We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the Visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Loretto Chapel

Loretto Chapel
207 Old Santa Fe Trail, Between Alameda and Water sts., Santa Fe, NM 87501 (Downtown)
505-982-0092
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 209 things to do in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: City walk sightseeing, Leisure education
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This chapel contains a mysterious spiral staircase built without nails, dowels or any visible support.
Easton, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Worth the Visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Several years ago, I read about the Miraculous Staircase at Loretto Chapel and found its story to be very interesting. This September, we visited the chapel on a Sunday morning to see the staircase. Three dollars gained us entry to what was once a Catholic chapel until it was deconsecrated in 1971. It is now a museum preserving the staircase and the chapel. The chapel is beautiful in its own right and the staircase is beautiful and intriguing. Whether you’re looking at the staircase from a scientific standpoint, a religious standpoint or any standpoint, you cannot help but to stop and contemplate the accomplishment that took place here. You don’t need to spend much time here to appreciate this attraction, but you just may want to stay awhile as the chapel is a very peaceful place.

Call ahead though, if possible, as the chapel closes for special events. We arrived at 4:20pm the day before and the chapel closed at 4:15pm, hence our Sunday morning visit, which was very much worth it.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,626 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    899
    447
    196
    58
    26
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lakewood, Washington, United States
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Stairway to Heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

What a fantastic masterpiece of building. My husband who is quite good at constructing things was amazed. It Is a must see when in the area. The staircase is a mystery even today.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton Park, New York
Top Contributor
267 reviews 267 reviews
80 attraction reviews
Reviews in 107 cities Reviews in 107 cities
176 helpful votes 176 helpful votes
“Very compelling”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Stopped here on a tour book recommendation. The staircase was the draw. Very impressive. I felt weird paying to get into a chapel, but I guess that's where we are today. The $3 did not hurt and the attraction does require some upkeep. I did enjoy the altar and stations of the cross. Brings back the Catholic memories. I enjoyed it.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Sad that it has been deconsecrated..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

It is a beautiful Chapel, and although deconsecrated - which I was most disappointed to find out - at least it is still there and one can visit it and hear the history. I would have preferred to read the history rather than listen to it, and of course international visitors whose English is limited would not have understood, no doubt they would rather read about it in their own language.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlton, New Jersey
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
207 helpful votes 207 helpful votes
“Spiritual !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Very cute little chapel with amazing staircase.. No nails were used in the building of this in the 1800,s. there is a tape on loop that plays telling the history and the story. Worth the $3 admission, I think proceeds go to charity.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Loretto Chapel also viewed

 

Been to Loretto Chapel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loretto Chapel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.