We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly Good!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tune Up Cafe

Tune Up Cafe
1115 Hickox, Santa Fe, NM 84505
(505) 983-7060
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 470 Restaurants in Santa Fe
Cuisines: Continental
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Leesburg, VA
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Surprisingly Good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

I couldn't believe it when we got to the Tune Up Café. I had eaten here in 2006 when it had another name. We came for breakfast this time and were not disappointed. I had the breakfast burrito with green chilies. It was great!
They make everything fresh. So if you have someone with special food needs like we did they can be accommodated. The place fills up fast even though it is more in a neighborhood than in a business area. A real find with moderate prices.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    208
    106
    31
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014 via mobile

We came here for breakfast after many recommendations. When we got there, there was quiet a large line to order , out the door! It moved fast and there was enough tables for everyone so we didn't wait long. I had the gluten free blue corn waffles, they ware amazing!! Coffee was ok. Service perfect

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“The best nondescript restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

Always crowded, always good. Great experienced wait staff. Fun to see a waiter carry six salads down one arm and something else in another. No one minds the tight seating. Locals and tourists visit this little restaurant that churns out every dish is a great dish. My husband on the recommendation of an eavesdropping diner chose the chile rellano. Unfortunately, it's fried, but so good that it was worth that little fact. Our daughter and I had the enchiladas. I had the sauce on the side because I wasn't sure if I could tolerate the heat. Our daughter who has grown accustomed to the food of the southwest just went for the red sauce; it's hotter. We split a salad because one must always eat his veggies. This looks like a local joint, but what's going on in the kitchen is all haute dining. It's just very relaxed and wonderful. You must try this restaurant at least once.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Delicious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

We ate here twice in a week and enjoyed everything. The mole sauce and the squash soup were highlights. Casual atmosphere with porch or indoor seating. Attentive waitstaff.

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“PRICEY”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

It was just OK. Probably on the healthy side (local, organic, etc.), yet $38 is way too high for a burger w/ watermelon "juice" and salmon tacos.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tune Up Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Tune Up Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tune Up Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.