We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Ski Area” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ski Santa Fe

Ski Santa Fe
2209 Brothers Rd., Santa Fe, NM 87505
800-984-9984
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 108 attractions in Santa Fe
Type: Ski/ Snowboard Areas
Activities: Skiing
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: This ski resort is located on the Sangre de Cristos Mountains and has slopes for skiers with different abilities.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Burkburnett
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Best Ski Area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Of all the places we've skied in the New Mexico and Colorado area over the past 8 years...Santa Fe is by far the best. The most runs. More LIfts, And least crowded.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    99
    16
    8
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Beginner's ski paradise.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Ski Santa Fe has a great program for beginners. With lessons, club chipmunk and our favorite the conveyer belt bunny slope. This made skiing very beginner friendly. The weather was so perfect for spring ski. Warm and sunny could have skied in a wind suit. Good equipment rental and facilities.

Only issue is cost. Equipment is $25 per person and ski tickets are pricey. Family if four half day on bunny slope was close to $300 including equipment rental. I think they should have made cost less and tried to think ahead to getting kids hooked for life, who by the way bring parents:)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great facilities and good length ski runs for all tastes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Although it has less ski lifts than Ruidoso, these are secure and the runs that they take you to are nice and long. I loved the Quad, and its different routes. I am not an intrepid skier, so this gave me the luxury of a long run that I could practice my techinque on and yet have fun skiing with the kids.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fun, nice, and extraordinary view of nature, and great for those skiing for the first time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

After you drive for what seems like a lifetime up the mountain (no you're probably not going the wrong way) you arrive at a busy, yet organized, facility. Although the place was very crowed and it took a while to get our ski gear, it was a great experience! Just make sure you have your forms and lift passes and you are ready! The "ski school" instructors were very helpful and really wanted you to learn the best skiing techniques. Whatever your ski level, they make you feel welcome!
Safely is very important and everyone of all ages can enjoy themselves. To your left you might see a 12 year old shredding down the mountain, while an older adult may ski right down with them!
It was a lot of fun and this was my first time skiing.
Of course the food was a little expensive but where is it not at places like this! The view from the eating area was beautiful! (Especially if these mountains and the snow is not an every day occurrence for you.)
In Santa Fe? Stop by!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“For What it is, it's great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We are not a huge skiing family, but the kids wanted to do a little skiing/snow boarding over Spring break. We chose Ski Santa Fe for its easy drive from Fort Worth and all the things to do in Santa Fe. The views are beautiful, lines for rentals and ski lifts were a little long (but it was spring break), the snow was plentiful, the staff was ultra friendly and the ski schools were great! I do not ski, but I was content to read on m y Nook waiting the six hours for my kids to be finished. If you do not ski, take something to do, as the cafeteria is just that, a cafeteria. I would suggest staking your claim to a table early, so you able to grab one with chairs with backs on them, trust me. Easy in, easy out to/from this family friendly ski area.

We passed a ski rental shop on the way up and down the mountain, might be worth checking into to avoid the long lines for rentals at the lodge.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ski Santa Fe also viewed

 

Been to Ski Santa Fe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ski Santa Fe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Ski Santa Fe to your Saves list