Fe two years ago, but stayed closer to the square. Dunshee's suite was an excellent change of pace. We felt like we had rented a home for the weekend. Very spacious living room and also access to the garden area in the backyard. There are also kiva's in the dining room, bedroom, and back porch. We also liked Susan's taste regarding decoration and furniture. We have always been drawn to more folk/eclectic art. This is not the normal victorian/lace explosion that many b and b's are. Susan also has a wide variety of books to look though on the library shelf including many regarding sightseeing in the area.

The main square is within walking distance if you don't mind the hills up and down canyon road. We saw several people walking each day but we chose to drive and didn't have trouble finding parking. Lots of galleries within five minutes walk as well as several restaurants.

Susan has a small refrigerator so one evening, we went and bought some of our favorite foods at Whole Foods and had dinner on the back porch. So nice!

The best thing about the suite is that Susan prepares breakfast for you each morning. Not only is it delicious, but it also saves money not having to also pay for breakfast in town. Coffee, fresh orange juice, some of the best muffins I've ever tasted (ginger/pear muffin was the best!!!), green chile suffle, frittata, bacon, etc. And it was fun to talk to Susan each morning and get her recommendations for the day. She is very easy to talk to.

We will surely come back and recommend it to anyone we know that is going to Santa Fe.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

We took our first "road trip" from Minnesota and had never been to New Mexico. Staying at Dunshee's in Santa Fe was a delightful experience! Very cozy, homey, and Susan was so helpful with information on where to go and what to see. Her breakfasts were delicious and a great way to start the day exploring the area. The location was perfect, within walking distance of the Plaza with museums, shops, and great restaurants. We'll be back!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Issaquah, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

Susan Dunshee's B&B is a beautiful vintage Santa Fe adobe within walking distance of the main "arts" road, Canyon Road and also close to the Plaza. I stayed in the one bedroom suite which was enormous and beautifully furnished in lovely antiques and art. There are two fireplaces, a comfortable tiled bathroom, a large bedroom with sitting area, large living room with two sofas (one a sofa bed), and an eating area with a table that can seat 10-12. The two outside sitting areas/gardens are quiet and lovely. Susan, the owner, is a terrific cook - her breakfasts are healthy, filling and a different delight each day - and lively conversationalist. Every day began with nourishment for tummy and mind. It's so nice to have a thoughtful, local individual on hand to steer one in the right direction - whatever direction that may be.

Room Tip: The one bedroom suite has a large bedroom with queen bed and sitting area. The huge living room has...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arden Hills, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

For our first trip to Santa Fe we wanted to be able to talk to a person that knew the area. Susan was great! Our day trip to Tent Rocks would not have happened without her recommendation. It was very special. The breakfasts were another treat (very different for each of the 5 days). Gourmet food that was also healthy. The lodging is spacious. Many shops and the downtown are within walking distance. Her recommendation to go to the Museum of Indian Art and Culture first proved to be good advise.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dunshee's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunshee's

Address: 986 Acequia Madre, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dunshee's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Dunshee's to your Saves list