We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid the Luxx Hotel on the Plaza” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Luxx Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Luxx Hotel to your Saves list
Luxx Hotel
105 E. Marcy, 105 E Marcy St, Santa Fe, NM 87501 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 43 Santa Fe B&B and Inns
Toronto
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Avoid the Luxx Hotel on the Plaza”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

We booked our trip to Santa Fe using Expedia's hot deals, selecting a four star rating minimum. We were a little skeptical of this hotel when we saw the website, and certainly when we read some reviews here. But we went anyways keeping an open mind. Ugh. trust your instincts.
This hotel is a glorified hostel/B&B. I'm all for contemporary art, but the combination of paintings, and Buddha statues and animal prints and blech, everything else....hideous. That is not the worst of it.
The hotel's front doors were locked. We had to find a payphone to call and check in. I will say that the man who eventually checked us in was very nice, however he was also dressed like a disheveled high school student, complete with grubby tuque, and he was apparently the only employee in the whole place. We didn't see a maid in sight, which should have been the first clue.
The carpets look as though they have never been cleaned. The communal kitchen (ugh) was unkempt, dark and creepy. The hot tub, don't even go there. The room had free Netflix and internet, I guess that's good. The linens were dirty and the room smelled. To boot, because we had trouble getting in, he claimed he had upgraded us. If that was the upgrade, I would hate to see the regular rooms. I don't want to be a jerk, I guess but I feel other traveler's should be warned before getting stuck paying for a room in a place like this like we did (no refund). We refused to stay and got a hotel room elsewhere. This place was NOT a four star, not even close. Buyer beware.

Room Tip: read reviews here before booking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    50
    20
    20
    29
See reviews for
34
84
13
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Camden
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

The Luxx is a beautiful, comfortable, and convenient place to stay. Staff very helpful. Designer hotel has the latest technology. Great shower and towels. Beds beautiful and comfortable.

Room Tip: This hotel has single rooms or suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Al, USA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

We stumbled on this little hotel by accident when we arrived in Santa Fe with no advance reservations and found it to be a great place to spend a couple of nights. We had no trouble checking in and found that the staff was very accommodating. It is in an excellent location near the plaza. We found it clean and quiet. A little bit quirky but in a good way. We enjoyed sitting in the outside lounge area during the day. We did have some trouble with getting the TV to work (as an older couple we are technically challenged) but the staff came and explained it all in record time.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

This property is missing its chance to be a great place to stay! The location is great and the concept/decor was probably a good idea when they opened. However, consistent maintenance and a LOT of customer service would make a big difference. Unfortunately they are NOT interested in either of those services. There is an overwhelming sense of disrepair and darkness in the rooms and common areas, and insincerity when dealing with the staff. When we were finally checked into our room, (one staff member had to leave for an appointment & the other went off to show another couple to their room, leaving us standing in the office for 20 minutes), we noticed the bed frame was broken. We immediately brought the staff to our room to see it & he promised to fix it the next day. The next day, the shower knob came off in my husband's hand when he went to turn it on. This was also reported to the same staff member. Neither of those issues were addressed during our 3 night stay. Apparently the housekeeping staff does not have a vacuum, since the carpets were dirty and stayed that way. I work for the health department and noticed the hot tub chemicals do not ever seem to be checked-as they should be daily- and the pink foam on the top is not a good sign! Enter at your own risk! We were told the "resort fee" covered Netflix, parking, gourmet coffee. The couple ahead of us was offered a "cash discount" on the resort fee. Netflix never worked, the coffee is better at 7-11, and the parking is a joke! At different times during our stay, our friends all received different explanations of the outrageous resort fee---none of them valid. Also, the lovely artwork was non-existant in our room---there was a nail in the wall, but nothing hanging on it! Upon our return home, we called the hotel to request the owner's contact information. We were given the run-around, and told they would call us back. Twenty-four hours later, we have not had a return call. The woman told our friend she was the manager. When we called, she told us someone else was the manager. Seems to be alot of finger pointing, smoke & mirrors when it comes to their lack of customer service. We are planning a Thanksgiving trip to Santa Fe with several friends this year. Guess which hotel WILL NOT be considered for that trip or any future trips. We will stick with a chain hotel with customer service and amenities that really are available.

Room Tip: Do not accept a room anwhere near the back door--very noisy and people try to use your keypad on you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Colorado, United States
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

Ths hotel was just as some of the others on this web site have said. The rooms are in disrepair (broken electrical covers with exposed wires, no handles on the closet doors, cracked and broken bathroom tile, paint on the carpet). The rooms are very dirty and the floor looks like it hadn;t been vaccumed in weeks. The walls are as thin as paper and you can hear every conversation, and movement of your neighbor. The hidden fees are absolutely true. They call it a "resort fee" and when asked what this covers, they say parking, gourmet coffee (from a plastic shrink wrap package that the motel 6 down the road carries as well), and netflix. Well the nextflix never works, parking is a disaster (if you can even enter the lot which is often full). Overall an excellent hotel location, but a not-so-excellent hotel. The price should be cut in half to reflect the issues this hotel has.

Room Tip: There are no good rooms in this hotel. My advice, book at the hilton a few blocks away. The price...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

This is a quirky alternative to the upscale B&B scene in downtown Santa Fe. It might strike you as a little bit odd at first, has a strange layout with the rooms sort of centered around a central lounge/checkin area. To me the whole place had a bit of a party vibe, especially the outdoor lounge area which felt like a year round burning man camp (but mellower!).

The owners are definitely disorganized - I had some chaos upon check in - but I booked through priceline and didn't encounter of these fees or taxes that others are complaining about.

My biggest issue with the place was my room (room 10) had no window and was pretty dark. I think it was meant to be an entryway and they'd turned it into a room. It was so dark that it made it really hard to wake up in the morning. I didn't like the implication that they'd turn what was obviously meant to be an entryway into a kind of sub-par room to make a few more bucks. The room was nice, though, and very clean, and bed was very comfy, and it had the added bonus of opening right onto the backyard lounge area.

Best things about this place: Location, cute outdoor lounge area, funky scene with the ability to possibly meet people (I ended up going out dancing with randoms I met in the lobby), amenities (fridge in room, kitchen and laundry if you need it).

Potentially bad things: Disorganized check in process can give a weird initial impression of the place. Some rooms have bad qualities.

Would NOT recommend this place to older travelers, or people who are expecting Service with a capital S. That said, it turned out to be a pretty cool place in a super great location, but it took a little flexibility to come to that conclusion!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steamboat Springs, Colorado
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

I'm not sure how this hotel got in with Hotwire but they are not what they claim to be. The embassy suites charges $99 per night and you get a very clean well stocked true to the word SUITE with a beautiful lobby and a hot cooked to order breakfast. For $91 per night the Luxx offers NOTHING! Then they charge an additional $25 per night resort fee. They do not even explain what the resort fee covers....but I can tell you...it covers NOTHING! It's just a fee to charge a fee is all. Then the rooms were absolutely not clean nor were they worth the price of over $125 per night (room + resort fee). The ceiling fans had about an inch of dust on them which indicates they never get looked at let alone cleaned. The beds were subpar, bedding did not look washed. We could never use the Netflix because supposedly they have only 7 accounts and apparently everyone in the hotel was probably on it which means we had to wait. Unfortunately, Netflix always said unable to use at this time. The website advertises a kitchenette and hot tub but it makes it seem as though every room comes with that. It's actually a community kitchen which was dirty and a hot tub in the middle of the walkway. Whoever the owner hired to decorate and design the hotel, he should ask for his money back. The walls in the room are paper thin! I could clearly hear every conversation from the adjacent rooms as though the people were in my room. If someone was watching TV it was very audible in my room. This hotel was absolutey not worth the money. I've stayed at the Travel Inn off of Cerillos which offered WAY better amenities including a continental breakfast for a lot less and no hidden fees. I will be contacting Hotwire to hopefuly get LUXX off their list. It's not fair to the guests or Hotwire.

Room Tip: Don't stay here if you are a good steward of your money
See more room tips
Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Luxx Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luxx Hotel

Address: 105 E. Marcy, 105 E Marcy St, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just steps from the historic Santa Fe Plaza and Convention Center, the LUXX is a unique and luxurious boutique hotel housed within a historic building. The building features eclectic rooms in a wide variety of styles and original artwork, along with handy amenities like aromatherapy lotions, robes, free wifi, onsite coffee house, and Sushi restaurant. Award winning restaurants, art galleries, museums and shopping are all within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Luxx Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luxx Plaza Hotel + Casita Santa Fe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luxx Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.