We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Find! Exceptional Value!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge Inn & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Econo Lodge Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   3752 Cerrillos Rd, Santa Fe, NM 87507   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #13 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Goodland, Kansas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Find! Exceptional Value!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

My new husband and I were on a budget for our honeymoon in Santa Fe and I booked this hotel based on it's tripadvisor ranking. We were so very pleased... everyone from the manager to the housekeeping staff was friendly and helpful during our stay. Our room was a king suite and we found it to be extremely comfortable and very clean (bit of a germaphobe). The decor was modern and pleasant. The hotel is on a major street and directly adjacent to an Olive Garden. We ordered takeout several times from there and even on busy Friday and Saturday nights our meal was ready for pickup in less that 20 minutes. Our drive to the plaza from the hotel was easy and probably took us about seven minutes. Overall, I would not hesitate to stay here again and I would label this hotel the best value in Santa Fe.

Room Tip: The hotel doesn't have an elevator so travelers with small children or mobility concerns should...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EconolodgeMgmt, General Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Dear Laurie F,
Thank you for your wonderful review of Econo Lodge Inn & Suites in Santa Fe NM.
Our guests appreciate the overall value we offer, which is- the modern, newly renovated rooms including numerous HD channels including several channels of HBO and ESPN, refrigerator, microwave and cleanliness at a convenient location. Since we are an economy brand, we offer basic continental breakfast which includes hot waffles, variety of cereals, oatmeal, pastries, bread, a fruit, coffee, and tea etc. We are short drive from the downtown Plaza and conveniently located within walking distance of numerous dining options including restaurants and fast food places, shopping options and movie theaters. We strive to provide best value to our guests and appreciate your business. We look forward to see you again sometime soon! Thank you - GM
EconoLodge Inn & Suites
3752 Cerrillos Road
Santa Fe, NM 87507
Phone (505) 438- 8049
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    96
    19
    0
    0
See reviews for
60
107
30
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
US
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
101 hotel reviews
Reviews in 105 cities Reviews in 105 cities
172 helpful votes 172 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Yes, the hotel name was changed to EconoLodge on 12.31.12. No more Rodeway Inn. Choice Hotels rep actually called and informed us about this change.

The first impression was rather depressing; dark halls, the room after turning the lights on was rather dim, gray looking and cold. Once the light got going and we cracked the heat up it was fine.

The room was clean, the bed fine, the TV had all the HBO channels plus about 200+ additional ones (DirecTV). The room also has microwave and fridge. The breakfast as we were told during check-in was basic and OK for a day, two in emergency. We did not eat it and bought instead some ciabattas, cheese and cold cuts and had great breakfast of our own. And why not. We paid $190.08 for 3 days (King room), not a bad value in Santa Fe.

Plenty of restaurants in SF and Olive Garden that is walking distance is very good, but busy. Additional restaurants or shopping are short drive away. The Plaza is about 10 min away or longer, depending on traffic.

The only complaints are:
Shelf space is at premium, not a lot space to put your toiletries, etc.
They need to install hooks in the bath to put wet towels on.
The heating unit is either on or off; nice and toasty when on, but once turned it off expect waking up in a cold room (we stayed during cold spell; it was 9F in the morning).

Still when in SF next time we probably stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

I struggle a bit to review this hotel as I would like to make it two reviews, really.

Lets start with the positive bit: the hotel is conveniently located about 6 miles from Santa Fe Downtown right next to the main road into downtown. Depending on traffic it takes about 10-20 minutes to drive down there, so not too bad. As stated by others, the hotel was recently renovated, so the rooms have new furniture and the bathroom new suites and tiles etc.

When we got there everything was clean and comfortable, the staff was nice and accommodating. Breakfast in the morning was a basic continental breakfast but sufficient and a good start into the day.

In terms of value for money (about $60/night) I would give it a very good rating.

However, the reason why I can only give an average rating is part two of this review (and this is something the staff can't do anything about btw!):

The hotel itself appears to be around 30-40 years old and built in a way that noise insulation wasn't really taken into consideration. We asked for a quiet room and I was glad that we received a room away from the street at the end of the corridor as we would have heard the street noise constantly otherwise. I didn't hear our neighbors talk but flushing the toilet or showering transmitted throughout our room - a typical problem for hotels of a certain age. Another issue (in winter) was that the a/c / heater ran all the time. So either it was on or off but there was no automatic switch off after the temperature was reached. Since we had about -10C at night I had to decide either to freeze under the thin blanket (second blanket provided after I asked for it the next morning but not in the room as standard) or lie awake while the heater was blasting along.

So what's the roundup? If you are looking for a cheap, clean and convenient location to stay and you have a deep sleep anyway, this is certainly a decent place to stay. If I should visit Santa Fe again however, I would give another hotel a shot to see how they do.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room when booking, ideally on the second floor towards the rear of the building (= a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy, TX
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

The room and the bedding were very clean. The breakfast was good, too, compared with the day price. The only minor negative point was the sound isolation. However, with that price, you can not find anything better.

Room Tip: If you have sleeping problem, choose the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RodewayInnSuitesMgmt, General Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Dear Haiwang S,
Thank you for giving us a five star review! We are glad that you enjoyed our breakfast. Guests seem to like our expanded and improved seating arrangement along with HDTV in the breakfast area. We are proud to offer the value that you appreciated in your review. We are proud to have completely renovated our motel less than a year ago using made in the USA furniture and have recently upgraded and re-positioned our brand in to the Econo Lodge Inn & Suites. Generally we do not have an issue with noise, but sometime it may occur due to circumstances beyond our control and we sincerely regret that you had a minor issue with that aspect of your experience. Once again, thank you for your very gracious five star review! We hope you had a safe trip back home and we look forward to see you in Santa Fe soon!

Warmest Regards,
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Santa Fe, NM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BULLARD
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

This was our 1st trip to Sante Fe and we were just hoping to get a couple of plain rooms for sleeping. We arrived early from the airport and they were so accomodating. One room was ready so they let us put everything in it until the other room was vacated and cleaned. We were impressed with the size of the room and the cleanliness. After lunch and a few other stops we returned to check in our second room.
The room was clean, had a great set up and very accomodating for the two of us. The next morning we found everything for a good high-carb breakfast before a day of sking. The staff was very friendly every time we saw them. They always smiled and greeted us coming or going. The 2nd day after sking we thought the hot tub looked inviting and it was!. Clean and hot!. We lounged around in it until time for dinner. On check out we were thanked and wished a good day. They really seemed sincere when thanking us and welcomed us to return anytime.
This is not a fancy resort with outragous rates, it is a good travelers lodge with fair economically minded rates and great amenities. The other guest were cordial and seemed conscious of everyone else's comfort. Even New Years eve was pretty quiet which I did not expect. A good crowd of mostly skiers it seemed. This is close to downtown, but out far enough to get away. Lots of businesses within walking distance, food, convenience stores and adult beverages. We will reccomend to others.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RodewayInnSuitesMgmt, General Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Dear JEFF S,
Thank you so much for your wonderful review! We are glad that you were impressed with the size of our rooms, the cleanliness and the amenities we offer. We are also glad that you found other guests to be cordial and conscious of everyone else’s comfort. That is a very unique observation you have pointed out, thank you! Our guests seem to enjoy the convenient location and the value we offer. We are proud to have completely renovated our motel less than a year ago using made in the USA furniture and have recently upgraded and re-positioned our brand in to the Econo Lodge Inn & Suites. Thank you for recommending us to others. We hope to see you again during the next ski season, if not earlier!
Sincerely,
GM- Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
Santa Fe, NM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hickory, nc
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Stopped in here while traveling to Colorado. Checked into a nice clean room with free breakfast-friendly staff, too. Newly renovated and got a great price- wish we were staying longer to enjoy Santa Fe. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Stayed here three nights for about $60 a night with tax. Clean, large rooms with great beds.
Found myself watching basketball and football on the large TV with HD in the room. Breakfast
was fine, and I would choose an upstairs room. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Econo Lodge Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Inn & Suites

Address: 3752 Cerrillos Rd, Santa Fe, NM 87507
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Santa Fe
#11 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#12 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#12 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A hotel in Santa Fe New Mexico, Econo Lodge Inn & Suites:Discover the richness of the arts and culture with your stay at the Econo Lodge Inn & Suites® hotel in Santa Fe, New Mexico. Located near the Gallery District and Santa Fe Plaza, this Santa Fe, NM hotel offers the perfect location for enjoying and exploring the area.The hotel is also close to attractions like: Santa Fe Opera San Miguel Mission New Mexico State Capitol Museum Hill Santa Fe offers many outdoor activities, tours and festivals. North of the city, guests can visit the pueblos built by Native Americans in the area. When you’re finished sightseeing, enjoy our seasonal outdoor heated pool and hot tub. A variety of restaurants, including national chains and local favorites, are nearby. A shopping center offering something for everyone is within walking distance.Other amenities include: Free high-speed Internet Free continental breakfast Free local calls Enjoy the stylishly appointed, guest rooms and mini suites at this Santa Fe, NM hotel. All rooms offer refrigerators, microwaves, hair dryers, irons, ironing boards and flat-screen televisions with high-definition channels, including HBO and ESPN. Suites offer working desk and 42" flat screen TVs.Business travelers will appreciate conveniences like a computer with Internet access on site, and access to copy and fax services. The perfect location and convenient access to area attractions makes the Econo Lodge Inn & Suites a great place for business and leisure travelers in the Santa Fe, New Mexico area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Econo Lodge Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luxury Hotel Santa Fe
Luxury Motel Santa Fe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.