We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's the oldest mission in the U.S.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of San Miguel Mission

San Miguel Mission
401 Old Santa Fe Trail, Lower Old Santa Fe Trail, Santa Fe, NM (Downtown)
505/983-3974
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 94 Attractions in Santa Fe
Type: Religious Sites, Art Museums, Cultural
Activities: City walk sightseeing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Constructed in 1610 by the Tlaxcalan Indians of Mexico, who came to New Mexico as servants of the Spanish, this is the oldest church still in use in the country.
Fresno, California
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“It's the oldest mission in the U.S.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

I simply love to visit old missions of which there plenty in California. This one is inviting and intimate, amazing after all these centuries.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    81
    20
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“Beautiful Church”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

This beautiful church is the oldest church in the country and is a must see when in Santa Fe. Unfortunately it was closed last week for renovations. Mass is still said at 5pm on Sundays when it is not being renovated. Many thousands of people are buried in the floor since that was the old tradition.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Worth taking the time to visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

This mission church is a short walk from La Fonda hotel and the plaza. We enjoy visiting the mission churches in New Mexico even though we may not approve of the way most of them came into existence.
This is as different from the St Francis cathedral as you can get. This church could give you that special, tingly feeling that you should feel in a church, if it wasn't packed with tourists. This is an old mission church with a long history, not as long as the person giving out the information leaflets would have one believe (before Columbus?) but the info in the leaflet is correct.
It's one of those churches where you wish the tourists with their cameras and sometimes inane and irrelevant questions would just disappear and allow the history and sanctity of the place just to fill you. Often, and it is also the case here, tourism and the revenue it brings seems to be more important than the spirituality of the place. Tourists chattering and snapping endless photos of the "milagros" and the religious artwork just doesn't seem right. Maybe the policy of no photos inside the church and churchyard should be adopted (as in places like San Esteban at Acoma). It doesn't seem respectful to behave in the way some visitors do. We are not Roman Catholics but we are Christian and appreciate the spirituality found in some of the mission churches but missing in so many of them.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Oldest Church”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

I missed this church earlier during my visit to Santa Fe, knew I had to see it but passed by without knowing it. Went back to see it on my way to Canyon Road to take some photos but didn't go inside. It's right next to the Oldest house so make sure not to miss that.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Top Contributor
701 reviews 701 reviews
245 attraction reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
205 helpful votes 205 helpful votes
“Very old”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Was closed Monday when I tried to enter. Looks adobe but the adobe is covered. Looks modest. Easiest to get there on foot. It is nice to stay in a resort-y area over Sunday night and Monday when the crowds disappear but the downside is some places close.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed San Miguel Mission also viewed

 

Been to San Miguel Mission? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Miguel Mission, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.