We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth more than a 20 minute wait.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Shed

The Shed
113 1/2 East Palace Ave, Santa Fe, NM 87501
505-982-9030
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #31 of 425 Restaurants in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Westlake Village, California
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not worth more than a 20 minute wait.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

Good but not necessarily worth the wait. Maria's is better.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,066 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    977
    646
    311
    91
    41
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

The food was amazing, the margaritas were the best I've had in a long time and the service was exceptional .... I would highly recommend going not only once but twice!

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonoma, California
Level Contributor
128 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Worth the wait”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

On a cold sunny day you can wait your turn for lunch on the patio. Nice people well managed the crowd with beepers and message that you can expect " half hour to one and half hour wait". After the hour wait, the food met our TripAdvisor review expectations. Nice choices, good flavors and friendly staff made for a memorable meal. Sure, we would return for this good value.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
el prado
Level Contributor
60 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Still the best place to eat in Santa Fe even after 40 years”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

Yep, we've been eating here for over 40 years. It is still the place we head to first whenever we are in town. The second location just doesn't seem to have the charm of the original. I don't know if it is psychological, but the food also doesn't seem as good. We pretty much stick to the old standards, enchiladas, burritos-- with the usual "Christmas" mix of sauces. I think the portions could probably stand to be a bit bigger-- it's only cheese/tortilla and some hominy, after all.

If you've never been to Santa Fe, the Shed is definitely worth the wait, although you may enjoy it more if you try to get in either early or closer to 2 pm.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
51 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Food is wonderful.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

The food is wonderful at The Shed, but the host seemed a little confused. Maybe it was the big crowd. We were passed over twice for a table for our party's size.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Shed also viewed

 

Been to The Shed? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Shed, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.