We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food and atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tune Up Cafe

Tune Up Cafe
1115 Hickox, Santa Fe, NM 84505
(505) 983-7060
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 414 Restaurants in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Continental
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Dessert, Late Night, Takeout
Lubbock, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Excellent food and atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

We visited Tune Up after seeing recommendations on TA. This was our first stop in Santa Fe and it didnt disappoint. We visited on Sunday for lunch and we were able to order off any menu (breakfast, brunch or lunch). My wife ordered the chili relleno and I ordered the fresh salmon tacos which had been smoked. Her and i split the entrees and we agreed that the fish tacos were some of the best we have ever had. The chili relleno was surperb as well. The portions were average but very filling. Service was quick but there isnt a waitstaff, just food runners. Front porch is great! We will definitely visit again!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    230
    118
    35
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, TX
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“You had me at hello”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Sometimes, a great meal is just meant to be. The stars line up and the band seems to be playing. That was our experience tonight at Tune Up Cafe, a beatnik sort of establishment (think Austin, TX) in Santa Fe. Next time I am in town, this is the first place I visiting for dinner.

We are on family vacation with our 3 daughters (all under 13) and my mother in law. It's a delicate balancing act satisfying all those people. My wife checked her Lonely Planet review (excellent) and then cross-checked with the local newspaper and online reviews. All super positive. So off the clan went...

When we first drove up, I thought Austin. My kids thought "get me outta here" and stated it as much. The design is classic kitsch. It has a nice, small patio. We walked in and et voila...a long wooden table in the middle of the dining area was open and waiting for us. Lucky tonight we had no wait. A nice young woman served us. She was knowledgeable about the dishes, prompt, and very spunky. She enhanced the experience.

I ordered the rib-eye special that came with a salad and sides of mashed potatoes and plainly, but perfectly steamed broccoli (still a little crisp, not yucky soft). The ribeye was cooked a perfect medium rare throughout and the mash were made with garlic (light) and probably a little bit of lemon (guess) b/c they were a little tangy (delicious). It was all so delicious I did a little food dance. My wife had the Mole Colorado with a fried egg on top (and platano frito). I am not a mole fan, in any incarnation but my wife said it was very good.

The coup de grace was the cobbler. I was so full at the end of the meal I didn't think I could fit anything more...but once I heard the word cobbler I knew I had to try. And it was worth the pain in my belly. This was a peach-cherry cobbler a la mode. Nice crunchy crust. I got my three bites in and then my daughters gobbled it all up...a perfect cap to the meal.

It's a bit pricey but everything about the restaurant tonight was worth it. Not a bad plate on the table. Nice job.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Texas
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
“Tune Up is Tip Top”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

The Tune Up Cafe was even better than expected. I don't remember the name of the fish, but we ordered the special which included fish and wasabi mashed potatoes. The fish was prepared with a brown caper sauce. Very colorful, fun, local eatery. We would like to return for breakfast next time we visit Santa Fe. Many of the best restaurants in Santa Fe are not located by the plaza.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Home cooking like no other!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

After moving away from lovely Santa Fe just a year ago, coming back to Tune Up cafe is just like coming back to mom's kitchen! The staff remembered me and my order (eggs bennadict with avocado)!!!! The outdoor seating was gorgeous and I am so happy they expanded to more space and a wine bar in the back!
If it was up to me, Tune Up Cafe is the place to eat, chill, and enjoy breakfast, lunch and dinner Every day!!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere - food good but not great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Loved the outdoor seating. Inside seems cramped. Had the Salvadoran special. The tamale was really good, but the pupusa was bland. Not what I expected after the reviews and seeing it on Diners / Dives / Drive thru's. OK - but I expected to be blown away. I am never a fan of ordering a soda and getting the can and paying to get more.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tune Up Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Tune Up Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tune Up Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.