We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Service in Santa Fe” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Galisteo Bistro & Wine Bar

Galisteo Bistro & Wine Bar
227 Galisteo Street, Santa Fe, NM 87501 (Downtown)
+1.5059823700
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Galisteo Bistro & Wine Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #56 of 414 Restaurants in Santa Fe
Price range: $20 - $32
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Dessert, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Between Water & Alameda
Transit: Bus stop at end of the block; Railrunner station nearby.
Description: Santa Fe's casual fine dining featuring fresh seafood & game. Located just a block off the Plaza.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Best Service in Santa Fe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

This place is the only fine dining eatery in Santa Fe where I have gotten excellent service. Staff is friendly, polite, helpful & not pretentious. Wine selection is great. The food is pretty good too. The atmosphere is warm and cozy. We have never found service to be a strong point in Santa Fe NM. Here at The Galisteo Bistro & Wine Bar you wont encounter bad or rude service . When you are eating at a fine dining establishment and paying fine dining prices, one should get fine service. So many places the staff can be rude for no reason and especially if you ask for any thing special. Even if you ask for a different table you get rudeness. Others servers are just not interested in giving good service. It might not happen to everyone. but when it happens to you , you remember it. No memories of rudeness here. Only good times.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

614 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    430
    108
    52
    18
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Portola Valley
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“The best of Santa Fe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

After several visits to our home in Santa Fe, we have never been disappointed with the food, service, hospitality and warmth that Rob and Marge extend to their guests. It is like dining in a small cozy B&B

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
153 helpful votes 153 helpful votes
“Excellent service and tasty food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Had dinner at the bistro a few weeks ago. I was pleased with the courteous and genuine service of the server who made recommendations for my meal and wine, all great. Try the gorgonzola torte and ribeye steak with roasted green chile, you won't be disappointed. The pinot grigio was smooth and went well with the meal. It was an enjoyable evening. Highly recommended.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“A Quaint & True Tasty Dining Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

You will want to make reservations for this restaurant, not only because it is worth the effort, but because it is small and only open for dinner (6 nights a week). The odors will start your cravings a churning the minute you step in the door. It is a very small restaurant with maybe 10 tables and 6 bar spots, but great atmosphere and service. The menu is not large, which means what they have they do well. They have a "prix fixe" menu, which includes a glass of wine, and is a great option to explore some of their best offerings. Here's the thing to be sure not to miss, the oyster shooters. Seriously, we could have done them all night! Big fresh oysters in an amazing homemade cocktail sauce – to die for! Two of us ordered them, but all of us enjoyed them as they were so good, while you didn't want to share, you had to so others would know how good they were. The ribs are also quite good, and I don't traditionally like ribs, but their homemade BBQ sauce and meaty ribs are awesome! The lamb shank is good and sizable. The snapper, while tasty, is served with grits and so nothing on the dish has much flavor. Portions here are just right for a little sharing without being more than you can/should get through. The service and open kitchen concept make the meal extra fun. We also noticed the owner not only checking on tables, but helping wherever was needed on a busy Saturday night, always a good sign!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
“Excellent food, excellent deal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

When I visited Galisteo, they had a Prix Fixe menu option that was 3 courses and a glass of wine for $39. The food was excellent. We started with a cheese flight for an appetizer. The ginger, cherry, and almond tapenade with the brie was paired so nicely. Everything that we had was superb.

The atmosphere was nice, but a little bit cramped. I could see this being a challenge for anyone in a wheelchair. We made reservations, as we visited on a weekend. The place was pretty crowded. They are on open table, so reservations are pretty easy. Also, they do not have a full bar - beer and wine only.

Our servers were very attentive and patient, as we had several questions about the menu.

Give it a try. You won't be disappointed.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Galisteo Bistro & Wine Bar also viewed

 

Been to Galisteo Bistro & Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Galisteo Bistro & Wine Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.