We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still charming” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Hacienda and Spa at Hotel Santa Fe

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Hacienda and Spa at Hotel Santa Fe to your Saves list
The Hacienda and Spa at Hotel Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   537 S Guadalupe St., Santa Fe, NM 87501   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Still charming”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

Revisiting after a year, the Hacienda at the Hotel Santa Fe is still a good place to stay. The staff at the Front desk especially Alyssa and Victoria are personable, professional and clear thinking. Always willing to solve any issue promptly and satisfactorily. I have watched Alyssa attend to difficult guests with enormous patience and goodwill.
As usual every one is friendly and helpful.
The shuttle to downtown is especially useful. Also very convenient and prompt.
Buffet breakfast is adequate but unexciting.

Room Tip: Stay at the Hacienda where there is butler service and a lounge. The suites are comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulMargetson, Owner at The Hacienda and Spa at Hotel Santa Fe, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Thank you for staying with us again and for your kind comments, which I definitely pass on to Alyssa and Victoria!


thu xonn chiimen iy a whachii wye wye - May Your Travels Bring You Back Soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    49
    10
    4
    2
See reviews for
30
93
7
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

I'm not sure how exactly to rate the Hacienda as it's somewhere between a boutique hotel and a 4 star hotel, and also a hotel within the Hotel Santa Fe. The big selling point is service - these rooms come with a private butler. All the staff here is friendly and personable though. My room is pleasantly decorated in a southwestern antique style and the furniture is very comfortable. My only niggle with the room is that the bed frame squeaks horribly whenever you move. The room also has a beautiful kiva fireplace, wonderful shower, safe, bathrobes, coffee maker, minibar, desk, couch, and king sized bed. The property has a good restaurant, spa, pool, and exercise facility. People staying in this part of the property get a continental breakfast and evening cocktail hour, neither of which I tried, but it was nice to have options. It's about a 10 minute walk to the plaza, but the hotel also has a free shuttle on demand, which is a nice touch.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulMargetson, Owner at The Hacienda and Spa at Hotel Santa Fe, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Many apologies for the squeaky bedframe! I wish I knew which room you were staying in?

Thank you so much for your kind words and I am delighted to learn you enjoyed your stay.

thu xonn chiimen iy a whachii wye wye - May Your Travels Bring You Back Soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, United States
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

We stayed at the hotel for 2 nights, with 3 young children. The hotel has a old Santa Fe charm to it, with all new amenities. The rooms were spacious with a bedroom and a sitting area, complete with pull out sofa bed. The location of the hotel is very convenient to the plaza and downtown shopping area.

We would visit again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulMargetson, Owner at The Hacienda and Spa at Hotel Santa Fe, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
I am so delighted to know that you and your family had a fun time at the Hotel and thank you very much for staying with us!

thu xonn chiimen iy a whachii wye wye - May Your Travels Bring You Back Soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

The room is 5 star, the front desk is 5 star, the general manager is 5 star, the Lead Butler Jess was 10 star if I could make it that high! The Concierge on staff the days we were there was a 1 star. I will now elaborate. The room was gorgeously appointed, crisp sheets, comfortable matteress, super clean, shower had excellent water pressure - perfect room! The check in/check out process was fantastic - staff was very informative. The general manager Corey was a pleasure to talk with and was very helpful. The Butler service was incredible!! Jess is very knowledgeable on the "happenings" in Santa Fe. (He should train ALL the staff!!!) Now to the Concierge - she was a disappointment. She didn't know anything about the top 10 attractions in Santa Fe (as noted by Trip Advisor). I knew more. If the hotel would train the Concierge on the attractions, restaurants etc in Santa Fe my review would be a 5 star. Take note Corey - have Jess train the staff as we discussed!! I will be back!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulMargetson, Owner at The Hacienda and Spa at Hotel Santa Fe, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Very many thanks for staying with us and I have passed on your kind words to Corey and Jess and all the staff - except, of course, to the concierge on duty at that time.

Please accept my apologies for her lack of knowledge on the “happenings” in Santa Fe, but thank you for bringing this to my attention! It has already been addressed!!

thu xonn chiimen iy a whachii wye wye - May Your Travels Bring You Back Soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Iowa
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

The staff at the front desk was excellent. The drivers were GREAT! They were very quick to pick up & drop off, all you have to do is call the hotel, let them know where you are & the shuttle is there immediately. The location is also a big plus, within walking distance to restaurants and entertainment. We stayed in a suite with a private balcony, which was nice. It would have been better to have a lock on the bedroom door to ensure privacy for the adults. The bathroom was a bit thrown together, but functional. The pool was small & the other guests seemed offended when we showed up with our eleven year old & actually used the pool, which was comical. Some of them actually left. I would recommend this hotel to couples more so than families.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulMargetson, Owner at The Hacienda and Spa at Hotel Santa Fe, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
I am sorry to learn of your troubles/discomfort at the Pool but hopefully your eleven year-old had a good time.

Many thanks for staying with us and I am glad to learn you especially enjoyed our London Taxi Shuttle Service.

thu xonn chiimen iy a whachii wye wye - May Your Travels Bring You Back Soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granbury, Texas
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

For about $325 got a very nice room in their special hotel within a hotel, a butler, free continental plus breakfast, and a wine and cheese reception in the early evening. In addition got free shuttles to right where you wanted to go in the main Santa Fe area. This was very helpful as you could just park your car and have them take you to shop or to eating places. They made dinner reservations too. It was not right in the center of the action so quiet. Close enough for very short and fast shuttles.

Room Tip: The 6th floor room we had, 602 was great.
See more room tips
Green Features: They ask you to keep your towels as long as you can.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulMargetson, Owner at The Hacienda and Spa at Hotel Santa Fe, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Very many thanks for staying with us and I am so delighted to learn you enjoyed your stay and took advantage of some of the amenities we offer. Hopefully you will be back soon?

kowaen mina so thuu puchi - Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

We recently stayed three nights with our teenage daughter. The Hacienda and Spa section is very quiet and peaceful. My daughter had room service and loved it. We had a suite so there were 2 TV's and a fireplace and really nice size patio/deck. The Hotel Santa Fe section has a beautiful bar, restaurant, and patio. The one thing we loved was the free transportation. The drivers were so helpful and it seemed like they were magic, you call and they appear. We would go back, I had thought I might like La Fonda better but after going by and seeing the crowds that are in and out of there I like the quietness and peacefulness of this place.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulMargetson, Owner at The Hacienda and Spa at Hotel Santa Fe, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
I am so glad you had a quiet and peaceful time with us and indeed avoided staying with the crowds!

Many thanks for staying with us - our drivers are waiting for your return!

kowaen mina so thuu puchi - Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Hacienda and Spa at Hotel Santa Fe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hacienda and Spa at Hotel Santa Fe

Address: 537 S Guadalupe St., Santa Fe, NM 87501
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Hacienda and Spa at Hotel Santa Fe 4.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At The Hacienda and Spa, our luxurious fireplace rooms and suites are filled with Native American Art and warm gem-like tones that reflect the southwest. Enjoy a unique cultural experience from the lilting notes of a Native flute, watching ceremonial dances, or listening to our Historian bring Santa Fe to life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Hacienda and Spa at Hotel Santa Fe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hacienda and Spa at Hotel Santa Fe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.