We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Way too Commercial” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Loretto Chapel

Loretto Chapel
207 Old Santa Fe Trail, Between Alameda and Water sts., Santa Fe, NM 87501 (Downtown)
505-982-0092
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 94 Attractions in Santa Fe
Type: Religious Sites, Historic Sites, Cultural
Activities: City walk sightseeing, Leisure education
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This chapel contains a mysterious spiral staircase built without nails, dowels or any visible support.
Colorado
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Way too Commercial”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

This was one of a few different religious venues we visited and was the worst. Be aware that there is a mandatory fee of $3 per person and when we asked the man who took our money if any of it went towards preservation of the chapel he replied rather rudely "a small portion of it" with no explanation as to where the rest of it went. There is an audio tape that continuously runs explaining the miracle but if it is crowded (as it was when we went - Monday of Holy Week) it is hard to hear. When I asked the money-taker if there was anything available that explained the story behind the staircase, he said there was the audio tape as well as a pamphlet which could be purchased in the gift shop. While the staircase is very interesting the whole chapel has been turned into something that was way too commercial. Unfortunately there was nothing remotely spiritual about this chapel any longer. As alternatives, I highly recommend the Cathedral as well as the San Miguel Mission church and a side trip to Chimayo. Glod bless!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,438 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    795
    391
    175
    53
    24
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bartlesville, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Beautiful church, but RUDE people”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

I had been looking forward to seeing the "Miracle Staircase" for almost a year, since a friend of mine told me about it. We came at it from the wrong side, so it was VERY difficult to find. The signs point you into the Loretto hotel, where we were given a winding set of directions through the hotel shops, etc. and told to enter through the gift shop. We tried and the only door we found into the chapel was marked "Exit"... we asked and were very RUDLY told, by the person sitting there, that we needed to go outside and come in from there! We finally DID find the correct entrance, and the chapel was beautiful... the staircase every bit as amazing and "miraculous" as reported. They play a tape telling the story and the gift shop shows a video of the story as well. Truly a sight NOT to be missed... just ignore the rude folks who work there and you'd be good.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Beautiful Chapel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We made a point of stopping here during our trip to New Mexico. We had read the history of this chapel and had to stop and see for ourselves. It is a small chapel - beautiful inside with the amazing circular staircase. Just standing there in amazement on how this was built so long ago. This is well worth the stop if you are in Santa Fe.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“What a beautiful place.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

I have seen the Loretto Chapel several times and it is a marvel everytime. The story of the mysterious carpenter that built an engineering feat is tantalizing but the sheer beauty of the entire place is worth the visit. Santa Fe is a beautiful city, and this is a must see when one stops in town.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boerne
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Don't just go for the staircase”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

A beautiful old chapel with a lot of history, it was interesting to sit and just listen, and to look. Take the time to look at everything, and listen to the taped information.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Loretto Chapel also viewed

 

Been to Loretto Chapel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loretto Chapel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.