We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Rate!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dunshee's

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Santa Fe
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dunshee's
Save
You added Dunshee's to your Saves list
986 Acequia Madre, Santa Fe, NM 87501   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 43 Santa Fe B&B and Inns
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“First Rate!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Dunshee's, tucked away on a back lane near the upper end of Canyon Road, is a quintessential Santa Fe bed and breakfast. There's a quiet shaded patio and lovely garden that opens off the guest suite, roomy living quarters, comfortable and tastefully chosen furnishings--everything spic-and-span clean. Susan was most welcoming, as well as knowledgeable and informative with regards Santa Fe, itself. And her breakfasts each morning--wow! Each morning's repast was different, and each was excellent. We look forward to our next stay at Dunshee's, and highly recommend it to other visitors to Santa Fe.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    7
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
12
45
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Spacious, smartly decorated, comfortable... a home for yourself! Two patios, garden, living room, library, bedroom, privacy. Everything you could possibly ask for and more. And Susan prepares excellent breakfasts. Great location too.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

This is one of those bed and breakfasts that defines what B&B truly means. Home away from home - even better! Susan made us feel welcome right away. She helped us discover local restaurants, galleries and activities. We truly enjoyed the great location; the property itself is nestled in one of the most beautiful areas of Santa Fe - walking distance to some great restaurants and all the galleries on Canyon Road! At the same time, it was secluded where we enjoyed peaceful moments reading and relaxing in our own private garden.The daily breakfasts were not only unique with plenty to enjoy, but Susan also provides a healthy variety - from green chile soufflé to quiche to wholegrain waffles with walnuts and homemade pear compote! It was hard to stop - we're slightly embarrassed - but can't wait to go back. You can't go wrong with this choice.

Room Tip: Even though we were hoping for the casita, we were thrilled with the suite - what a great choice! Be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portland , oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Dunshee's is the perfect place to stay when you visit Santa Fe. It is out of the way, but within walking distance of the Old Town area and Canyon Road. The guest suite is like a small house with a living room, expansive dining area and a hallway that leads to a spacious bedroom and bath. The comfortable, Santa Fe style ambiance has authentic details like timbered ceilings, tiled floors and original art.

Susan Dunshee kindly shared suggestions for restaurants and transportation. She went out of her way to be helpful and did I mention the amazing breakfasts she prepared each morning? We stayed 3 nights and every breakfast was excellent....my favorite was a soufflé, melon with mint in a ginger simple syrup, homemade muffins / toast , coffee and juice. Other mornings we had a lovely frittata and crepe like pancakes and bacon. Something for everyone !

We enjoyed the location, hospitality and comfort of this delightful B & B. I will definitely stay at Dunshee's the next time I visit Santa Fe.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

I was looking for a place that was close to the heart of Santa Fe, yet provided a tranquil space for quiet recovery when the day's explorations were over. Staying at Dunshee's B&B was like having your own cottage with all the amenities you could want, a lovely garden, and attentive care from your neighbor (Susan, the owner) who was always there to assist, but discreet when you wanted privacy. Her breakfasts were superb and the company of her dogs (for me) a bonus. If you don't love dogs the way I do, they are happy to stay on their own turf. I recommend this perfectly-located B&B wholeheartedly and Susan is a knowledgeable and gracious host. When the occasion arises, I will gladly return.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san anselmo, ca
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at Dunshee's B & B in Santa Fe where we had a delightful week. A large part of the enjoyment of our trip was our accommodations. I had known about Dunchee's from the time I lived in Santa Fe, but had never experienced the pleasure of being a guest there. The room(s) were large, comfortable and beautifully decorated in Santa Fe style in a great location- right near Canyon Rd.
Perhaps the best part is Scottie herself who makes you immediately feel welcome and extends herself to make sure your stay is perfect. Breakfast is a real treat- each day a different well prepared and presented delicious meal. I can't wait to go back and can see why she has so many returning guests.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, New Mexico
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Susan Dunshee shares her own informed art scene with her grateful guests. Comfortable and convenient to all of Santa Fe, there could be no better place to absorb the city. After gallery gazing as close as a block away, guests can retreat to a peaceful tree-sheltered patio. We'll tell all our friends.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dunshee's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunshee's

Address: 986 Acequia Madre, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dunshee's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.