We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Dish N Spoon Cafe - CLOSED

Dish N Spoon Cafe
616 Canyon Road, Santa Fe, NM 87505
1 (505) 983-7676
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: American, International, Healthy, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Lunch
Description: Housed in Mirador Gallery, Dish n' Spoon Cafe is a local favorite. Beginning on Old Santa Fe Trail and continuing on Canyon Rd, DNS offers something for everyone. Delivery, take out and catering plus access to the chef's private line, insures the customer a personalized experience. Just added...beer and wine plus later hours Friday-Sunday!
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Dirty”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012 via mobile

Stopped in for a glass of wine as we walked down Canyon Road. Received my wine in a dirty glass with what appeared to be dust from the bottom of the glass floating in it. I returned my wine and while waiting for another took a look around and the tiny place is just plain dirty. Dirty floors dust on all the glasses and bottles cob webs on the windows . Gross. Also the two glasses of water I asked for never arrived.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thedishnspoon, Owner at Dish N Spoon Cafe, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Sorry, cork sometimes get in wine glasses. Our place is small and sometime the leaves from autumn weather do come into our cafe. Our cafe is fully inspected and it is just mean to call our small mom and pop, " dirty". I do hope you feel better about yourself. I grew up being taught that if you have nothing nice to say, don't say it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    9
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“walk, don't drive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Because there's no parking!
I went around the block 2 times before I just gave up looking for a space along any side street closer than 200 feet in any direction, and ended up parking in the "green" zone, taking my chances on a ticket.
They relocated to this location from another "no-parking" location earlier in the year....I guess they like that kind of challenge.
This little tiny cubby of a restaurant is tucked behind a street-side gallery on Canyon Road in Santa Fe, NM has 2 or 3 small tables inside, a few more outside and is a little thrown together and grungy. There is NO handicap accessibility.
The menu is mostly salads and sandwiches. They also have a few daily pastries to choose from. Coffee, tea and all the other usual drink options.
I tried the "curry chicken salad" sandwich. They should have called it the "Curry-Raisin" sandwich with some chicken. But the "Roast-beef and Blue Cheese" sandwich was wonderful. As a matter of fact; I'll try to go back for that one!
The prices were understandable for a Canyon Road location. The wait-staff seemed overworked but otherwise friendly.
Ho-Hum.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thedishnspoon, Owner at Dish N Spoon Cafe, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Really sorry that parking was a problem for you. I believe that there is only one public parking facility on Canyon and that most businesses rely on street parking. I do hope the wait staff presented you with our extensive Specials menu. Tourists love that they can eat very well but not pay such high prices...people also ave been receptive to our new beer/wine menu. We adore our location on Canyon! Thanks much and I am glad there are so many other restaurants in Santa Fe that have parking lots.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“A Cooling Rest Stop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

We were exhausted from walking so long in the heat on Canyon Road, needed to rest and drink. Was aiming for another cafe further down the road on the map but we could not walk anymore so it was a pleasant surprise to find this cafe. We only ordered drinks indoor (AC!) but the service was friendly.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thedishnspoon, Owner at Dish N Spoon Cafe, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to give us a review. We hope to be offerring beer and wine soon too. Come back and see us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Quality food for a reasonable price.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012 via mobile

We watched the chef prepare each dish with skill and the freshest of ingredients. A rustic, quaint atmosphere with personal attention. We were glad we stopped.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thedishnspoon, Owner at Dish N Spoon Cafe, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Thank you so much! Beer/wine is coming soon and dinners to follow. Check back with us and again, we appreciate the time it took to write us up!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Just the spot for a refreshing break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

This is a charming little café, just right for a quick stop while meandering on Canyon Road through art galleries and other arty spots. It is quite small and serves both coffee and snacks, sandwiches, salads and soft drinks. One can eat at the tiny patio outside or the small café inside. They also serve a few specials such as hamburgers and lasagna.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dish N Spoon Cafe also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dish N Spoon Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.