We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lunch we read about on here!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palacio Cafe

Palacio Cafe
209 East Palace Ave, Santa Fe, NM 87501 (Downtown)
505 989-3505
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 414 Restaurants in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $8 - $10
Cuisines: Sandwiches
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch
Neighborhood: Downtown
Canon City, Colorado
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“A lunch we read about on here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

I loved the watermelon soup! I had a Beefy Hero a roast beef/horseradish sandwich. Kids menu is small~ quesadilla with or with out chicken and a grilled cheese , and hubby had the chili stew. The only thing I would say to help over all to future customers...language plays a key role here on your order being right. Speak clearly and if the owner repeats stuff to you that is wrong work with her to get it right. We speak 0 Spanish and we had to ask several food allergy questions...both husband and wife listened and we were able to get it all worked out! (husband deathly allergic to red onions)

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    251
    69
    17
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“As pleasant as delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

My family and I went to the Palacio Cafe on Palace St across from the Cathedral (interesting how that works) for breakfast. We had been there for lunches and wondered about the breakfast. The breakfast burrito and the huevos rancheros were delicious as was the coffee.. Being foofies and having lived out of the USA for over 30 years, that this should be "one of the best meals I have ever had" is hard to say; for how does one compare nua nam tok in Bangkok with chicken jalfreze in Islamabad and huevos ranchos in Santa Fe but the experience was just great. The couple that run the Palacio Cafe are amiable people and interested in your having a great meal. The ambience is Santa Fe-understated and the experience will be repeated for sure.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent food and atmosphere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

What an delicious lunch! Had half panini and cup of gaspacho. Great service and cheerful atmosphere. Seems family owned and run.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Excellent food, simple café”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

Visited on a Saturday. Not too busy. Service wasn't super fast but I didn't care once I but into the Palacio Club. Yum!

They have some art around and a radio station on--not swank in any way but not without character either.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Massachusetts, United States
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Lovely little place for lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Palacio Cafe is across the street from the St. Francis of Assisi Cathedral. It's a small place, but our lunch was tasty--soup and sandwich combination. Here what I remember is the gazpacho, because it was so cool and refreshing on a hot summer day. Service was very attentive, and I would definitely return for another meal.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Palacio Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Palacio Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palacio Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.