We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Reconnect!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dunshee's

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Santa Fe
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dunshee's
Save
You added Dunshee's to your Saves list
986 Acequia Madre, Santa Fe, NM 87505   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 43 Santa Fe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
The Woodlands, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Wonderful Reconnect!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Wow! It was great to reconnect with Susan recently. Our 1st visit was 24 years ago to celebrate our 1st wedding anniversary. For our 1st visit to Santa Fe so long ago Susan really filled us in on how the wonderful old city is laid out, dining greats, art, she even offered books and info on the mountain ranges around, esp. the Jemez Mtns. and Santa Fe Natl. Forest. My husband and I loved the home setting Susan created including fresh homemade cookies:) and the most incredible breakfasts to start each day! Then, we visited again when we had our 15 month old baby daughter - another warm welcome! Then as it happens, time marched on until our daughter is now 21 years and we just visited Susan to celebrate our 25th!! wedding anniversary! It was truly fantastic to see her again after so long - no change - just warmth and humor! We really feel like family with Susan. We are so grateful she is still happy owning and sharing Dunshee's. With everything so very nice already, we were surprised her home and garden area have even gotten better! And she has added a new outdoor fireplace and seating to enjoy our wine and plan for our next day! Susan's breakfasts are like no others - I even photographed her as she was unwrapping the fresh out of the oven classic French souffle we were about to be served! Oh my goodness, truly I almost ate the whole thing single handedly! We are planning our next visit for this Christmas! YAY! Marilynn and Tim T.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    8
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
16
59
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We have stayed twice in the casita at Dunshee's -- ten years apart -- and the feel was just the same -- it was like having your own little private retreat for your stay. We had two patios (front and back) plus our own kitchen. Quiet and pleasant and the Dunshee's couldn't be nicer or more helpful for your stay.

It is walkable to Canyon Road but you do have to drive to other places in Santa Fe (though not a big problem consider traffic is not a problem as compared to the Bay Area). If you are looking for a nice little retreat in Santa Fe (not some motel room or chain hotel), look no further than Dunshee's.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

We stayed...3 of us...for 2 nights. Dunshee's is wonderfully close to Canyon road and to the nearby hills...great for morning walks! I have stayed many places over the last 30 years and paid more for less. There was plenty of food for our own breakfast..fruit,muffins coffee..etc. Susan is there if you need help with something but otherwise you feel like you are in your own home. I especially enjoyed the living room and kitchen for being with friends. Dunshee's is a real find!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Point Reyes Station, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

we have stayed at dunshee's for over 15 years...Susan(Dunshee) is the best of hostesses and her lodging is a perfect place to stay.
The casita allows you independance and a kitchen to fix your own meals.
The suite has great ambience with gardens and a patio.
You can walk to Canyon Road easily.
We loved our stay here and hope to return every year!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

Our first trip to Santa Fe and we could not have been more pleased with our charming accommodations. We had a warm greeting, with recommendations for local restaurants and helpful directions. The Casita was perfect- stocked with fresh fruit and delicious baked goods for the first few days' breakfasts. The full kitchen was handy and we had all the comforts of home. Really enjoyed the fireplace on a few cool evenings. A quiet area with easy access to Canyon Road on foot, where a local shuttle is available. It's a convenient location for an easy drive to downtown/ Plaza, Museum Hill, etc. Would highly recommend this B&B.

Room Tip: The Casita offers a private location, but host is available if needed. Parking is not a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

I have been travelling to Santa Fe for 20 years. Once I found Dunshees, I have come back year after year. The traditional architechure and furnishings and private garden off the suite are wonderful. Susan is a great hostess and the cooking is excellent. I have never been disappointed except that it is getting harder to reserve time to stay at the great B and B.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

We have stayed at many wonderful B & B's over the years, but our 5-day sojourn at Dunshee's in Santa Fe certainly stands out as one of our finest B & B experiences. We could rave about our gracious host, Susan. We could rave about her delicious gourmet breakfasts and exceptional decorating talent. But what set this establishment apart from other excellent B & B's, is lots of space, privacy and quiet. When you stay at Dunshee's you are not paying for just a bedroom and shared common areas. The "Suite", where we stayed, was our own, very private, apartment-sized living space... bedroom, bath, living and dining area with two lovely patios to enjoy. (An amazing amount of living space for the cost) The B & B property is located off the beaten path in a quiet residential community, but still an easy walk (which we took advantage of) to some of Santa Fe's finest restaurants and art galleries. At the end of a busy day of sightseeing, we didn't just; "head back to the B & B", but rather, felt more like we were returning home! Our only disappointment was not timing our visit so as to enjoy Susan's fabulous garden in full bloom! We'll be back............

Room Tip: The "Suite" includes a yummy gourmet breakfast served by Susan every morning...the "C...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Inn of the Five Graces
#1 of 60 in Santa Fe
5.0 of 5 stars 433 reviews
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#2 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
No photo provided
Old Santa Fe Inn
#4 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,146 reviews
Inn of the Turquoise Bear
#6 of 43 in Santa Fe
5.0 of 5 stars 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunshee's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunshee's

Address: 986 Acequia Madre, Santa Fe, NM 87505
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dunshee's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.