We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just outside of town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyde Memorial State Park

Hyde Memorial State Park
740 Hyde Park Road, Santa Fe, NM 87501
505-983-7175
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 94 Attractions in Santa Fe
Type: National Parks, Outdoors
Activities: Picnicking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located in a breathtaking natural setting, this park is ideal for picnics and camping.
Jackson, Wyoming
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
81 attraction reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
170 helpful votes 170 helpful votes
“Just outside of town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We were surprised how close this mountain escape is to the town of Santa Fe.
It only took about ten minutes and we were in a beautiful mountain area.

There is a self-pay station where you have to pay the five dollars for the day use.

We did a small one hour hike with our two small kids and had a fun time. Temperature was great at 5 in the afternoon.

I bet this forest is beautiful in the fall.

A must for outdoor fans!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    24
    10
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“BYO information, maps”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We headed up to Hyde Park to hike and check it out as a future camping site. The visitor center was closed- permanently. The "lodge" behind it was empty and shuttered. A sign said you had to pay a park fee (put it in the envelope) but there were no envelopes, no trail maps.
Very pretty place, must be gorgeous in the fall. Campsites we saw were right along the road.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“The Great Outdoors”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Great hiking trails, beautiful campsites.........what's not to love. And very close to Santa Fe so you can make it a day trip from town.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Gorgeous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

A beautiful hiking trail close to town.
About 8 miles away- 30 mins.
Unlike the other trails near town it is a true wilderness trail.
Hyde Park occuoies a spot on the middle of the Santa Fe National Forest.
The trail is about 1.5 mi to the top and 1,000 change n elevation.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Get out of town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Make this drive out of town into the mountains. It is really beautiful.
Check out the hiking trails and see a whole different Santa Fe.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hyde Memorial State Park also viewed

 

Been to Hyde Memorial State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyde Memorial State Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.