We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth every penny!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Santa Fe School of Cooking

Santa Fe School of Cooking
125 North Guadalupe Street, Santa Fe, NM
505 983 4511
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 101 Activities in Santa Fe
Type: Classes/Workshops, Classes
Activities: Leisure education
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Come discover the rich culinary history of the "City Different” at the Santa Fe School of Cooking, the authority on Southwestern cuisine. The School offers a variety of authentic classes and events, including demonstration and hands on cooking classes, restaurant walking tours, and a regional market. Celebrating over 23 years in business!
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Well worth every penny!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Did the Contemporary Southwest I class. I am a serious amateur chef and I found many new things to learn from this demonstration class. The instructor was Michelle Roetzer who also runs the culinary program at Santa Fe College. She is an excellent speaker and presenter. She takes cooking very seriously, of course, but makes the class fun as well. Food was excellent...salmon, tamales, cilantro serrano slaw and flan...it was excellent! I would highly recommend this class to anyone who likes to cook.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    200
    30
    8
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Angelo, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Sumptuous learning experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

The Santa Fe School of Cooking provides excellent instruction along with a sumptuous meal from the demonstration. It is a wonderful experience for all from practiced chefs to cooking spectators. The chef demonstrators welcome every question and are not "haughty" in their demeanor. Their new facility is spacious and the staff is beyond friendly and helpful. I will attend every chance I get!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, CO
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Fun & Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

My husband and I took a class at the Santa Fe School of Cooking while on vacation in Santa Fe. My husband was reluctant until the class on Tamales I began. We had so much fun that that my husbands plans for us to take another class next time we are in Santa Fe which is every year. The chefs were knowledgeable, patient, kind and fun. We cannot wait to make Tamales for our friends. We give the school five stars!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Colorado
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Best Way to Get a Real Taste of Santa Fe!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We took two sessions; a demonstration class on Mexican Cuisine and a hands-on class on Salsas. We particularly enjoyed the demonstration class taught by Michelle Roetzer (she is awesome-ask for her!). Of course these classes will not make you an expert chef, but they will help you develop a greater appreciation and understanding of Santa Fe style cuisine. It was worth it alone for what we learned about chiles.

We had a great time and learned a lot. We will definitely attend more classes during our next visit to Santa Fe.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenfield, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A lucky throw of the dice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

I was just a happenstance attendee. I was roaming the Internet from western Massachusetts looking for some thing interesting to plan a road trip around and happened on this website. I signed up for 5 classes in May of 2013. It really inspired me to renew my energy in cooking and bring back what I learned to my home territory. I'm totally jazzed about bringing southwestern flare to my New England friends. I enjoyed every class ( 4 so far, one more before I leave Santa Fe) and will absolutely encourage others to attend.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Santa Fe School of Cooking also viewed

 

Been to Santa Fe School of Cooking? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Santa Fe School of Cooking, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.