We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Very Pleasant Surprise in a Wonderful Town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Hacienda and Spa at Hotel Santa Fe

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Hacienda and Spa at Hotel Santa Fe to your Saves list
The Hacienda and Spa at Hotel Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   537 S Guadalupe St., Santa Fe, NM 87501   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Minneapolis
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“A Very Pleasant Surprise in a Wonderful Town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

My wife and I had long wanted to explore the Santa Fe area and we booked a room at the Hacienda on the basis of a Trip Advisor recommendation.It was a stroke of very good fortune. This beautiful, relatively small hotel is within easy walking distance of the famous Santa Fe plaza and all of the sights of this fascinating town, while being just far enough away from the congestion and noise of the main tourist areas. The staff was outstanding, with particular credit due the hospitality folks who made the complementary breakfasts (quite extensive) and daily Hacienfa happy hour events something to look forward to. The common facilities on the top floor include a large living room-like space with an outside deck overlooking the area. There is a small but well-kept pool and jacuzzi area as well.

There are lots of things to like about the Hacienda (including a good value), but its truly special attributes are the great location and the wonderful people. Enjoy!

Room Tip: The Hacienda facility is much smaller and has its own amenities. While the hotel appeared to be a ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulMargetsonGM, Owner at The Hacienda and Spa at Hotel Santa Fe, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
We are so happy you were pleasantly surprised by your time in Santa Fe and at our Hacienda. Your kind words are greatly appreciated and we are so delighted to learn that our staff took such good care of you.

chenoho mima téwe yo tha - We thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    49
    10
    4
    2
See reviews for
30
93
8
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Louisiana
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We spent four nights in the Puye Cliff suite and had a great stay! The room was well laid out and of nice size. A separate living room with fireplace and deck was relaxing. Staff was accommodating and friendly. Breakfast at the lounge was fine for us as we're pretty healthy eaters. The staff in the lounge was consistently excellent. You don't see the butlers much, however when we did they gave good recommendations for restaurants and other attractions. Do utilize them if you have the chance. Internet was strong and worked well each day. We ate room service a couple of times and the food was fresh and delivered quickly. We found the location to be very convenient. We walked to Tomasita's across the street one night and had many easy walks to the plaza. We are active people, though, so a few blocks doesn't bother us at all...we enjoy it very much. We took the purple car one evening and it was a fun experience. Easy and quick for pick up service too. Drivers were always happy to tote you around. If you want to be on the plaza directly, choose another hotel. If you like a nice, large room and some great added extras for a small resort fee, along with a location near the plaza and also near other unique neighborhoods, this could be your place. We would most definitely stay here again. It is a great value that I won't hesitate to recommend.

Room Tip: All the rooms at the Hacienda looked nice. The suites have more room and we enjoyed the large deck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulMargetsonGM, Owner at The Hacienda and Spa at Hotel Santa Fe, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Thank you so very much for your kind words and your detailed report is both encouraging and greatly appreciated!

thu xonn chiimen iy a whachii wye wye - May Your Travels Bring You Back Soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nogales
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Santa Fe is a special place and the Hacienda & Spa at Hotel Sante Fe is a special hotel. Original native works of art appear throughout the well appointed lobbies and sitting areas. The hotel provides transportation within a mile and dogs are allowed on the shuttles. We were able to eat in the bar area with our dog and dinner was excellent. It is very dog friendly which is a welcome relief. Breakfast and evening cocktails are included with our room (with a fireplace). We met people who had come from many neighboring states for this destination resort. This is a very relaxing vacation -- and it is fun to call the bell boy a "butler" :) Tomorrow is spa day and the spa is beautiful and within the property.

Room Tip: There is the hotel and there is the Hacienda. This review was for a two-bed (queen) room in the Hac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulMargetsonGM, Owner at The Hacienda and Spa at Hotel Santa Fe, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Thank you for your kind words and we are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Please come back and visit us again soon!

na-thaunyo-kiina-wia - Ours is Another Way
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

My husband and I stayed for five days. Because the Hacienda side was initially full we stayed on the Hotel Santa Fe side for two nights. The Hotel side is nice but we were given the room on the first floor which is right next to the restaurant and so we could not open our curtains/windows because then the customers in the restaurant would be able to see directly into our room! Our room was also adjoining the gift shop and the hotel restrooms and so all of this was a bit of a let down. We arrived very late and didn't have the energy to ask for another room. The room was beautiful inside, nicely decorated and the bed was very comfortable but the bathroom was tiny.

When we moved to the Hacienda side, however, our stay was truly lovely. The room was gorgeous and quiet and the bathroom was spacious. Everything was meticulously clean and the shower was great. The decor is very unique and done in Native American style which was beautiful. We stayed in a king room which had a fireplace. The windows and walls were sound proofed and with the windows closed the room was quiet. We had easy to use WiFi. There were many other amenities on the Hacienda side including a continental breakfast, afternoon hors d'oeuvres with wine, a lounge with a beautiful view, evening turn down service (with lovely chocolates), of course the shuttle service, and very helpful and experienced staff who really made the stay lovely for us. We didn't make use of the spa or the exercise facilitiy as we are outdoorsy people who spent all of our time viewing the beauty that is New Mexico, but these were available to us. We definitely would stay on the Hacienda side again as we absolutely loved it. There is nothing to dislike there as everything is beautiful and thoughtfully laid out.

I must add though that I agree with some of the other guests who felt that the $15 daily fee (for parking, internet, business ammenities etc) and the not-so-complementary bottled water were a bit sneaky. I feel that it would go over a bit better with guests if these were just added to the advertised nightly rate. As lovely as the Hacienda is many (including my husband and I) would still come.

Room Tip: Stay on the Hacienda side!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulMargetsonGM, Owner at The Hacienda and Spa at Hotel Santa Fe, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Thank you for writing to tripadvisor.com with your kind words and I am so pleased to learn you enjoyed The Hacienda (if not the main Hotel so much!).

thu xonn chiimen iy a whachii wye wye - May Your Travels Bring You Back Soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

We were in town for the Indian Market and festivities. Our room was a Santa Fe suite in the Santa Fe Hotel section. It was a comfortable room, though the room appointments seemed a little outdated -- very small vanity and bathroom. The mattress needs to be replaced -- had a hump in the middle like the differential of a car. The service, however, was fantastic. When we arrived at 2PM for our first night, our room wasn't available. When they heard that we had been traveling since 3AM, they made an effort to get the room ready and gave us a choice of two suites. We were on the third floor/end unit and it was very quiet (except for the hotel ventilation system outside). Dining room/restaurant was good -- convenient for the days when we didn't have time to dine out. Maid service was prompt and efficient when requested. Overall very happy with our experience.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms facing the back parking lot (and Hacienda addition) if you like to sleep with your windo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulMargetsonGM, Owner at The Hacienda and Spa at Hotel Santa Fe, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Glad to learn you enjoyed your stay but apologies for the hump in the mattress! They have all been replaced in the last two and a half years, so I wish I knew which room you stayed in as we pride ourselves on great mattresses! We will track it down!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

My partner and I stayed at the Hacienda for a week in August and had a great experience. After a day of flying, we arrived and were placed in a Fireplace King on the first floor with an adjoining door. The adjoining door unfortunately did not buffer any noise from the room next door and we could hear our neighbors' conversation loud and clear. But after a painless call down to the front desk, we were promptly moved to a slightly larger Fireplace King down the hall without an adjoining door and were able to nap in peace and quiet.

The room itself was lovely - comfy bed with soft, silky linens; ample storage for two people; a nice-sized bathoom with a huge walk-in shower and great water pressure. I was surpised to see an old CRT TV versus a flat-screen, but it certainly was not a deal breaker.

The continental breakfast each morning was also quite lovely. It was served in the lounge on the third floor with wonderful views of the city and the mountains. There was an ample selection of yogurts, cereal, oatmeal, cottage cheese, fresh fruit, and lots of carby treats (which I tried to stay away from but looked delicious).

The Spa and Fitness center next door were ideally located and very well equipped. My partner had a massage, which he thoroughly enjoyed. I worked out in the fitness center one evening and took a dip in the hottub on the roofdeck afterwards, which was heaven!

The Hacienda is situated in walking distance to almost everything - the Plaza and all of the downtown attractions and restaurants, the Railyard (it's right across the street!), and Canyon Road.

My only suggestion to the the hotel would be to rename or remarket the butler service. In my mind, calling it a butler service seems pretentious. The "butlers" actually served as a concierge team, which to me seems a bit more appropriate, especially for a relaxed city like Santa Fe. Just a minor detail I thought was worth noting.

All in all, I would definitely stay at the Hacienda again for my next stay in Santa Fe!

Room Tip: The doors separating adjoining rooms do a poor job at buffering noise. If you're sensitive to no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulMargetsonGM, Owner at The Hacienda and Spa at Hotel Santa Fe, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Many thanks for your kind words. The “Butler” designation is a result of my country or origin!! I confirm that flat screen TVs have been ordered and should be in place throughout The Hacienda by the end of October.

Thank you for staying with us!

thu xonn chiimen iy a whachii wye wye - May Your Travels Bring You Back Soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

We spent three days and nights in the hacienda section of the hotel and it was a marvelous time. The room was big and the bed was comfortable; I loved the shower. Water pressure was perfect (important to me!) and I was impressed with the cleanliness and bath products offered. Little things matter. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly; it was nice to have our own "butler" to call upon with any questions or problems. We did have a small problem when the a/c froze up; the butler offered us another room for the night but he got it started and we did not have to move. The shuttle was always available within a few minutes to take us to our destination. The dining area was great; I especially enjoyed the beautiful garden. Not only are the grounds visually pleasing, the scent outside was, too (junipers, pine, and I'm guessing piñon). The beautiful spa was exactly what I needed for an extra bit of relaxation. I was not ready to leave on our last day and hope to return someday.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulMargetsonGM, Owner at The Hacienda and Spa at Hotel Santa Fe, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Thank you for your kind and encouraging words which are greatly appreciated. Please don’t wait til “someday” to return!!

ko piane ca whachii - May Blessings Come Your Way
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Hacienda and Spa at Hotel Santa Fe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hacienda and Spa at Hotel Santa Fe

Address: 537 S Guadalupe St., Santa Fe, NM 87501
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Hacienda and Spa at Hotel Santa Fe 4.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At The Hacienda and Spa, our luxurious fireplace rooms and suites are filled with Native American Art and warm gem-like tones that reflect the southwest. Enjoy a unique cultural experience from the lilting notes of a Native flute, watching ceremonial dances, or listening to our Historian bring Santa Fe to life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Hacienda and Spa at Hotel Santa Fe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hacienda and Spa at Hotel Santa Fe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.