We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Holiday Stay at This Santa Fe Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Hacienda and Spa at Hotel Santa Fe

Save Saved
You added The Hacienda and Spa at Hotel Santa Fe to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Orbitz.com
and 8 more sites!
The Hacienda and Spa at Hotel Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   537 S Guadalupe St., Santa Fe, NM 87501   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 59 hotels in Santa Fe
New Mexico
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Fabulous Holiday Stay at This Santa Fe Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

My husband and I visit Santa Fe for several days prior to the holidays each year. We love the beautiful southwestern Christmas decorations, and have found this to be an enchanting time to be in this special city. We have our favorite hotels, but had never tried this one. We stayed in a fireplace suite, and would highly recommend it. It suited our needs just perfectly. We always enjoy spending a couple hours reading by the fireplace, which we did together on a leather couch. The bathroom had a walk-in shower, our favorite. We especially loved the wine each evening, and the breakfasts each morning. You are not served a lot of food, but for us it was an ample amount considering we always like trying the fabulous restaurants around town. Lubo and Javier were excellent butlers, very personable and helpful at all times. The Hacienda is separate from the rest of the hotel, but only a few steps away from the workout room and lobby. This is a delightful place, and will be be guests again!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulMargetsonGM, Owner at The Hacienda and Spa at Hotel Santa Fe, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
So glad to know that Lubo and Javier took such good care of you and we love being your new favorite Hotel!! Thank you for your kind words and we look forward to seeing you again soon!!

kinna wachii xoum kowia - Peace, Love and Joy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    86
    40
    8
    3
    2
See reviews for
22
77
6
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ada, Michigan
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for three nights in January as part of a second honeymoon trip. We stayed in a fireplace king room in the Hacienda which was small but very nice. The butler was very attentive and the amenities were nice. It was low season so the hotel and spa were fairly quiet and overall the service was great. The reception staff was incredibly friendly, recognized us and called us by name, always offering to help, giving us bottled water, etc. The free shuttle was a great way to get downtown to the museums quickly--especiallyon a cold day when we didn't really want to walk or hassle with parking...but the hotel is really a very nice 10 minute walk from almost all the shops, restaurants, cathedrals, chapels and other points of interest in the downtown area. We made use of the spa and the masssages and the body scrub were great. We used the hot tub one night and it was a little weird since the building was empty and the rooftop was very dark (we couldn't find a light switch and neither could our butler who we called on for help). The tromp l'oeil painting of the man in the staircase in the robe was kind of creepy at night!

We did go to one of the wine and cheese receptions in the lounge and it was good but there weren't enough glasses and there was nobody staffing it when we were there...so we drank wine out of juice glasses I found in the servery and called our butler who promptly came up and fixed the situation.

The complimentary breakfast in the lounge was sufficient with fruit, yogurt, pastries, croissants, breads, cereals, and hard boiled eggs. We did have one unpleasant experience--on our last morning one of the other guests brought their large dog to breakfast with them. The dog was barking and laid down on the floor in front of the coffee and blocking the way to the food bar. We are not dog people and didn't know that dogs were allowed on the property, let alone in the 3rd floor breakfast room. I mentioned it to the reception staff and they seemed surprised.

Overall the service was OK considering it was low season and they probably had lowered staff levels. The front desk staff and our butler were great!!! The rooms are nice, the location is fantastic and the free shuttle is a nice feature. Take the time to look at the museum quality native american art collection too! I wish we'd been able to do a walking tour of Santa Fe with the guide but we didn't know the schedule in advance so we missed this opportunity.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulMargetsonGM, Owner at The Hacienda and Spa at Hotel Santa Fe, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
With many apologies for the dog issue which should not have been allowed in the area during food service unless an assistance dog!! (Although we are a dog friendly enterprise.)

Thank you for taking the time to write such an extensive review and your kind words are greatly appreciated!

kii thu wia‘‘ kanna thu wia - Our House is Your House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado USA
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We have visited Santa Fe dozens of times. This is the first time here and we are so happy we tried it out. It gave us a different vantage point for this wonderful city. Lubo the bell boy was so friendly and helpful and made us feel appreciated as a guest. Grounds were unusual and creative. Rooms were designed in a cozy native way. Kiva gas fireplace was classy. Halls had art displayed nicely. Free Sunday editions of Santa Fe and NY Times papers was top notch. A great and free breakfast and close parking topped it all off. We will return and will recommend to others.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulMargetsonGM, Owner at The Hacienda and Spa at Hotel Santa Fe, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
So glad to know you found us after all these years!! And we are all delighted to learn you enjoyed your stay.

thu xonn chiimen iy a whachii wye wye - May Your Travels Bring You Back Soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Prompt and courteous service is just one of the great assets of the Hacienda. Separated from the Hotel Santa Fe, the Hacienda is clearly a step above. The hotel is well decorated in the southwest style. A butler will be at your call from carrying your luggage from the car to bringing chocolates in the evening. The room and bathroom are large and clean (although the liquid toiletries had something to be desired). The gas fireplace was warm and romantic. The bed was comfortably firm. And, the balcony, although it looked out onto the parking lot still added charm to the whole environment. The afternoon wine and cheese was a nice treat. From that floor, near a roaring wood fire, you can watch the sunset. A robe and slippers are provided for convience and there is a hot tub on top of the spa. I plan to stay at the Hacienda again on my next trip.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulMargetsonGM, Owner at The Hacienda and Spa at Hotel Santa Fe, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
And we look forward to welcoming you back to The Hacienda on your next trip to town! Your critique is greatly appreciated and coincidentally we are currenlty reviewing different options for our bathroom amenities.

kinna wachii xoum kowia - Peace, Love and Joy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

My husband and I visited the Hacienda at the Hotel Santa Fe for Christmas. We couldn't have made a better choice. The room was large and nicely decorated, and the service was exceptional. The staff was friendly and extremely helpful. The details at the Hacienda are all tended to with great care. There is a lot to praise: the friendly staff upon arrival, the excellent selection of teas and coffee in the room, the free shuttle to locations within 1 mile of the hotel, the rooftop area for breakfast and evening wine, and Senor Murphy chocolates at bedtime. This is my favorite hotel in Santa Fe, and it keeps getting better. I highly recommend this property for a visit to Santa Fe.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulMargetsonGM, Owner at The Hacienda and Spa at Hotel Santa Fe, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
And we love being your favorite Hotel in Santa Fe!! Thank you so very much for your kind words. Please come back soon!! Wishing you a very Happy New Year!!

kii thu wia‘‘ kanna thu wia - Our House is Your House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012 via mobile

Recently, my better half and I decided to have a nice little four day getaway and we decided to go to Santa Fe. Neither of us have/had ever been here so we were not sure what to expect. We actually chose this hotel based on the reviews we read here on TripAdvisor. I have to say that without a doubt that the hotel along with all of it's amenities have far exceeded our expectations. The staff are attentive, courteous and ever willing to be helpful. Everything from the fresh fruit and chocolates upon arrival to the butler service, not to forget the extensive variety of Spa facilities and treatments at your disposal, this hotel has it covered. We stayed in one of the suites which consisted of a separate sitting room complete with fireplace and a large bedroom. The bathroom includes a dual headed shower and the shower stall was large enough for two people. The soaps, shampoos and lotions are all Spa quality. Overall, we were/are extremely satisfied. We ate at the hotel restaurant, which was exceptional but I will review that separately.

The only complaints we have are 1) they could invest in a higher quality of toilet paper. It seems like a petty thing but for many people, toilet tissue is important, it is to us. 2) although the pillows are extremely soft, fluffy and cushy, they are not conducive for sleeping. It would be nice if they offered a selection of pillows (soft, medium, firm) like other establishments.

We would most DEFINITELY not only stay here again but would highly recommend this hotel to our friends, family and any one who might ask.

Stayed December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulMargetsonGM, Owner at The Hacienda and Spa at Hotel Santa Fe, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Your critique is greatly appreciated and noted!! We do need to put a pillow menu together and thanks for the reminder.

As regards loo paper, I thought that one can fold it over for 2 ply and again for 4 ply??! But I will look into the costs again.

Otherwise, delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay and you hopefully had a grand time on your first visit to Santa Fe!!

Please come back soon and your recommendations to friends is just what we need!

Happy holidays to you and your family.

kii thu wia‘‘ kanna thu wia - Our House is Your House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macomb, Michigan
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

The rooms were so clean and spacious. Each of the two rooms we reserved had a cozy fireplace and a small sitting area. Upon arrival, we had a complimentary fruit basket in each room, along with bottled water. We also loved our turn down service. Decident chocolates on our pillows each evening!
The customer service was excellent. Complimentary breakfast each morning on the rooftop was just enough to get us going for the day.
Also, a wonderful location, within waking distance to many attractions. The hotel also had a free car service to many local attractions! We would definitely choose this hotel again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulMargetsonGM, Owner at The Hacienda and Spa at Hotel Santa Fe, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
We are so pleased you stayed with us and delighted to learn we took good care of you - many thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Hacienda and Spa at Hotel Santa Fe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hacienda and Spa at Hotel Santa Fe

Address: 537 S Guadalupe St., Santa Fe, NM 87501
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 59 hotels in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Hacienda and Spa at Hotel Santa Fe 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At The Hacienda and Spa, our luxurious fireplace rooms and suites are filled with Native American Art and warm gem-like tones that reflect the southwest. Enjoy a unique cultural experience from the lilting notes of a Native flute, watching ceremonial dances, or listening to our Historian bring Santa Fe to life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Amex, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Hacienda and Spa at Hotel Santa Fe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hacienda and Spa at Hotel Santa Fe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.