We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just excellent sushi” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sushi Land East

Sushi Land East
60 E. San Francisco St. Suite. 102, Santa Fe, NM 87501 (Downtown)
505-820-1178
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #137 of 520 Restaurants in Santa Fe
Cuisines: Japanese, Asian, Sushi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Downtown
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Just excellent sushi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

Based on many, many meals at Sushi Land East, my wife and I (longtime resident of LA, myself from Seattle/Portland with time in Japan, both considering ourselves something of sushi connoisseurs) agree that you can get excellent sushi in Santa Fe, and that Masa San at Sushi Land East makes downright excellent meals. Shohko Cafe, by the way, is also excellent--the difference is size and ambience, and we like both--but at Sushi Land East you have the assurance of the master himself preparing the dishes. Reading other reviews, sorry someone couldn’t get their spirits, but good sushi doesn’t require them. As for spotty experiences with different dishes, take our advice--don’t bother to pick over the menu, just sit down and ask the waiter to have Masa San create a meal for you (you can provide guidlines if you wish, what you prefer in general, what you don’t like)--but if you follow this rule, I would be surprised as can be if you didn’t love what was prepared for you. One of the things we love about this restaurant is that you can take an out-of-town guest here and be certain that no one will be disappointed. A few days ago we took a very well-traveled Parisian here and he was delighted. We have simply never had anything but an excellent meal at Sushi Land East--consistency is a great strength. But do let Masa San impress.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Antonkai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Durango, Colorado
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent little Sushi restaurant.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

Small, Intimate restaurant. Sushi just melted in my mouth. Just one block off of the Plaza but you can reach it by walking thru the little shopping arcade that is on the Plaza.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank VikiDgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
56 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Having tried just about ALL the other sushi in town we decided to give this a try for dinner before a concert at the Lensic: food was average and service sub-par. They were "out" of wine and sake never arrived, but the bill did while still eating. Doubt that we'll be back, too many better choices nearby...

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelRanger87508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
49 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Consistant and excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

I have been to Sushi Land East many times, usually for lunch. It is always excellent! The restaurant is small and cozy. The service is equally excellent and very efficient. The wait staff is eager to please without being overbearing.
I can highly recommend this little gem of a restaurant in the middle of downtown Santa Fe.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Dorothee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
329 reviews
177 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Perfect Supper For Tired Birdwatchers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

Although the sushi looked both very fresh and beautiful, we do not eat raw fish. Our excellent waiter suggested the curried chicken dinner, which was seasoned with the perfect amount of curry--not too heavy. This dish contained good vegetables, as well, making a great one dish meal. We would definitely eat here again. Restaurant is small but food and service topnotch and appeared clean.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
7 Thank 2Starbirders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sushi Land East also viewed

 

Been to Sushi Land East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing