We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent BBQ in New Mexico” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Whole Hog Cafe

Whole Hog Cafe
320 S Guadalupe St, Santa Fe, NM 87501-2614 (Downtown)
505-474-3375
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #119 of 464 restaurants in Santa Fe
Cuisines: Barbecue
Neighborhood: Downtown
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Downtown
Pittsburgh, PA
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
“Excellent BBQ in New Mexico”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

The food arrived fast & very fresh. They have 6 flavors of BBQ-all are great. The food is so good you really do not need the sauces but you have to try them all. We tried the pulled pork & the brisket. Very well prepared with not alot of fat.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

76% Recommend
    17
    16
    6
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Top Contributor
302 reviews 302 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 113 cities Reviews in 113 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
“Delicious BBQ- the 6 sauce options are wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We walked by the restaurant on our way to the Cowgirl BBQ and it smelled so wonderful, we decided we had to go back the next day and try a sandwich. We ordered the sliced brisket (thin slices, very tender) and baked beans with a small taste of the pulled pork. All were outstanding!!! The best part was the 6 different sauce choices- all wonderful in their own way. Fast service, delicious food, reasonable prices. Lovely place! Highly recommend!!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
322 reviews 322 reviews
273 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
257 helpful votes 257 helpful votes
“Best take out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

I thought it was eat in, until I got there. Left. Came back another day to take it out and try it and was not disappointed. This is good food, not a greasy stop for ribs. You can order sides as you want them, all good, and it takes two minutes to get your food, I liked it here, and will be back. I'm liking that I'm not dealing with a heavy after meal from eating ribs. Perfect balance of flavor and size...and fairly proced

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bourton on the Water
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Cheap and cheerful top quality BBQ - delicious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

This guy has won countless trophies at BBQ cook-offs, and the pulled pork sandwich is mouthwateringly good. Very quick service. Good value. Choice of 7 different BBQ sauces, one so hot they keep it behind the counter. We had a sandwich each then another to share it was so nice.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“juicy pulled pork and good barbeque sauce”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

we had the pulled pork nachos which were flavorfull, spicy and good. we went back the next day for the ribs which were meaty and delicious. They are always running out of things, so don't go too late. Overall, we really enjoyed this place.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Whole Hog Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Whole Hog Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Whole Hog Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.