We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food for a good price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palacio Cafe

Palacio Cafe
209 East Palace Ave, Santa Fe, NM 87501 (Downtown)
505 989-3505
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 417 Restaurants in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $10
Cuisines: Sandwiches
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch
Neighborhood: Downtown
Krum
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great food for a good price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014 via mobile

I stopped here for a
Light lunch and it was delightful. The salad was very good with a lot of fresh ingredients. The sandwich was filling too

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    266
    74
    18
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, OR
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Great Enchiladas!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

My friend and I had enchilada plates, one chicken and one cheese, and both were excellent. The cafe was quiet when we arrived around 4 pm, and service was fast and efficient. The location a few blocks away from the plaza means that for the time being at least you can avoid the hordes by eating here. No alcohol, which is a good thing when the portions are this generous. Prices are very reasonable, especially by Santa Fe standards.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmond, Oklahoma
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Two times... ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

My wife and I ate lunch here twice on trip to Santa Fe. Had the enchiladas both times with green Chile sauce. Excellent. Wanted to try the breakfast too (served all day), but couldn't resist having the enchiladas again. Friendly staff. Charming small cafe.

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Enjoyable lunch ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

We stopped by for lunch while visiting Santa Fe for the afternoon. Inside is small but they had a table to seat our family of five. Four of us ordered the enchiladas. They were very good. Red sauce was a bit spicy for one of my kids, but I really liked it. You can get the sauce on the side if you are unsure - great for kids who don't typically like spicy foods. My daughter ordered a club sandwhich. She said it was very good as well. It was nice they had a variety of menu items. The portion sizes were quite generous. We had trouble finishing everything on our plates. Very friendly and accommodating staff. Great service. Made for a very enjoyable lunch.

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“A nice breakfast spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

As others have said this café is a good spot. The owners were very attentive, our breakfast portions almost too large, and it was convenient to where were staying (Casa de Tres Lunas). There are a couple of tables outside if it is nice out. It is not a large or fancy establishment, but if you are looking for a basic breakfast (with a SW flare) this works great. We did not try it for lunch.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Palacio Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Palacio Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palacio Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.