We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel - Just Fractionally Too Far Away” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Hacienda and Spa at Hotel Santa Fe

Save Saved
You added The Hacienda and Spa at Hotel Santa Fe to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Hacienda and Spa at Hotel Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   537 S Guadalupe St., Santa Fe, NM 87501   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 60 hotels in Santa Fe
GreenLeadersSilver level
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Great Hotel - Just Fractionally Too Far Away”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Lovely hotel in the Santa Fe style. Fantastic service staff and great rooms. Public areas are well designed and well maintained.

Just a little too far from the Square. It's walkable, but you get a bit sick of that quickly. The provision of a shuttle bus and old London taxis is a decent way to address the issue.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulMargetsonGM, Owner at The Hacienda and Spa at Hotel Santa Fe, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you so very much for writing to tripadvisor.com and I have passed on your compliments to Sonya - she has been with us for many years!

thu xonn chiimen iy a whachii wye wye - May Your Travels Bring You Back Soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    96
    47
    10
    3
    2
See reviews for
29
84
6
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona, United States
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

From the time we arrived at the hotel until we left, we were completely pampered. We had butlers who were responsible for us, there was a private room on the rooftop for complimentary wine and cheese in the evening and a fine private continental breakfast in the morning. The hotel took us wherever we wanted to go in town, so we didn't have to move the car. And did I mention the shower? Perfect. The room was quiet, the bed was so comfy to slide into, we slept like babies. We can't wait to return, and hoping to spend a week,

Room Tip: All the rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulMargetsonGM, Owner at The Hacienda and Spa at Hotel Santa Fe, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
I am so pleased to know that our butlers took care of you, as some of our guests commentaries have found them MIA! Please do come back soon and spend a week with us! We await you!

thu xonn chiimen iy a whachii wye wye - May Your Travels Bring You Back Soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Recently, my husband and I spent several weeks in Colorado and New Mexico. We were fortunate enough to stay at one of the most beautiful and classy hotels in Santa Fe, NM. Our suite, in the hacienda was incredibly beautiful with artifacts directly outside and inside our room. I have been fascinated with the southwest and the Native American culture, and to see the Kachina, rugs and paintings, was a very special experience for me. We were greeted with a very friendly staff who not only made us feel very special while we were at the hotel, but helped us find our locations in and around the Santa Fe area. The breakfasts were amazing, sitting outside in the cool morning breezes or inside in the beautifully designed room, again filled with amazing Native American artwork. I loved being so close to the Plaza, making this hotel not only convenient for our walks, but close to everything that we wanted to experience in Santa Fe. My husband and I do a lot of traveling, all around the world, and I would have to say that this was one of the most beautiful and friendly hotels that we have stayed at. We will definitely go back to The Hacienda & Spa at the Hotel Santa Fe and stay in Room 620. Thank you, everyone at Hotel Santa Fe, for making our stay a memorable one. You really rock!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulMargetsonGM, Owner at The Hacienda and Spa at Hotel Santa Fe, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
And thank you for such wonderful words of encouragement and so pleased that you enjoyed all the artwork and artifacts.

Please do come back soon. You also rock!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastern Shore, Maryland
Top Contributor
255 reviews 255 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

This property is between the Plaza and the Cerillos Road chain hotels. So is its price and services. There is a shuttle to take you to and fro destinations within one mile of the property, which covers the Plaza and Canyon Road shopping. We walked to the Plaza, but if you're not a walker this might be a challenge if it's hot.

There is an $18 amenity fee that's tacked on to the room rate... which seems to be more than a little tacky. And you're reminded that they will charge your credit card immediately a certain amount to cover any possible damage to the room... or if you steal something, I guess. But... the staff is friendly and professional.... otherwise.

The rooms are small by spa standards as is the bathroom. The only drawers are the small ones inside the small chest that houses the locked mini-bar fridge. They are clean... and have a balcony that overlooks the parking lot or street.

The shuttle to the Opera does make a stop here, which is one of the reasons we booked this property. Would I stay here again? I'd certainly shop around the Plaza hotels first and then compare the prices noting that I'm gonna get hit with an $18 nuisance charge here.

Room Tip: Make sure you knwo that this location is where you want to be. otherwise, you can get fooled that y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulMargetsonGM, Owner at The Hacienda and Spa at Hotel Santa Fe, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Oh but the fee covers so many amenities and facilities that all our competitors charge in some form or other. Please give us another visit/chance and perhaps reserve a Junior Suite next time!

chenoho mima téwe yo tha - We thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

We had an excellent stay; friendly helpful staff that made us feel like royalty. Staff members were knowledgeable about the area, and suggested many wonderful places to visit within walking distance of the hotel. We hope to return every year.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulMargetsonGM, Owner at The Hacienda and Spa at Hotel Santa Fe, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
And we hope you will return next year. Many thanks for staying with us!

kowaen mina so thuu puchi - Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

Gladys gave me the best facial. She was careful, courteous and very professional. I can't wait for my next visit to the hotel and Spa. I would highly recommend her to anyone visiting the Spa at the Hotel Santa Fe.

Stayed August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulMargetsonGM, Owner at The Hacienda and Spa at Hotel Santa Fe, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Your wonderful compliments have been passed on to Gladys!! Many thanks for staying with us!

kowaen mina so thuu puchi - Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We booked a king fireplace super suite and were pleasantly surprised when our butler Robert opened the door. This was truly a suite! There was a nice basket of fresh fruit awaiting us and my kids loved having the fruit to snack on throughout our stay. It was great for a family of four. It was at least 600 sq. feet. The suite included a cozy fireplace, balcony, mini bar, in room safe, iPad/iPod clock radio, WiFi, humidifier, coffee maker, hairdryer, plush terry robes and slippers, as well as a dining table for four. The bathroom was spacious with tile and granite finished with a Jacuzzi tub/shower. The pullout bed in the living room was a high quality double bed so my kids were not scrunched and Our butler Robert was awesome. Upon arrival he called a restaurant we were interested in dining at later in the evening and made reservations for us. The complimentary breakfast was quite nice with oatmeal, waffles, fresh fruit, pastries, coffee, tea, &juice. The only minor criticisms are 1) The pool is quite small for a hotel this size 2) Not that close to the plaza 3) No recycling bins/trash cans for plastic water bottles provided in the suite. 4) Our balcony faced a busy street (Guadalupe) not relaxing in the afternoon and evening-okay in the morning. We would definitely stay at the Hacienda again.

Room Tip: The Hacienda is separate from the hotel. If you choose a balcony suite ask for a balcony that does...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulMargetsonGM, Owner at The Hacienda and Spa at Hotel Santa Fe, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you for your detailed report and comments and Robert thanks you for your kind words. Your minor criticisms are acknowledged and whilst there is sometimes some street noise, I do hope you were made aware of our shuttle service all over town from 7:30am to 10:00pm!

We hope you will indeed return on day soon!

kowaen mina so thuu puchi - Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Hacienda and Spa at Hotel Santa Fe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hacienda and Spa at Hotel Santa Fe

Address: 537 S Guadalupe St., Santa Fe, NM 87501
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 60 hotels in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Hacienda and Spa at Hotel Santa Fe 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At The Hacienda and Spa, our luxurious fireplace rooms and suites are filled with Native American Art and warm gem-like tones that reflect the southwest. Enjoy a unique cultural experience from the lilting notes of a Native flute, watching ceremonial dances, or listening to our Historian bring Santa Fe to life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Hacienda and Spa at Hotel Santa Fe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hacienda and Spa at Hotel Santa Fe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.