We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Indian food in Santa Fe area” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Raaga

Raaga
544 B Aqua Fria Unit B, Santa Fe, NM 87501
+1 505-820-6440
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Raaga is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 416 Restaurants in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Sanbusco
Description: "Raaga ("sweet melody") prides itself on offering superior taste and flavor. With each mouthwatering bite, guests can distinguish and savor the finest spices and the freshest herbs. In addition to his Northern Indian fare, chef Paddy Rawal offers dishes that incorporate local Southwest elements. Raaga's menu includes vegetarian and vegan options as well as meat and seafood choices. All can be ordered mild, medium or hot to please any palate.
Massachussetts
Level Contributor
85 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Excellent Indian food in Santa Fe area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

Food was expensive no doubt about it but food was prepared like how it is in native India. Very tasty food and lots of option. They do not have buffet option so you will have to order various items which will add up easily.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    39
    9
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Las Cruces, New Mexico
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fabulous Food and Great Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

This is clearly the best Indian restaurant we have ever been to and we've eaten in restaurants all over the country! The food was interesting and absolutely delicious -- flavoring and spices just right. The service was welcoming, helpful, and efficient from the moment we walked in until we left. Chef Paddy Rawal checked in with us several times to see how we were doing. We come to Santa Fe periodically and will definitely be coming back to Raaga!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evanston, Illinois
Level Contributor
44 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Big city worthy Indian in the southwest!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

After several days of enchiladas and excellent southwestern food it was wonderful to find a top notch Indian Restaraunt in Santa Fe. We have had Indian food in major cities (including London) and this rivaled them all with the added plus of an unbelievably hospitable staff. Starting with the host, the waiter and notably the gregarious and charming chef, this restaraunt was a delightful experience. Best picks were coconut yellow lentil soup, garlic cilantro naan, a chicken dish that was chicken z-something and the flash fried okra (GET THIS ONE). The house made ice cream was the perfect size, flavor and texture to leave us satisfied. The great tastes and warmth of Raaga even coaxed a surly teen out of a sulk!

Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgway, Colorado
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Extraordinary Food and Extraordinarily Bad Service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

After watching a movie about Indian and French cuisine, I had to go out for a fabulous meal. Raaga seemed like the perfect choice. The food is extraordinary. It's not just the best Indian food in Santa Fe it's some of the best Indian food I've ever had. We'll use of various spices is careful and deliberate. The food could be as hot or as mild as you like but it will always be flavored and prepared to perfection. The presentation beautiful.

Unfortunately, the quality of the food is not matched by the caliber of the service. From the moment we were greeted by the most disorganized of hosts, through the meal. Although the entire staff was pleasant and friendly, not one of them seem to really have any sense of how to do their jobs efficiently. The service was uniformly bad and amazingly slow. The busboys were slow, water was almost impossible to get. A glass of wine that was ordered when the main course was finally delivered, was mentioned by the waiter again as we were finishing the main course. He came by to say it would be just a few more minutes till the glass of wine was delivered. Needless to say, we declined it.

If you have the patience and the time to sit for extended periods of time with no food and possibly not even a glass of water, this restaurant will deliver a tremendous meal. It's really a shame The service failed so miserably..

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Iowa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“First Time for Indian”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

This was the first time we tried Indian food. The waiter was very helpful, so we dove in--chicken curry (excellent), chicken tikka (also excellent), and shrimp biryani (none of us cared for that, not that it wasn't "good" we just didn't care for the dish). We had naan (chives)--which we can't wait to enjoy again. We shared gulab jamun for dessert, it tastes very much like glazed donuts. We sat outside, a very cozy and relaxing atmosphere. I would strongly recommend having a meal there.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Raaga also viewed

 

Been to Raaga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Raaga, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.