We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect bit of Santa Fe...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Hacienda and Spa at Hotel Santa Fe

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Hacienda and Spa at Hotel Santa Fe to your Saves list
The Hacienda and Spa at Hotel Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   537 S Guadalupe St., Santa Fe, NM 87501   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A perfect bit of Santa Fe...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012 via mobile

Recently, my better half and I decided to have a nice little four day getaway and we decided to go to Santa Fe. Neither of us have/had ever been here so we were not sure what to expect. We actually chose this hotel based on the reviews we read here on TripAdvisor. I have to say that without a doubt that the hotel along with all of it's amenities have far exceeded our expectations. The staff are attentive, courteous and ever willing to be helpful. Everything from the fresh fruit and chocolates upon arrival to the butler service, not to forget the extensive variety of Spa facilities and treatments at your disposal, this hotel has it covered. We stayed in one of the suites which consisted of a separate sitting room complete with fireplace and a large bedroom. The bathroom includes a dual headed shower and the shower stall was large enough for two people. The soaps, shampoos and lotions are all Spa quality. Overall, we were/are extremely satisfied. We ate at the hotel restaurant, which was exceptional but I will review that separately.

The only complaints we have are 1) they could invest in a higher quality of toilet paper. It seems like a petty thing but for many people, toilet tissue is important, it is to us. 2) although the pillows are extremely soft, fluffy and cushy, they are not conducive for sleeping. It would be nice if they offered a selection of pillows (soft, medium, firm) like other establishments.

We would most DEFINITELY not only stay here again but would highly recommend this hotel to our friends, family and any one who might ask.

Stayed December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulMargetsonGM, Owner at The Hacienda and Spa at Hotel Santa Fe, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Your critique is greatly appreciated and noted!! We do need to put a pillow menu together and thanks for the reminder.

As regards loo paper, I thought that one can fold it over for 2 ply and again for 4 ply??! But I will look into the costs again.

Otherwise, delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay and you hopefully had a grand time on your first visit to Santa Fe!!

Please come back soon and your recommendations to friends is just what we need!

Happy holidays to you and your family.

kii thu wia‘‘ kanna thu wia - Our House is Your House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    48
    10
    4
    2
See reviews for
29
88
7
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Macomb, Michigan
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

The rooms were so clean and spacious. Each of the two rooms we reserved had a cozy fireplace and a small sitting area. Upon arrival, we had a complimentary fruit basket in each room, along with bottled water. We also loved our turn down service. Decident chocolates on our pillows each evening!
The customer service was excellent. Complimentary breakfast each morning on the rooftop was just enough to get us going for the day.
Also, a wonderful location, within waking distance to many attractions. The hotel also had a free car service to many local attractions! We would definitely choose this hotel again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulMargetsonGM, Owner at The Hacienda and Spa at Hotel Santa Fe, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
We are so pleased you stayed with us and delighted to learn we took good care of you - many thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belen, New Mexico
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

The staff was very welcoming. The rooms not only clean but comfortable. I got to take a morning yoga class that was wonderful. We ate at the hotel restaurant and it was good. It was a nice walk to the plaza. Will stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulMargetsonGM, Owner at The Hacienda and Spa at Hotel Santa Fe, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Please do come back soon. Thank you for your kind words!

xoum wia‘‘ pia pianee - Love, Light and Laughter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus IN
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The staff at this hotel is very friendly, and eager to please, very helpful...breakfast buffet is pretty good.. 3 stars out of 5..the croissants are very good, would be nicer if they were true French style..i.e. larger, which makes for a fluffier croissant...
A group of us had a meal one night, and we had,among us, everything on the menu..I was a little disappointed,sauces were not quite right, servings a bit small ( and I am not a big guy, or a big eater !).
The rooms were nice, but they have that 3 inch wide,single ply toilet paper, what's with that ? Bring your own TP,I guess.
Building and grounds are very attractive....take photos, has a lot of eye appeal...I will try LaFonda on my next visit to Santa Fe

Room Tip: Our rooms looked out over the main entrance, even so,it was so quiet that I didn't notice till w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulMargetsonGM, Owner at The Hacienda and Spa at Hotel Santa Fe, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Delighted to learn you enjoyed the “very helpful” staff, but sorry to learn that we may have lost you to the competition. Rarely have any comments about portion sizes or our croissants - as there is no limit on the number you may have regarding the later item! And our loo paper (4 inches wide) has been the same for years!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

As an Albuquerque resident, my husband and I take frequent weekend getaways to Santa Fe. This time, after we found a deal on Expedia, and we tried The Hacienda & Spa at Hotel Santa Fe. We stayed in a Fireplace King. The room was comfortable and the bedding was nice. The fireplace is gas, and even has a remote control to turn it on. Even though I knew this from the website, it was still a disappointment. I'm a die hard for real wood burning kiva fireplaces. The biggest disappointment was that there was no bathtub (shower only). This was especially disappointing in that I had checked the website pictures for a Fireplace King, and they indeed have a virtual tour of the bathroom that includes a nice soaking tub. When I inquired at the front desk, they said none of the Fireplace King rooms have tubs... only the suites have fireplaces. When I got home, I rechecked, and indeed the Fireplace King rooms have beautiful pictures of tubs. I suggest they find truth in advertising and change the pictures.

Overall service was less than I what I expected from a 4.5 star. Most the fireplaces in the common areas of the hotel were not lite. (We were there on a Saturday night... so if they were to regularly provide this type of ambiance, you'd expect it on a Saturday night. The butler service that they advertise is really a glorified bell person.

The morning breakfast exceeded my expectations. The evening reception was minimal and had wine, beer, coffee, tea, and one appetizer (puff pastry with mushroom and cheese).

The location is a bit of a bummer. I much prefer to stay where it's easy walking distance to the plaza and restaurants. The shuttle service is nice, although we didn't take advantage of it.

In my opinion, based on price, service, and amenities, I prefer other Santa Fe Hotels. I'm glad we tried this, but we will probably frequent one of our other favorites next time.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulMargetsonGM, Owner at The Hacienda and Spa at Hotel Santa Fe, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you for the bathtub comment and we certainly need to change the bathroom photo/tour as soon as possible!

I am disappointed to learn you didn’t enjoy your stay. Please be advised that we do not automatically light all our fires if it is warm/sunny outside and October was such a balmy weather month!?

Also your comment regarding wood burning fireplaces is appropriately not allowed by city code (unless the building was constructed before 1986 +/-) - to conserve our natural resources/environment - we are only allowed ONE wood burning fireplace in each building!!

We enjoy being in the Historic Guadalupe/Railyard district only five to six blocks from the Plaza, but we understand if you prefer the hubbub of the Plaza! Sorry you didn’t take advantage of our London Taxis shuttle services!

kowaen mina so thuu puchi - Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgway, Colorado
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We love staying at the Hotel Santa Fe in Santa Fe, New Mexico owned and operated by the Picuris Indian Tribe. We stay in the Hacienda and Spa section for numerous reasons, including my husband’s handicapped leg, which prevents him from walking long distances. The hotel is within walking distance of the Plaza and provides shuttle service within 1 to 2 miles, if needed. We also take advantage of the wonderful early evening complimentary wine and snacks as well as the really wonderful breakfast in the morning, also complimentary. The staff, from the front desk to the butlers in the Hacienda, are so accommodating, insuring that we have easy access to all amenities. They are always readily available and eager to meet our every need with a cheerful and friendly attitude. There are many excellent restaurants close by, but we prefer to dine in the Amaya restaurant located within the hotel. The food and service are superb and it offers unique entertainment on Friday and Saturday nights featuring highly acclaimed Ron Roybal, a Native American composer, flautist, and guitarist.

If you are looking for quality accommodations, superb service, and a relaxing stay, we highly recommend the Hotel Santa Fe Haciendas and Spa in Santa Fe, New Mexico. It’s truly one of the best!

Gary and Sandy Storey
Ridgway, Colorado

Room Tip: "Stay in the Haciendas and Spa, the amenities and services are well worth the difference in pri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulMargetsonGM, Owner at The Hacienda and Spa at Hotel Santa Fe, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear Mr. and Mrs. Storey,

Your gracious and kind compliments are so wonderfully encouraging to all of us and we thank you so very much for staying with us and also for taking the time to write to tripadvisor.com.

We all look forward to your return visit - come back soon!

kii thu wia‘‘ kanna thu wia - Our House is Your House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

My wife and I had long wanted to explore the Santa Fe area and we booked a room at the Hacienda on the basis of a Trip Advisor recommendation.It was a stroke of very good fortune. This beautiful, relatively small hotel is within easy walking distance of the famous Santa Fe plaza and all of the sights of this fascinating town, while being just far enough away from the congestion and noise of the main tourist areas. The staff was outstanding, with particular credit due the hospitality folks who made the complementary breakfasts (quite extensive) and daily Hacienfa happy hour events something to look forward to. The common facilities on the top floor include a large living room-like space with an outside deck overlooking the area. There is a small but well-kept pool and jacuzzi area as well.

There are lots of things to like about the Hacienda (including a good value), but its truly special attributes are the great location and the wonderful people. Enjoy!

Room Tip: The Hacienda facility is much smaller and has its own amenities. While the hotel appeared to be a ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulMargetsonGM, Owner at The Hacienda and Spa at Hotel Santa Fe, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
We are so happy you were pleasantly surprised by your time in Santa Fe and at our Hacienda. Your kind words are greatly appreciated and we are so delighted to learn that our staff took such good care of you.

chenoho mima téwe yo tha - We thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Hacienda and Spa at Hotel Santa Fe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hacienda and Spa at Hotel Santa Fe

Address: 537 S Guadalupe St., Santa Fe, NM 87501
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Hacienda and Spa at Hotel Santa Fe 4.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At The Hacienda and Spa, our luxurious fireplace rooms and suites are filled with Native American Art and warm gem-like tones that reflect the southwest. Enjoy a unique cultural experience from the lilting notes of a Native flute, watching ceremonial dances, or listening to our Historian bring Santa Fe to life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Hacienda and Spa at Hotel Santa Fe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hacienda and Spa at Hotel Santa Fe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.