We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A "DON'T MISS" SANTA FE RESTAURANT EXPERIENCE!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tune Up Cafe

Tune Up Cafe
1115 Hickox, Santa Fe, NM 84505
(505) 983-7060
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 482 Restaurants in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Continental
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Takeout
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“A "DON'T MISS" SANTA FE RESTAURANT EXPERIENCE!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

Owners Jesus & Charlotte have created THE most delicious, soulful, creative, fresh Santa Fe Cuisine...in the hippest of atmospheres...warmth, heart, soul....at an affordable price! And that's why you'll find a high percentage of local artists, musicians, film and theater folk who dine here regularly. You may even experience a celebrity sighting or two! The "IN" place to dine in Santa Fe...we love it and that's why we eat at the Tune Up at least once or twice a week...breakfast, lunch and dinner ($20 with drinks for dinner is not uncommon). They've been featured on the Food Network and for good reason!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    229
    118
    35
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Fun, friendly, eclectic cafe with good home-cooked food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

Off the beaten path in an old gas station with a colorful crowd where you can share tables. Heard about it from Diners, Drive-ins, & Dives. Good story about the owners. Our friends had "the best omelets ever". Bread was delicious and bakery items (all baked there, I believe) looked delicious. We were there for breakfast on a weekday, not peak season, and it was still very busy, but service was pretty fast.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
153 helpful votes 153 helpful votes
“restaurant different for the city diff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

unusual entrees and some standard items--very good green chile stew--chile rellenos isnt fried in a deep batter but is very fresh--indescribable but yummy--get the banana side dish!! you order and pay at counter and item is delivered to your table--chicken mole memorable

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Expensive for cafe food but good & healthy menu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

This is one of my favorite lunch spots in Santa Fe. The food is good and they have organic meat burgers, Salvadoreno inspired food, breakfast food, salads and more. Their deserts are really good too! They always have homemade cakes and pies at the register. I prefer the tastier ones with gluten but they do serve gluten free treats too. The space is small and seating is close and tight. They have outdoor seating too. The service is ok, not great. They are quite expensive for a small casual cafe & I wish they were more generous with their iced tea. Otherwise, a good spot and a favorite of locals.

  • Visited May 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Best Meal I've Ever Had I Think”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

I ordered the chicken mole enchiladas and it was like eating a mexican dessert. It was so good! Great service, dog friendly on patio, eclectic look. Never would have stopped if wasn't for TA especially considering you can barely see the sign. One of the best meals I've ever had I think.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tune Up Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Tune Up Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tune Up Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.