We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just excellent sushi” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sushi Land East

Sushi Land East
60 E. San Francisco St. Suite. 102, Santa Fe, NM 87501 (Downtown)
505-820-1178
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #99 of 470 Restaurants in Santa Fe
Cuisines: Sushi
Neighborhood: Downtown
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Downtown
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Just excellent sushi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

Based on many, many meals at Sushi Land East, my wife and I (longtime resident of LA, myself from Seattle/Portland with time in Japan, both considering ourselves something of sushi connoisseurs) agree that you can get excellent sushi in Santa Fe, and that Masa San at Sushi Land East makes downright excellent meals. Shohko Cafe, by the way, is also excellent--the difference is size and ambience, and we like both--but at Sushi Land East you have the assurance of the master himself preparing the dishes. Reading other reviews, sorry someone couldn’t get their spirits, but good sushi doesn’t require them. As for spotty experiences with different dishes, take our advice--don’t bother to pick over the menu, just sit down and ask the waiter to have Masa San create a meal for you (you can provide guidlines if you wish, what you prefer in general, what you don’t like)--but if you follow this rule, I would be surprised as can be if you didn’t love what was prepared for you. One of the things we love about this restaurant is that you can take an out-of-town guest here and be certain that no one will be disappointed. A few days ago we took a very well-traveled Parisian here and he was delighted. We have simply never had anything but an excellent meal at Sushi Land East--consistency is a great strength. But do let Masa San impress.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    7
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Durango, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Excellent little Sushi restaurant.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

Small, Intimate restaurant. Sushi just melted in my mouth. Just one block off of the Plaza but you can reach it by walking thru the little shopping arcade that is on the Plaza.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Having tried just about ALL the other sushi in town we decided to give this a try for dinner before a concert at the Lensic: food was average and service sub-par. They were "out" of wine and sake never arrived, but the bill did while still eating. Doubt that we'll be back, too many better choices nearby...

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
“Consistant and excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

I have been to Sushi Land East many times, usually for lunch. It is always excellent! The restaurant is small and cozy. The service is equally excellent and very efficient. The wait staff is eager to please without being overbearing.
I can highly recommend this little gem of a restaurant in the middle of downtown Santa Fe.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
Top Contributor
223 reviews 223 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“Perfect Supper For Tired Birdwatchers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

Although the sushi looked both very fresh and beautiful, we do not eat raw fish. Our excellent waiter suggested the curried chicken dinner, which was seasoned with the perfect amount of curry--not too heavy. This dish contained good vegetables, as well, making a great one dish meal. We would definitely eat here again. Restaurant is small but food and service topnotch and appeared clean.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sushi Land East also viewed

 

Been to Sushi Land East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sushi Land East, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.