We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great way to sample a few restaurants” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Food Tour New Mexico

Food Tour New Mexico
03 Calle de Carlotta, Santa Fe, NM 87507
+1 800-979-3370
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 15 Food & Drink in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We offer walking food tours through the heart of historic downtown Santa Fe and Albuquerque that will be sure to inspire your palette and your mind! A fun experience that makes Food Tour New Mexico a must do for tourists and locals alike. Join us, as we guide you through some of the most historically rich cities in the United States while tasting food as we explore the flavors of New Mexico.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
“Great way to sample a few restaurants”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

I enjoyed visiting several restaurants in Santa Fe with the Food Tour of New Mexico. There was certainly enough food in the several courses to satisfy the appetite and the walk was a good length and pace for someone dealing with the shock of high altitude and low hummidity. Lots of good info from the guide about both Santa Fe and the food we were sampling.

Visited June 2013

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank Janet H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Patchogue, New York
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Food Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We had a wonderful time on our food tour. Our guide was Nick. He was informative and made our tour enjoyable. I would highly recommend taking this tour at the beginning of your stay in Santa Fe so you know where to eat and visit during your trip.

Visited June 2013

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank danigirl77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta
Level Contributor
77 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“more than just a food tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

on our trip to Santa Fe early this year we decided to try a food tour.
Our guide Nick was full of local information and trvia and some really good advice.
we went to a few restaurants, all withing an easy walk of the Plaza and we got to taste a little offering from these restaurants.
We also got to do a tasting at a local olive oil/balsamic place, surprisingly called Santa Fe Olive OIl and through the Food Tour we got a discount which came in real handy because they have lots of wonderful olive oils and balsamic vinegars
as we made our way from restaurant to restaurant, Nick was providing commentary on local history as well as places we should visit, after our tour, for example where to go for dinner ( our tour was done over lunch)
although we didn't eat a lot at any one place, but by teh time we done we were quite satisfied and ended up in a candy store for dessert.
we did manage to go back to one of the places for lunch on our way out of town and the full meal was just as good as the sampler we had on our tour.
would we do it again ? absolutely, it was time very well spent

Visited February 2013

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
1 Thank Kenji56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Vienna, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fun for the Foodie”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Just got back from a wonderful vacation in historic Santa Fe. Lots to do, but the Food Tour New Mexico was the highlight. Nick, the owner, gave us a wonderful historical background of Santa Fe while we strolled and visited area restaurants. The portions were generous and delicious. He answered all our questions, but yet was not too techy if you are not into cooking. Would do it again!!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank KHiatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
western colorado
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Our tour guide, Nick Pena, who is also the owner of Food Tour, was wonderful! He is a native of Santa Fe, very knowledgeable in local history, as well as food and everything New Mexico. We enjoyed every stop, and all the food. The restaurants were ready for us as we came in and so friendly. We made 5 stops, San Francisco Bar & Grill where we had a lovely spinach salad and sat at a table by the window with a view of the town square, next was Thunderbird (used to be the Ore House) where we sat on the 2nd floor deck and had a fabulous chicken tostada. Then off to the Santa Fe Olive Oil where we sampled olive oils and balsamic vinegars infused with different spices and fruits, amazing! Nick shared lots of history and food tips with us as we strolled to each stop and gave us a few minutes to walk thru San Miguel Mission, the oldest church in the country. After the mission was the Upper Crust Pizza. Their courtyard is adjacent to one wall of the oldest known house in the country. This was a quaint and cozy courtyard where we ate a gourmet chicken pesto pizza that was to die for. The inside of this restaurant had very old photos of this part of town from the past. It had been renovated to maintain the feel of the original architecture of the site. Our last stop was Senor Murphy Candymaker, regional candy maker that has been around for close to 30 years. We sampled a maple/pinion nut candy, a chocolate/caramel/almond candy and a chocolate bark/chili/pistacio morsel. There was also 2 kinds of brittle to try. What delicious and different candies! The entire tour was fun and relaxed. Nick was so enthusiastic and friendly. We had an absolutely wonderful time.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank rSmith040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Food Tour New Mexico also viewed

 

Been to Food Tour New Mexico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing