We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality Ingredients & Beautiful Presentation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant Martin

Restaurant Martin
526 Galisteo St, Santa Fe, NM 87501-2610 (Downtown)
505-820-0919
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Restaurant Martin is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #31 of 414 Restaurants in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $25 - $36
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Romantic, Special occasions, Doing business
Dining options: Dinner, Dessert, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Paseo de Peralta
Transit: The Railrunner from Albuquerque stops a few short blocks from our front door and Santa Fe's public bus system runs right past our restaurant.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“Quality Ingredients & Beautiful Presentation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

There were four of us, and everyone had a wonderful experience. The ingredients were fresh and beautifully presented. I had a shrimp dish that couldn't have been more perfectly prepared - and the shrimp were truly jumbo. The wait staff were very attentive, yet never intrusive. Pricing was comparable to other fine restaurants in the area.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    275
    90
    45
    13
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe, NM
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Delightful and Consistent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Restaurant Martin provides excellent service, innovative and delicious food, and interesting wine selection in a perfectly restored old Santa Fe home.

Owners and staff are friendly and helpful, never intrusive.

We love Restaurant Martin for holiday meals with our family of friends - they never fail to satisfy everyone.

And in the warmer months, dining on the lovely patio is a real treat.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Beautiful Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

When I give it 4stars, I am comparing it with other fine doning experiences. The food ranged from average to very good when compared to other fine dining establishments. I started with the Buttersquash bisque, which had very generous amounts of lobster in the bisque. I thought it was tasty, but too sweet. It could have benefitted from some heat/spice. My boyfriend had the pork belly appetizer which he thought was beautifully presented and good, but not spectacular. For my main course, I had the pork tenderloin...the portion was huge and the meat was perfectly cooked and just melted in my mouth. My boyfriend had the NY strip steak...again the meat was perfectly cooked and the potato side dish was very tasty. But neither was amazing....which is the feeling we experienced at other restaurants with this price tag. For dessert, we shared the molten chocolate with cinnamon ice cream and caramel sea salt (and a little bit of raspberry puree). The cake was not hot enough inside, so the "lava" center was too thick....and the sea salt caramel was also too thick. The ice cream was wonderful.

The servers were friendly but a little slow. I think there was only one server and one assistant for the entire restaurant. No food came out piping hot and they were a little slow on the water refills.

The price for 2 with wine came to $165 plus tip. For my money, there are better options.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Excellent food, excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

Our waitress, Jennifer, was very attentive, knowledgable, and polite. We received flawless service. The food was an excellent fusion of french and local cuisine. Noteworthy dishes were the Buttersquash Bisque with Apple Purrée, the Atlantic Salmon, and the Sea Bass. Even the chicken breast tasted very good!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Oak, Michigan
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“A Sante Fe Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Creative and varied gourmet menu presented by a young and experienced (Beard Award and Iron Chef competitor) chef and his family members in an artfully decorated space a few blocks from the Plaza. Very professional service. Pricing was suprisingly reasonable considering quality of food and competition (e.g. Geronimo's on Canyon Road).

So many interesting and unique appetizer and main plate choices it was hard to make decisions. Everything was served artfully in perfect portioning with a mixture of all of the various elements. Good winelist, including half-bottles for solo diners.

My only complaint, and it is very minor, is that the dessert list was heavy on chocolate or sweet -- could've used a fruit and cheese plate to compliment the rest of their cuisine. Then again, their dessert wine list was outstanding!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Martin also viewed

 

Been to Restaurant Martin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant Martin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.