We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hike with a Geologist as a Guide” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Outspire Hiking and Snowshoeing

Outspire Hiking and Snowshoeing
P.O. Box 33193, Santa Fe, NM 87594
505-660-0394
Website
Update attraction details
Ranked #3 of 69 activities in Santa Fe
Type: Tours
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Nature, geology and history come to life on the trails around Santa Fe with Outspire Hiking and Snowshoeing. Alpine trails to high desert canyons are our specialty.
1 review
“Hike with a Geologist as a Guide”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

This hike was amazing. We took the 3 hour Tent Rock hike. Our guide, Scott, was a geologist and taught us all about the formations, different rocks (now I know what rhyolite is!!) and volcanic faults. He even provided choco covered peanuts for a snack. Yum!! I would totally recommend this hike.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    3
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Carrollton, tx
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“dayhike”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

I wanted a guide for a long dayhike in the Santa Fe area and Outspire was able to arrange everything. I'm fairly experienced at hiking in the hills but was not familiar with the Santa Fe scene, so thought a guide could pick something that I probably wouldn't find on my own. Everything was smooth and easy working with Outspire. I think Karen answered the phone each time I called (I was calling as we drove from Dallas), and we arranged things by phone and by email. My guide, Scott, was knowledgeable, capable and pleasant, and he gave me a few options to fit my interests and conditioning.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful mesa-top hike with Karen!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

This big city girl really wanted to get out and experience the high desert of New Mexico---Karen's careful questioning led to the perfect hike and a lovely day! We deep a bit of steeper climbing to explore a mesa opposite Los Alamos. She was super patient as I turned over every single rock I could find and pocket. Karen knew so much about the biology and geology of the area it was also a wonderful (and easy) education of the volcanic history of the Santa Fe area. I loved this hike and can highly recommend Outspire to anyone looking for experienced outdoor guides! I'll use them again, definitely.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
1 review
“Karen Dennison - Great Guide”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Karen was extremely helpful planning and then implementing our requests for hiking certain trails. I could tell she spent time prior to us arriving figuring out which trails would be best suited for us. We have a young family with kids ages 5,7, and 9 and she was great interacting with them, teaching them as we hiked. Well worth the money.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
“1st time Snowshoeing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

After many trips to Santa Fe, my family and I decided on trying something new. I am so glad we did! I found Outspire Hiking and Snowshoeing online, read the reviews and made my reservation. Karen answered all of my questions and our guide Scott was great! My teenage sons were not bored and loved the adventure! We would use Outspire again!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Outspire Hiking and Snowshoeing also viewed

 

Been to Outspire Hiking and Snowshoeing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Outspire Hiking and Snowshoeing, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.