We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big Disappointment - Not meeting standards of Hotwire's 4-star rating” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Luxx Hotel

Save Saved
You added Luxx Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Luxx Hotel
105 E. Marcy, Santa Fe, NM 87501 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 43 Santa Fe B&B and Inns
Palm Springs
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Big Disappointment - Not meeting standards of Hotwire's 4-star rating”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012 via mobile

We were expecting a comfortable near luxury hotel and instead were very dissappointed to be staying in a hotel that did not offer the services or standards ordinarily received in a 3-star hotel. The hotel lobby is staffed only from 10am- 8pm. Part of the time the lobby was staffed by the maintenance man unable to answer questions. The room had left over coffee from last guest, no blanket (they used the bedspread as a blanket), no landline telephone. It seemed more like a hostile than a hotel. In additon there a $25 additional per night resort charge that covered absolutely nothing.

The location was excellent. Also, they just hired a manager who seems genuinely motivated to resolve the issues.

Just beware when Hotwire advertises a 4-star hotel without name in Santa Fe, this is what you are going to get.

Stayed March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    78
    47
    17
    20
    29
See reviews for
32
77
13
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Taos, New Mexico
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

Able to make last minute reservations and greeted by an accommodating staff an hour later. The Luxx Plaza Hotel's central location one block off the Plaza is a perfect location for walking to all downtown attractions. The secured, private parking during a busy travel period is a major plus factor! Complimentary perk with neighbor restaurants La Boca (appetizer) and Il Piatto (dessert) with Echo coffee and gelatto next door. Rooms must be sound-proofed, heard no downtown traffic noise. Appreciated the later 11am check out.

Room Tip: for a single traveler, the room size and bath I had were sufficient. Would request one of the larger...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

My favorite thing about this place was that it had a full kitchen that was centrally located in the hotel and stocked full of dishes and utensils. Each room had a mini fridge and a microwave/pizza oven which made it very convenient. After reading multiple reviews I knew about the addition of a resort and parking fee although I'm not sure why they just don't include them in the price. They did have an interesting TV setup with flat screens and the ability to surf the net, listen to your own pandora account and even netflix not to mention a ton of other options. There were a few oddities about the place. We booked through either hotwire or expedia and somehow they did not get there were two kids as well as two adults even though we entered it into the reservation. The first night we had a two bedroom place because they had an opening but the second night we had to move to a one bedroom and put the kids on the floor on cots. Between that and our luggage there was hardly any room to move. We opted for a third night and then had another two bedroom room. We often had problems with not enough bath linens and a lot of the time no one is in the office so we could not get any extras. One time we had one wash cloth in the room and went to ask for more and they only had one more. The owner and staff are very nice and helpful when the office is staffed. I would return just because I loved the kitchen option and hate eating out every meal. It is in a great location and an easy walk to all the great shopping and restaurants.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel Group

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greeley, Colorado
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

The entire staff was incredibly helpful and worked hard to meet even the smallest request. They all smiled! Customer service is clearly a primary goal. Decor is tasteful. Rooms very clean, comfortable beds and secure. I stayed four nights and offer a positive shout out to any seniors out there... this is a great place to stay. They work hard to take care of you. I will be a repeat customer.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

Great Hotel, wonderful stay. The Hotel was very clean and in good condition. The staff was very friendly and happy to help out. It was nice to see that Gordon the owner was available to answer customer questions and to over see that the staff was working hard. The location is very nice and in the heart of downtown Santa Fe. It is close to restaurants, shopping and galleries great for tourists. The building was very safe, many locked doors at night between You and the streets. I would highly recommend staying at this hotel and am a repeat customer Myself.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

The bad stuff: Not at all a luxury hotel as described, it felt much more like a glorified hostel. You follow paper signs on propped open doors to get back to the hotel, and we met the guy who checked us in randomly in the hallway, all causing a bit of confusion. There was a common kitchen area with spices and cooking equipment if you wanted to go that route, but who does at $100+ per night? We booked through hotwire for a "discounted" rate of around 70, but ended up being charged 32 in fees in addition to that after we checked out in ridiculous misc fees. Parking was difficult in the very small lot behind the hotel. Bathrooms were not updated. The hot tub is awkwardly placed by a walkway between the parking lot and hotel back entrance, making its use unappealing. On our particular night there, we had a yippy dog next door (and thin walls), and the police were questioning the neighbor to the other side of us when we were leaving.

The good stuff: Fantastic location to walk to anything in historic downtown. If you're artsy and offbeat and have lots of money to blow, this hotel is unique and may appeal to you. Google tv and internet access on a very large screen TV with a wireless keyboard was enjoyable. Attention to eco-friendliness in that there are no little travel size bottles of things or plastic cups-- instead there's access to glassware in the common kitchen and dispensers with shampoo, soap, etc. Modern art and different styles in each room.

But, overall impression was just feeling ripped off-- not what we were expecting for the money.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pagosa Springs, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

We stayed one night at the Luxx and loved every minute of it. The rooms are spacious and wonderfully decorated. Santa Fe Plaza was one block away, very much to our surprise. We could not believe that they also had a little kitchen for visitors to use if one wanted to spend a night in rather than going out. Unfortunately, we had only time for one night, wish we could have stayed longer.

Room Tip: We had room #1 which was actually 2 rooms, so we had our pick as to which room to stay in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Luxx Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luxx Hotel

Address: 105 E. Marcy, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxx Plaza Hotel + Suites offers a Hip & Luxurious Property 22 rooms with 16 suites, one block from the Historic Plaza and Convention Center in Santa Fe, New Mexico. Amenities Include: Hot tub, outdoor patio, business center with computer, fax, copier, scanner/printer. Lounge with dining area, meeting room & art gallery. Luxx has a chef ready kitchen for our guests & suites have kitchenettes with stainless steel refrigerator, coffee maker, glassware, microwaves, hot plates etc. Every room has a workspace, desk, HDTV, Blu-Ray, free wi-fi, digital cable & Netflix. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Venere and Expedia so you can book your Luxx Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luxx Plaza Hotel + Casita Santa Fe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luxx Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.