We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A touristy spectacle” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Loretto Chapel

Loretto Chapel
207 Old Santa Fe Trail, Between Alameda and Water sts., Santa Fe, NM 87501 (Downtown)
505-982-0092
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 109 Attractions in Santa Fe
Type: Religious Sites, Historic Sites
Activities: City walk sightseeing, Leisure education
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: This chapel contains a mysterious spiral staircase built without nails, dowels or any visible support.
Tustin, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A touristy spectacle”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

This "church" was beautiful on the outside. The staircase is very cool. We couldn't move in there however and there is something disturbing about a church that charges, apparently has no services, and has a very kitschy gift shop. Not something I'd ever do again and truly didn't enjoy that much to begin with- you can't touch the staircase and the throngs are loud and rude.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,297 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    718
    351
    157
    48
    23
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chester
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Rip-off”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We were told that we 'must' see the miracle of the unsupported staircase. It cost 3 dollars each just to walk into a tiny chapel, see the staircase in the corner, and then exit via a huge gift shop. And that was it - in and out in less than minute. Quite frankly, a postcard is better value.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Amazing staircase built by a mysterious carpenter”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

The staircase is breath taking & the story of how it was built is truly mysterious. The church is beautiful but the staircase is the main draw. If you don't listen to the story & appreciate it's implications, then the $3.00 would seem a little high. I love this chapel as well as the beautiful staircase. We first took our girls here in the eighties. Since we are staying in Cama for the summer this year, we just had to see it again. This is a must see in Sante Fe!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Desert, CA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A must for first time visitors”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We lived in Santa Fe and new Loretto Chapel well. We visited with someone who had never been to Santa Fe. When I asked what his favorite place was near the Plaza, he said "Loretto Chapel." He thought it intriguing.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“This is a must see!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Just walking into this place is an experience! Be sure to stay for the presentation, so you learn the history (it is not long). The story and lore is very special no matter what your personal religion is.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Loretto Chapel also viewed

 

Been to Loretto Chapel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loretto Chapel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.