We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent massage at the spa!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Hacienda and Spa at Hotel Santa Fe

Save Saved
You added The Hacienda and Spa at Hotel Santa Fe to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Hacienda and Spa at Hotel Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   537 S Guadalupe St., Santa Fe, NM 87501   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 60 hotels in Santa Fe
GreenLeadersSilver level
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent massage at the spa!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013 via mobile

As luck would have it, my hip went out on our road trip out from South Texas. Margaret worked so hard to relieve my pain. Thanks to her, I was able to enjoy the rest of our stay. She's a miracle worker. We didn't stay in the hotel, but it was recommended to us because the spa at La Fonda was closed. The spa was beautiful, clean, and peaceful, with great showers, too. Mmmm...just thinking about it makes me want to go back.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulMargetsonGM, Owner at The Hacienda and Spa at Hotel Santa Fe, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
But please also stay with us next time!! So pleased to know that Margaret took care of hip!!

kowaen mina so thuu puchi - Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    96
    46
    10
    3
    2
See reviews for
29
84
6
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Durango, Colorado
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the deer suite. First time at the hacienda and was a bit confused. We pulled up and weren't sure where to check in. The hacienda isn't where you check in. When we arrived at the main hotel entrance I was expecting valet parking, no such thing I was told by the parking attendant. Was able to check in early, which was nice. But was immediately interrupted by the front desk/butler several times. If you want room service you have to order through your butler??? And you have to find him first. One butler was all I saw, each shift, for the whole hacienda. We asked if there were more and we got a smile. Huh? We booked spa treatments and when we arrived early to "relax" and get settled in we were told "there isn't a waiting area". We set next to the elevator. How relaxing. I also wanted to order champagne and fruits prior to our treatment. we asked the spa attendant (who had high heels on and trumpted up and down making loud noise the entire time) she explained "they do not offer that at the spa". And that I would need to go down stairs and get what I needed. Excuse me? My response was "please call our butler and let him know our order, he will bring it up, thank you". She rolled her eyes and 20 min later a nice man brought us our champagne and fruit.
They miss the mark on personal service. They have the facility to offer such a personal experience for each guest, the staff is lacking dedication and motivation from my opinion.
I've spoke to the owner/manager and it surprises me how he can be so accommodating on the phone, but fails to deliver once the guest arrives.
If you want a good value this place is for you. Families too
Not so much for high end spa or romantic getaway. Try inn of five graces, inn of Anasazi or la posada.
Those all offer impeccable service and pristine properties

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulMargetsonGM, Owner at The Hacienda and Spa at Hotel Santa Fe, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
I don’t know/recall who you maybe be, but am sorry to learn you didn’t enjoy your stay. We currently have at least two Butlers on each shift and perhaps there is a disconnect with the Spa which is managed/leased by a third party and thank you for bringing that to my attention!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sacramento, California
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

This was my second stay at this facility and it remains one of the most convenient and attractive locations for your Santa fe stay. I was surprised however that except for ipod docking station nothing else had been updated in the suites. It is crazy they only have showers and no nice spa tubs or double sinks in the bathrooms, no flat screens or dvd players either.
There were a couple of issues with our room, the most trying was the fact construction was going on , on the roof, after calling the front desk we were offered a lower rate which was fair, but I wish the reservations person had made it clear.
The service was very nice, the staff in the Hacienda were very proactive and helpful ready to give suggestions or advice on what to see or where to go. The breakfast offered in the lounge, included in the room fee was adequate, fresh fruit, eggs, waffles, pastry, breads, cereals, juices and yoghurts. Wine and cheese hours were fun, also several beer selections on offer.
There is a free shuttle to take you to locations around town and you could call for pickup.
All in all a very pleasant stay, take advantage of the spa, very nice.

Room Tip: Top floor or bottom, corner or at end of hallway, niot facing the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulMargetsonGM, Owner at The Hacienda and Spa at Hotel Santa Fe, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Flat screen TVs are being installed throughout as I respond to this review. With apologies for the construction on the roof inconvenience and they should be gone in three weeks.

My decision to install only spacious showers as us Americans normally don’t use baths except there are two suites at the Hacienda with tubs - maybe next time? Please note the main Hotel does have tubs in every room.

New mattresses are also currently being installed throughout The Hacienda.

Many thanks for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Viejo, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I have been to Santa Fe five times and stayed here our last four visits. The service and staff are friendly and helpful. It is charming and warm while retaining an elegance. My husband and I usually choose a one bedroom suite. But the king size room is also very very comfortable and has a larger shower than any hotel in the same range. We always avail ourselves of the shuttle to the downtown when it is chilly. The walk into town when it is warm is only about 8 or 9 minutes. We will be back for certain. Denise and Tom California

Room Tip: for longer stays go with a choice of suites. You will enjoy how spacious they are.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulMargetsonGM, Owner at The Hacienda and Spa at Hotel Santa Fe, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you for cheering us up and making our day!! We are so happy to be your “favorite hotel” and your kind word are very encouraging!

ko piane ca whachii - May Blessings Come Your Way
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

My husband and I visit Santa Fe for several days prior to the holidays each year. We love the beautiful southwestern Christmas decorations, and have found this to be an enchanting time to be in this special city. We have our favorite hotels, but had never tried this one. We stayed in a fireplace suite, and would highly recommend it. It suited our needs just perfectly. We always enjoy spending a couple hours reading by the fireplace, which we did together on a leather couch. The bathroom had a walk-in shower, our favorite. We especially loved the wine each evening, and the breakfasts each morning. You are not served a lot of food, but for us it was an ample amount considering we always like trying the fabulous restaurants around town. Lubo and Javier were excellent butlers, very personable and helpful at all times. The Hacienda is separate from the rest of the hotel, but only a few steps away from the workout room and lobby. This is a delightful place, and will be be guests again!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulMargetsonGM, Owner at The Hacienda and Spa at Hotel Santa Fe, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
So glad to know that Lubo and Javier took such good care of you and we love being your new favorite Hotel!! Thank you for your kind words and we look forward to seeing you again soon!!

kinna wachii xoum kowia - Peace, Love and Joy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ada, Michigan
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for three nights in January as part of a second honeymoon trip. We stayed in a fireplace king room in the Hacienda which was small but very nice. The butler was very attentive and the amenities were nice. It was low season so the hotel and spa were fairly quiet and overall the service was great. The reception staff was incredibly friendly, recognized us and called us by name, always offering to help, giving us bottled water, etc. The free shuttle was a great way to get downtown to the museums quickly--especiallyon a cold day when we didn't really want to walk or hassle with parking...but the hotel is really a very nice 10 minute walk from almost all the shops, restaurants, cathedrals, chapels and other points of interest in the downtown area. We made use of the spa and the masssages and the body scrub were great. We used the hot tub one night and it was a little weird since the building was empty and the rooftop was very dark (we couldn't find a light switch and neither could our butler who we called on for help). The tromp l'oeil painting of the man in the staircase in the robe was kind of creepy at night!

We did go to one of the wine and cheese receptions in the lounge and it was good but there weren't enough glasses and there was nobody staffing it when we were there...so we drank wine out of juice glasses I found in the servery and called our butler who promptly came up and fixed the situation.

The complimentary breakfast in the lounge was sufficient with fruit, yogurt, pastries, croissants, breads, cereals, and hard boiled eggs. We did have one unpleasant experience--on our last morning one of the other guests brought their large dog to breakfast with them. The dog was barking and laid down on the floor in front of the coffee and blocking the way to the food bar. We are not dog people and didn't know that dogs were allowed on the property, let alone in the 3rd floor breakfast room. I mentioned it to the reception staff and they seemed surprised.

Overall the service was OK considering it was low season and they probably had lowered staff levels. The front desk staff and our butler were great!!! The rooms are nice, the location is fantastic and the free shuttle is a nice feature. Take the time to look at the museum quality native american art collection too! I wish we'd been able to do a walking tour of Santa Fe with the guide but we didn't know the schedule in advance so we missed this opportunity.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulMargetsonGM, Owner at The Hacienda and Spa at Hotel Santa Fe, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
With many apologies for the dog issue which should not have been allowed in the area during food service unless an assistance dog!! (Although we are a dog friendly enterprise.)

Thank you for taking the time to write such an extensive review and your kind words are greatly appreciated!

kii thu wia‘‘ kanna thu wia - Our House is Your House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado USA
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We have visited Santa Fe dozens of times. This is the first time here and we are so happy we tried it out. It gave us a different vantage point for this wonderful city. Lubo the bell boy was so friendly and helpful and made us feel appreciated as a guest. Grounds were unusual and creative. Rooms were designed in a cozy native way. Kiva gas fireplace was classy. Halls had art displayed nicely. Free Sunday editions of Santa Fe and NY Times papers was top notch. A great and free breakfast and close parking topped it all off. We will return and will recommend to others.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulMargetsonGM, Owner at The Hacienda and Spa at Hotel Santa Fe, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
So glad to know you found us after all these years!! And we are all delighted to learn you enjoyed your stay.

thu xonn chiimen iy a whachii wye wye - May Your Travels Bring You Back Soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Hacienda and Spa at Hotel Santa Fe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hacienda and Spa at Hotel Santa Fe

Address: 537 S Guadalupe St., Santa Fe, NM 87501
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 60 hotels in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Hacienda and Spa at Hotel Santa Fe 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At The Hacienda and Spa, our luxurious fireplace rooms and suites are filled with Native American Art and warm gem-like tones that reflect the southwest. Enjoy a unique cultural experience from the lilting notes of a Native flute, watching ceremonial dances, or listening to our Historian bring Santa Fe to life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your The Hacienda and Spa at Hotel Santa Fe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hacienda and Spa at Hotel Santa Fe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.