We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New (1 year old) hotel, modern and clean” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Place Santa Fe

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Place Santa Fe to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hyatt Place Santa Fe
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4320 Cerrillos Road, Santa Fe, NM 87507   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Join Hyatt Gold Passport®
Ranked #18 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Arlington, Massachusetts
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“New (1 year old) hotel, modern and clean”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2011

This is a new, modern hotel, 5 miles south of Santa Fe Plaza. Very affordable, good amount of space in the room. We liked that it was outside of the hustle and bustle of downtown Santa Fe. Indoor pool is good.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ksechrist, General Manager at Hyatt Place Santa Fe, responded to this review, June 12, 2011
Thank you for writing a review for the Hyatt Place Santa Fe! It is always wonderful to hear from our happy and content guests.
Although we are a few miles from the plaza, no where in Santa Fe is that far away! After a day of touring and sight seeing, its always wonderful to come back and enjoy an adult beverage in our wine bar- right here on property!
We look forward to seeing you again and creating that "home away from home" experience once again!
Kathy Sechrist
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    93
    19
    7
    13
See reviews for
89
87
21
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, AZ
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2011 via mobile

Staff was awesome from checking to checkout very helpful!!!! Room was roomy with plenty of space.
Would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North America
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
281 helpful votes 281 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2011

We stayed at the Hyatt Place Santa Fe recently for 2 nights and were overall pleased with our stay. On check-in, the clerk was very professional and pleasant; was not sure what to expect from previous reviews but we found every staff member we encountered to be very pleasant and eager to please. The location is great with easy access to the freeway; there is an Albertson's and Target a few minutes away for drinks and snacks.

Our king room was at the back of the hotel and very quiet, even over the Memorial Day weekend. The room was fairly spacious and was very clean. We found the bed a bit soft, but that is all due to personal preference. Even though it was a bit soft, we did have a comfortable sleep. Shower pressure was very good. Bathroom amenties are Portico White Ginger; strangely there is no body lotion in such a dry place as Santa Fe, but they include a small tube of toothpaste.

The small bar fridge worked well; there is no microwave in the room, but there is one downstairs in the breakfast area, and we were free to use it in the evening, with cutlery and dishes available as well to use.

Breakfast was just ok; slightly disappointing as no eggs or breakfast meat is offered for free such as in a lower price point hotel like a Hampton Inn. Fruit was unripe and crunchy plus we found the juices subpar. We decided to skip breakfast on our second day and go to a local restaurant.

We did have an overall excellent stay but what would make it 5/5 for us would be:

Wifi signal to be more consistent; it was weirdly slow as molasses one minute then very fast the next minute. Getting some work done proved to be frustrating. The staff are very pleasant and eager to please but they seemed to know nothing about the local area. We asked about local nature areas or State Parks and drew a blank from several staff members. Perhaps training in the local attractions or even a binder for them to look things up in would be helpful.

We did get an excellent rate for our stay; having stayed in expensive B and B's in the area, we found Hyatt Place Santa Fe good value for our money and would definitely return. Just a few tweaks as suggested above would bring this hotel up to the next level for us.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ksechrist, General Manager at Hyatt Place Santa Fe, responded to this review, June 7, 2011
Thank you for your very thorough review of the Hyatt Place Santa Fe. We appreciate the remarks and are pleased that you were happy with your stay. We will use your helpful suggestions regarding the local attractions and breakfast comments to take our service to another level.
We look forward to your next stay and as always, we appreciate your kind words. We are pleased you chose Hyatt Place Santa Fe for your lodging needs.

Kathy Sechrist
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merrick, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2011

We reserved 3 rooms a month in advance and when we got there, they didn't have the room I reserved and got stuck with another. They ran out of food at breakfast the next morning. Even the front desk person said the management is terrible.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ksechrist, General Manager at Hyatt Place Santa Fe, responded to this review, June 7, 2011
I apologize that your stay at the Hyatt Place Santa Fe was not satisfactory. We pride ourselves on superior service and are disappointed that we fell short of that goal.
Due to the summer traffic, we did have a day that we were oversold on a room type and were able to offer a different room to accomodate our guests. The room types are not a guarantee, but a room request. We apologize that we were not able to satisfy you and are hopeful that in the future we are awarded the opportunity to serve you again.
Please know that we are taking the necessary steps to rectify this issue.
Thank you and we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Kathy Sechrist
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2011

There are many choices in Santa Fe for accommodations, so it was not easy to decide on a charming B&B or a more familiar hotel chain. In our case, I am glad we decided to stay at the Hyatt Place on Cerrillos Road. It is only a 10 to 15 minute drive into the heart of Santa Fe, so easily accessible, but away from the hustle and bustle. The room was large and sparkling clean. We enjoyed having the separate living room area where we could rest and enjoy our tea in the afternoon, which we were able to make in the room. There was a small refrigerator to store milk. The continental breakfast provided each morning included delicious hot coffee and really fresh fruit salad, plus the standard fare of cereral and donuts, etc. However, the reason to stay at this Hyatt Place is the exemplary staff. Everyone we encountered from the friendly cleaning crew to the desk management was helpful and attentive. Special thanks to Christopher who helped us out several times...especially for the last minute printing of boarding passes!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2011

Very clean, great looking hotel. Super fast service, we asked for some clean towells,they said we will get that for you. 2 seconds after walking into our room, there are the towells. The breakfast is great, friendly staff, the menu for ordering lunch or dinner is so yummy as well. Plus its opened 24/7. Just a short drive to downtown, close to shops and restaurants. Love it!!!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ksechrist, General Manager at Hyatt Place Santa Fe, responded to this review, May 31, 2011
Thank you for your recent review of the Hyatt Place Santa Fe. It is wonderful that you were so pleased with our service and hospitality! The hotel is a perfect place to relax and refresh after a day at the Plaza or sightseeing. It's wonderful to be able to get a glass of wine or refreshment in the evening without leaving the property! We are so pleased that you enjoyed yourself in our wonderful town and ask that you think of us again on your next trip through Santa Fe!

Kathy Sechrist
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2011

The Hyatt Place had a lovely staff, very accommodating. But the problems weren't of their making. Problems included 1. the sheets on the bed. I have NEVER slept in worse sheets, scratchy, like a bed of nails. Where did they get these rejects from? 2. Soundproofing should be a priority in building a hotel. They seem to have forgotten about this in constructing Hyatt Place. Elephants walked above my room and even hanging up a coat in the next room was a shared experience. 3. The "free" internet would have been nice, but it was down for four of the six days I stayed there. Even the hotel lobby internet wouldn't work. My friend was taken into the private office and allowed to use that computer, which worked just fine. What's with that.

Room Tip: Get a room that faces the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kellygman, General Manager at Hyatt Place Santa Fe, responded to this review, May 18, 2011
Thank you for your recent review of the Hyatt Place Santa Fe. It was with great regret that I read that you had such a dislike for the sheets! Our sheets are Hyatt standard, and I apologize that we fell short. As for the internet, we cannot plan for a problem with AT&T but are sincerely apologetic that the internet was down for the length of your stay. Each day we were promised that it would be fixed, but when working with large conglomerates, we were at their mercy unfortunately.
We ask that you give us another chance to win your business again. We pride ourselves on making the guest happy!
Thank you,

Kathy Sechrist
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Place Santa Fe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Santa Fe

Address: 4320 Cerrillos Road, Santa Fe, NM 87507
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#20 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Santa Fe 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Hyatt Place Santa Fe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Santa Fe Hotel Santa Fe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Place Santa Fe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.