We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time in Santa Fe - Great hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Hacienda and Spa at Hotel Santa Fe

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Hacienda and Spa at Hotel Santa Fe to your Saves list
The Hacienda and Spa at Hotel Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   537 S Guadalupe St., Santa Fe, NM 87501   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Gaithersburg, Maryland, USA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“First time in Santa Fe - Great hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

My wife and I planned a trip to Santa Fe for our "special" 60th birthdays. From our own investigation, and advice from Santa Fe resident friends, we chose the Hacienda and Spa at Hotel Santa Fe for our 8-day visit. So many hotels on Tripadvisor have negative reviews, I was almost afraid to stay anywhere in Santa Fe. To sum it up, our stay at the Hacienda was thoroughly enjoyable. Upon our arrival, check-in was a breeze. Front desk staff was efficient and friendly, and our butler arrived to help with luggage before we even had a chance to sign in. Our room was a Fireplace King on the ground floor, and was a good size and very well appointed. The king bed was comfortable and the linens were of excellent quality. We had in-room coffee, hair dryer, robes, a safe, flat screen TV and sufficient storage space for a week of clothing. The room was very quiet. The lobby at the Hacienda is a very nice sitting area with a lot of Native American art items. The main lobby is in the adjacent Hotel Santa Fe building. So there isn't much traffic or noise in the Hacienda building itself.

The hotel itself contains a plethora of authentic Native American art, both in the Hacienda building and the main hotel. Each floor has examples of pottery, paintings, Kachina dolls and other art objects. The hotel also offers a free shuttle service, with runs to the plaza and other areas within a 1-mile radius. Although the hotel is not located at the plaza, it's only a 10-minute walk to the main town area. There are several nice shops and restaurants located a block or so from the hotel, in the Railyard area. Notably, Cowgirl BBQ and Tomasitas for dining, and Sissel's jewelry store where we visited several times.

The housekeeping staff and services were beyond expectations. They serviced the room at least twice a day, offering extra towels in the evening, if needed. A separate person stopped by a couple of times to ask if the mini-bar needed replenshing. Each evening when we returned, housekeeping had turned down the bed, and left Lindt chocolates.

A complimentary breakfast is offered every morning in the Hacienda building, in the lounge on the top floor. An ourdoor patio area is adjacent. I would say it is a Continental "plus" offering, with waffles, oatmeal, cottage cheese, granola and other cereals, fresh orange juice and grapefruit juice, very fresh and ripe fruit, crossaints and pastry, bagels, and very nice breads, along with miniature jars of Dickinson jams. In the afternoon, wine, cheese and fruit are served in the lounge.

We ate at the Amaya restaurant on a couple of occasions. The food and service was excellent. We sat in the bar area for a light bite one evening, and listened to flute and guitar music played weekly by a Native American musician.

My wife used the services at the spa on location at the hotel, and said the massage was one of the best she has had.

I could go on and on. Suffice it to say, the Hacienda was a very nice hotel and we would definitely stay there again. For us, the price of the accommodations presented a very good value in Santa Fe.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulMargetsonGM, Owner at The Hacienda and Spa at Hotel Santa Fe, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Your lengthy review is so greatly appreciated and thank you so much for taking the time to write to tripadvisor.com. We were all thrilled to learn that you enjoyed your stay and it is so encouraging to receive such positive feedback from our guests.

We thank you choosing to stay with us and hope you will return and stay with us again soon. Many thanks!!

kowaen mina so thuu puchi - Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
137 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We were in Santa Fe last October,and I reviewed Hotel Santa Fe after a 3 day stay. I had nothing but good things to report. This month (May '13) we returned for a week, and if it's possible, HSF was even better this time.

The design, decor, and larger mini-suites are exceptional, but that's what one would expect of a 4 star hotel (at least 4 stars)! Aside from decor, atmosphere, and perfect location, what really separates this hotel from others is its staff. Never, repeat, never have we been afforded such wonderful treatment by any staff anywhere we've stayed. They are exceptional--from the general manager, Paul Margetson to his chief assistant, Shawna Martinez.

The front desk staff are among the warmest, most sincere folks I've encountered. They are to be commended, and when you stay there, you'll quickly see why I say that, and you'll agree. Their names, in alphabetical order, are: Alyssa, Antoinette, Avery (shuttle driver), Eloy, Gabe, Jonathan, and Robert. What a difference they made by taking time to make suggestions as to where to eat, what to see, and by giving various tips and directions to us.

We stayed in the original section, which affords first class accommodations. But we were also shown the newest part of the hotel: The Hacienda. WOW! We'll stay there next time. The rooms are not just nice, but are luxurious. The hallways are filled with alcoves featuring original Native American art in various genres. The regular rooms are beautiful, well furnished, and large. The suites are the essence of luxury--huge and incredibly well done.

If you have not yet visited and stayed at Hotel Santa Fe--do yourself a favor. Stay there, and you'll soon understand why we returned, and why we will return again. It is a gem of a hotel.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the hotel's east side--preferably a small suite. If possible, try one of their...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulMargetsonGM, Owner at The Hacienda and Spa at Hotel Santa Fe, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Wow! We cannot thank you enough for such wonderfully kind remarks.

We are all so grateful and encouraged and your thoughts have given us all renewed energy as we enter the summer season.

Please come back soon!

kii thu wia‘‘ kanna thu wia - Our House is Your House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We stayed in The Hacienda and Spa just for one night (unfortunately) but definitetly will be back there. This is a marvelous place to stay and relax. We came at midnight (because of some problems, which we had during our travel) and were very tired but the man in the reception was very kind and helpfull. The room was big, very very clean and comfortable. Fresh fruits in the room and small box with chocolate bars was a very nice surprice :) Breakfast was very healthy and delicious. Unfortunately we came to the hotel very late and had to leave very early, so we didn't have the possibility to visit spa and evening acivities offered by the hotel but this place stays on the top of our list "Places to visit again".

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Izabela651
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulMargetsonGM, Owner at The Hacienda and Spa at Hotel Santa Fe, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
We so appreciate being on “top of your list” and hope you will return soon for a longer stay.

Many thanks for your kind remarks!

thu xonn chiimen iy a whachii wye wye - May Your Travels Bring You Back Soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amarillo, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

I planned a retreat for my firm at The Hacienda and Spa. They really had a nice time. The evening reception was good. They had the Amaya dinner buffet and the Land of Enchantment breakfast which offered a nice variety of good food. We had a group of 54 people who needed to be shuttled around town to 5 different restaurants, and the shuttle service was on top of their game. Many people also took advantage of the spa, which I heard booked up quickly.
One attorney wrote, "In all seriousness, the retreat was a very enjoyable trip and just a really good weekend overall. Thanks again."
Kudos to ALL of the staff for making their stay a great one!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dawn N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulMargetsonGM, Owner at The Hacienda and Spa at Hotel Santa Fe, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
We thank you so very much for booking your retreat with us and are delighted to learn that everything went well. I hope that you will return if not as a group, but individually in the not too distant future!

Again, many thanks for staying with us.

thu xonn chiimen iy a whachii wye wye - May Your Travels Bring You Back Soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado USA
Level Contributor
129 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

Had been in many Santa Fe hotels over many years and tried this one out. Glad I did. Discovered a newly developing area of Santa Fe that was interesting and gave us a new feeling for this city which is our favorite. Good deal, roof top spa hot tub. Free bottle of wine and cheese reception from friendly Lubo the butler. Free papers and full breakfast. No other place in Santa Fe does it all better. Convenient parking. Nice grounds.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rtfax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulMargetsonGM, Owner at The Hacienda and Spa at Hotel Santa Fe, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Thank you for trying us out! And please come back soon. We are delighted to learn you enjoyed your stay and met Lubo who has been with us for 12 years!

thu xonn chiimen iy a whachii wye wye - May Your Travels Bring You Back Soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013 via mobile

As luck would have it, my hip went out on our road trip out from South Texas. Margaret worked so hard to relieve my pain. Thanks to her, I was able to enjoy the rest of our stay. She's a miracle worker. We didn't stay in the hotel, but it was recommended to us because the spa at La Fonda was closed. The spa was beautiful, clean, and peaceful, with great showers, too. Mmmm...just thinking about it makes me want to go back.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sallie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulMargetsonGM, Owner at The Hacienda and Spa at Hotel Santa Fe, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
But please also stay with us next time!! So pleased to know that Margaret took care of hip!!

kowaen mina so thuu puchi - Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango, Colorado
Level Contributor
71 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the deer suite. First time at the hacienda and was a bit confused. We pulled up and weren't sure where to check in. The hacienda isn't where you check in. When we arrived at the main hotel entrance I was expecting valet parking, no such thing I was told by the parking attendant. Was able to check in early, which was nice. But was immediately interrupted by the front desk/butler several times. If you want room service you have to order through your butler??? And you have to find him first. One butler was all I saw, each shift, for the whole hacienda. We asked if there were more and we got a smile. Huh? We booked spa treatments and when we arrived early to "relax" and get settled in we were told "there isn't a waiting area". We set next to the elevator. How relaxing. I also wanted to order champagne and fruits prior to our treatment. we asked the spa attendant (who had high heels on and trumpted up and down making loud noise the entire time) she explained "they do not offer that at the spa". And that I would need to go down stairs and get what I needed. Excuse me? My response was "please call our butler and let him know our order, he will bring it up, thank you". She rolled her eyes and 20 min later a nice man brought us our champagne and fruit.
They miss the mark on personal service. They have the facility to offer such a personal experience for each guest, the staff is lacking dedication and motivation from my opinion.
I've spoke to the owner/manager and it surprises me how he can be so accommodating on the phone, but fails to deliver once the guest arrives.
If you want a good value this place is for you. Families too
Not so much for high end spa or romantic getaway. Try inn of five graces, inn of Anasazi or la posada.
Those all offer impeccable service and pristine properties

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dgojenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulMargetsonGM, Owner at The Hacienda and Spa at Hotel Santa Fe, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
I don’t know/recall who you maybe be, but am sorry to learn you didn’t enjoy your stay. We currently have at least two Butlers on each shift and perhaps there is a disconnect with the Spa which is managed/leased by a third party and thank you for bringing that to my attention!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Inn of the Five Graces
#1 of 60 in Santa Fe
5.0 of 5 stars 474 reviews
La Fonda on the Plaza
#4 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#2 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,448 reviews
Downtown
Inn and Spa at Loretto
Inn and Spa at Loretto
#25 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 stars 1,177 reviews
Downtown
Rosewood Inn of the Anasazi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hacienda and Spa at Hotel Santa Fe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hacienda and Spa at Hotel Santa Fe

Address: 537 S Guadalupe St., Santa Fe, NM 87501
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Hacienda and Spa at Hotel Santa Fe 4.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At The Hacienda and Spa, our luxurious fireplace rooms and suites are filled with Native American Art and warm gem-like tones that reflect the southwest. Enjoy a unique cultural experience from the lilting notes of a Native flute, watching ceremonial dances, or listening to our Historian bring Santa Fe to life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your The Hacienda and Spa at Hotel Santa Fe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing