We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Girard Collection is dizzyingly fascinating!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Museum of International Folk Art

Museum of International Folk Art
706 Camino Lejo, P.O. Box 2087, Santa Fe, NM 87505
+1 505-476-1200
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 108 attractions in Santa Fe
Type: Art Museums, Museums
Activities: Arts and crafts
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Current exhibitions include Make your own kite in Tako Kichi:Kite crazy in Japan closing July 27, 2014. Brasil & Arte Popular is open Through January 4, 2015. More than 120,000 objects are on display in the long term exhibition Multiple Visions, A Common Bond by architect and designer Alexander Girard. This international folk art collection includes miniature buildings, streets and village scenes from more than 100 different countries. There are no text panels in this exhibition, the cases are numbered. If you miss the Docent walk-in tour, pick up a multi-media tour at the front desk or a grab a gallery guide at either entrance.
FAIRFIELD
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“The Girard Collection is dizzyingly fascinating!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

No one should leave Santa Fe without making at least one pass through the Girard Collection in this museum. It has over 100,000 pieces, imaginatively displayed and mercifully catalogued (we fortunately heeded the ticket seller's advice to pick up the extensive catalog at the entrance to the exhibit to use as we walked around). There is more to see than you can possibly take in at one pass, but it is well worth the visit for however much you see. Folk art from numerous cultures can be seen, sometimes separated by cultures, but frequently imaginatively intermixed (similar themes expressed by different traditions). From what we understand, Alexander and Susan Girard commissioned much of the folk art to complete their vision for particular displays (which, of course, helped support these artisans), but their vision and flair for design make this a truly satisfying experience. Other displays at the museum (Amish quilts, for one) were interesting, but the Girard Collection is the real centerpiece of the museum and should not be missed.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

559 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    413
    106
    33
    7
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico, United States
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Nice Place to Visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

The displays were beautiful. The facility was clean. The staff was nice. This also supplied a nice break from the heat outside. The art work was interesting and beautiful. I highly recommend going to the Museum of International Folk Art!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“the views from this museum, alone, are worth the trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

I love this museum. Unless you plan your trip around some show at this place, you never quite know what you will see but I have seen some memorable shows here. The most impressive was when I was traveling with my younger daughter and an even younger nice and the whole museum was filled with folk art dolls from around the world. It doesn't get much better than that. My sister, daughter, niece and I were in heaven.

The gift shop is also a good one.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Fascinating museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

If you are interested in folk art, naive art or outsider art, or even in a bit of religious kitsch, then you will love this museum. It was a standout during our recent visit to Santa Fe; a bit underrated even, in comparison to some of the more well known attractions here. Very well curated and absolutely full of interesting things. There's also a great gift shop and a really lovely restaurant at this location. Well worth a visit.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ma
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“A most unusual and special place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Even if you hate museums you really must see this place. Located on magnificent Museum Hill, the permanent exhibit houses the life long collection of Alexander Girard. Girard arranged the collection in amazingly beautiful and interesting ways. We had a very interesting docent tour and afterwards had a nice meal in the nearby Museum Hill Cafe. Please try to visit this museum

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museum of International Folk Art also viewed

 

Been to Museum of International Folk Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Museum of International Folk Art, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Museum of International Folk Art to your Saves list