We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Risotto and Grilled Asparagus Lunch - Superb!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Galisteo Bistro & Wine Bar

Galisteo Bistro & Wine Bar
227 Galisteo Street, Santa Fe, NM 87501 (Downtown)
+1.5059823700
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Galisteo Bistro & Wine Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #73 of 472 Restaurants in Santa Fe
Price range: $20 - $32
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Between Water & Alameda
Transit: Bus stop at end of the block; Railrunner station nearby.
Description: Casual fine dining just a block off the Plaza. Enjoy fresh seafood from the East Coast, all natural meat, poultry, and game from local and regional ranches, all organic local produce. For a truly unique dining experience in Santa Fe visit us tonight!
Southlake
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Risotto and Grilled Asparagus Lunch - Superb!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

The first thing you notice as you walk in the door are the wonderful aromas from the open-air kitchen. The new lunch menu is creative and reasonably priced. The luncheon crowd was interesting to watch and the wait-service was knowledgeable and efficient. It was nice to meet the new owner from Florida...who was working the dinning room...and has taken up residence in Santa Fe.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

582 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    405
    105
    49
    17
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Bison Short Ribs Were To Die For!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

Had dinner with friends from Santa Fe. Wonderful menu for a Tuesday night. The bison short ribs melted in your mouth! Others had the duck and kabobs. All were good and then there's desert! One wonderful meal I will bring the wife to on the next trip!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango, Colorado
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Love it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

We've dined at Galisteo several times, most recently for my mother's 80th birthday. They treated her with dignity and the food was excellent. It is a small bistro and can get loud at times, but we enjoy it every time.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Not What We Hoped For”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

Four of us had dinner last night at Galisteo Bistro, a restaurant we'd enjoyed on several occasions, though this time it was under new ownership. On the basis of food and service, it felt like we'd lost a good friend. We arrived on time for our 5:45pm reservation (to make a 7:30pm curtain). Our server seemed pleasant but clueless. We ordered our appetizers, entrees and a bottle of white wine from Sardinia. Red wine glasses were already set at the table, and our server asked if we minded using them for our white wine since the restaurant was low on white wine glasses. At 6pm? Odd, but we agreed it would be okay with us. That said, after a while, the server removed the red wine glasses and brought the appropriate ones without comment. Appetizers included a rubbery grilled eggplant, an under-seasoned mushroom risotto cake, and an under-dressed roasted beet and prosciutto salad. Entrees included an overcooked, under-sauced chicken saltimbocca, a dry catfish, suitably blackened though badly in need of salt. (The shrimp and grits that accompanied this dish were better.) A whole branzino was overcooked and sadly took our server an inordinate amount of time to filet. It was painful to watch since the others had been served their entrees, sitting there getting cold, and all we could do was stare in disbelief at the struggle (which, ultimately, was successful though hardly worth the effort since it wasn't very tasty.) At some point during our dinner we realized other tables, though not ours, had been offered a bread basket and olive oil, the latter gracefully poured by servers at surrounding tables. With no time or interest in having dessert, we left, likely not to return again. What a shame.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Challenge Yourself!!! Is it a 6?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

This quaint Bistro in the Heart of Santa Fe isthe spot to go to and come back to. The Owner greeted us with much delight. The Staff is very attentive and the vast array on the menu is worth sampling....maybe they should make sampler plates as a special...the wine and choice suggested was perfect. We stayed long enough to be able to enjoy dessert...it was worth it! This could be a 6 STAR!!!!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Galisteo Bistro & Wine Bar also viewed

 

Been to Galisteo Bistro & Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Galisteo Bistro & Wine Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.