We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Luxx Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Luxx Hotel to your Saves list
Luxx Hotel
105 E. Marcy, 105 E Marcy St, Santa Fe, NM 87501 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 43 Santa Fe B&B and Inns
Santa Fe, New Mexico
1 review
“Great Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

Great Hotel, wonderful stay. The Hotel was very clean and in good condition. The staff was very friendly and happy to help out. It was nice to see that Gordon the owner was available to answer customer questions and to over see that the staff was working hard. The location is very nice and in the heart of downtown Santa Fe. It is close to restaurants, shopping and galleries great for tourists. The building was very safe, many locked doors at night between You and the streets. I would highly recommend staying at this hotel and am a repeat customer Myself.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    50
    20
    20
    29
See reviews for
34
84
13
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

The bad stuff: Not at all a luxury hotel as described, it felt much more like a glorified hostel. You follow paper signs on propped open doors to get back to the hotel, and we met the guy who checked us in randomly in the hallway, all causing a bit of confusion. There was a common kitchen area with spices and cooking equipment if you wanted to go that route, but who does at $100+ per night? We booked through hotwire for a "discounted" rate of around 70, but ended up being charged 32 in fees in addition to that after we checked out in ridiculous misc fees. Parking was difficult in the very small lot behind the hotel. Bathrooms were not updated. The hot tub is awkwardly placed by a walkway between the parking lot and hotel back entrance, making its use unappealing. On our particular night there, we had a yippy dog next door (and thin walls), and the police were questioning the neighbor to the other side of us when we were leaving.

The good stuff: Fantastic location to walk to anything in historic downtown. If you're artsy and offbeat and have lots of money to blow, this hotel is unique and may appeal to you. Google tv and internet access on a very large screen TV with a wireless keyboard was enjoyable. Attention to eco-friendliness in that there are no little travel size bottles of things or plastic cups-- instead there's access to glassware in the common kitchen and dispensers with shampoo, soap, etc. Modern art and different styles in each room.

But, overall impression was just feeling ripped off-- not what we were expecting for the money.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pagosa Springs, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

We stayed one night at the Luxx and loved every minute of it. The rooms are spacious and wonderfully decorated. Santa Fe Plaza was one block away, very much to our surprise. We could not believe that they also had a little kitchen for visitors to use if one wanted to spend a night in rather than going out. Unfortunately, we had only time for one night, wish we could have stayed longer.

Room Tip: We had room #1 which was actually 2 rooms, so we had our pick as to which room to stay in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pine, Colorado
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

Owner/Manager needs a great deal of help. He and his staff need to take a little pride in their appearance. The Owner/Manager comes dressed in dirty jeans; the desk clerk wears a flannel shirt two sizes too small. The lobby is filled with clutter around the desk, not very neat needs to be picked up. The rooms had no dirty clothes/laundry bags, no telephones. No drinks (water) in the fridge and no Ice was available. If there was an ice machine it was well hidden. The beds had comforters which were wrong side up and one of the beds didn’t even have a top sheet. The shelf over the sink in the bathroom was loose and when I put my glass on it it slid off and fell into the sink and broke. The parking was hard to find and when you got to it there were no designated parking spaces. The lot seemed to be blocked off with some sort of trash cans tied together. Handicapped parking slots were not accessible and covered with snow and ice. On the way in to the entrance you had to go through the BUDDA LOUNGE outside smoking area. The BUDDA LOUNGE was an Airstream travel trailer in back of the building. To top it off you had to pay an additional “Resort Fee” on top of the nightly room rate. Over all I would stay at one of the interstate hotel/motel chains out by the interstate.

Room Tip: Stay at the LaFonda on the Plazza.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

We stayed at the Luxx hotel Feb 9. I read the positive Trip Advisor reviews but now question what I read when I received an email before coming that I could win something with a positive review. This calls their high ratings into question.
We did find the rooms comfortable and well appointed and the location very convenient to historic Santa Fe.
The hotel office is hard to find (a room in the middle of the hotel which you need a code to get into) and not staffed much of the day--until check in time so if there's a problem, you're on your own. They have phone numbers listed but they're not answered much of the time. The price was very high and in trying to resolve a difference about a voucher credit, my calls were never returned and when I continued to call, was hung up on.
The physical attributes of the hotel are good but the hotel management's service negates that.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012 via mobile

The Luxx hit me like a left hook of genuine hospitality. On the last leg of a lengthy southwest road trip my fiancé and I were taken aback by the all around quality of our Luxx experience. The overwhelming ambitiousness of the service and decor left us floored. The original artwork is phenomenal and in combination with the uniquely modern amenities formed a perfect recipe for an unforgettable stay.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

2 days ago I book my room to this hotel trough priceline.com I never been to this location, so after deep researches I choose it for 2 reasons location and incredible price $99.
I was deeply impressed by the fact that after a few hours after my online booking, not only that I receive my confirmation e-mails from priceline and LUXX hotel, but the staff from the hotel call me. The friendly tone almost confuse me...:), they call me to ensure that the room meets my necessities and if I need any special accommodation or I have any preferences regarding the room. They offer to assist me and explain me the reservation invoice.
So friendly staff that I can't wait to visit them. So far THANK YOU LUXX HOTEL.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Luxx Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luxx Hotel

Address: 105 E. Marcy, 105 E Marcy St, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just steps from the historic Santa Fe Plaza and Convention Center, the LUXX is a unique and luxurious boutique hotel housed within a historic building. The building features eclectic rooms in a wide variety of styles and original artwork, along with handy amenities like aromatherapy lotions, robes, free wifi, onsite coffee house, and Sushi restaurant. Award winning restaurants, art galleries, museums and shopping are all within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Luxx Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luxx Plaza Hotel + Casita Santa Fe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luxx Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.