We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect in Every Way!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Cuma Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Santa Fe
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Cuma Bed & Breakfast
Save Saved
You added Casa Cuma Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
105 Paseo de la Cuma, Santa Fe, NM 87501   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Top 50 US B&B's for food!
Ranked #2 of 43 Santa Fe B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Perfect in Every Way!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I and my 19 year-old son just spent 4 glorious days with Shaan and Colleen at Casa Cuma Bed and Breakfast. Shaan and Colleen are perfect innkeepers and truly love running a bed and breakfast. Their hospitality is genuine, their accommodations warm, comfortable, and inviting, and the breakfasts and treats are delicious and pampering. I could go on and on with a list of superlatives...
We have stayed at many small inns and bed and breakfasts over the years, but
we have never been greeted by an innkeeper bearing a smile, homemade cookies, free museum passes, and beautifully color-coded walking maps to help us plan our visit in Santa Fe.

Since Shaan and Colleen live on the property, they make themselves available to answer any questions and offer advice, when asked. They want every detail of a guest's stay to be perfect.
We cannot wait to return to Casa Cuma and to Santa Fe!
Thank you Colleen and Shaan for your gracious hospitality!

Patrice, Paul, and Christopher Phelps
Atlanta, GA

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
inlovewithsantafe, Owner at Casa Cuma Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Patrice, Paul and Christopher,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review! Your kind and generous words warm our hearts.

We do indeed love what we do, mostly because we get the best guests and living in lovely Santa Fe has a lot to do with it too! We try to be here to greet guests upon arrival, so that they are comfortable and know their way around from the beginning. It's not always possible, but we do try. The museum passes really add to our guests experience and Shaan's maps and walking tour are invaluable for finding all that Santa Fe has to offer. We are happy to hear that you found them useful. So many great museums and restaurants, not to mention countless galleries.

It was a real pleasure having you guys here with us and we hope that you will return to Casa Cuma soon.Once again, thank you for the fantastic review!

Colleen and Shaan
Casa Cuma Bed & Breakfast
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    382
    32
    1
    2
    2
See reviews for
43
245
17
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

We checked in on a Friday evening and met Shawn and Coleen, the owners. They were both very warm to speak with and made us feel at home. The B&B is absolutely gorgeous and located at a walking distance from the main plaza. The next morning, Coleen and Shawn served us a very sumptuous, home made breakfast in their front garden, on our request.
A perfect place to spend your weekend in Santa Fe. Will definitely recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
inlovewithsantafe, Owner at Casa Cuma Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Thank you so much for your gracious and generous review!

We love to serve breakfast under the giant fir tree in the garden. It's such a peaceful setting and a great place to eat and enjoy the mountain view.

We really enjoyed hosting you here and hope that you will return again to Casa Cuma. Once again, thank you for the great review.

Colleen and Shaan
Casa Cuma Bed & Breakfast
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Culebra, Puerto Rico
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

We stayed in the Vista - which was across street from main facility. So this comment is based on the room where stayed. Upon entering the suite - bedroom, kitchen, bathroom and patio area - the odor - we think from the fabric softener was overwhelming. We opened all of the windows and door - plus lit candles. The next morning - we asked the hosts to wash the sheets - and not use fabric softener - which they did and it made a HUGE difference. They were there to please. The suite was very cluttered with nik-naks - so you had to rearrange so you could put your things out of your luggage. The sheets on the bed were excellent and the pillows great - but the bed was on the floor - no frame - which we found strange. The bathroom towels were again excellent - but the bathroom was kinda tired. Needs a face lift.
The patio was nice - but really needs some attention to make it an attractive place to sit and enjoy the view.
I really wanted to give them a 5 - and maybe if we stayed in another room, it would have been different. Breakfast was great - but too late for us at 8:30. Makes it late to go for a drive to hike to the mountain areas. Fine if you just want to see Santa Fe. Great location - walking distance to everywhere. Sleep quality was fine - but could hear the traffic if you leave the windows open. Close to shopping, market, cinema and the Plaza.

Room Tip: If you have allergies - ask them to not to use the fabric softener. They should change brands to un...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
inlovewithsantafe, Owner at Casa Cuma Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review us.

We appreciate you choosing to stay with us at Casa Cuma. Thank you for your kind remarks about us. We understand how important vacation is to most people and do our best to make sure that their visit to Santa Fe is a good one.

We apologize for the fragrance issue is your room. It was actually a couple of lavender sachets that were in the closet next to the bathroom. We are glad that they did not cause you any issues after they were removed.

We are glad that you enjoyed the breakfasts and the location. We hope to see you back here at Casa Cuma some day in the future.

Colleen and Shaan
Casa Cuma Bed & Breakfast
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seal Beach, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

There are three items important to us when staying in a hotel or B&B; location, value and cleanliness. Casa Cuma met all three of these by our standards.

Location - As a multiple-time visitor to the city over decades, we love to simply leave our rental car wherever we are staying and walk the entire city while safely eating and drinking our way through the town. This was our first time staying in a B&B in Santa Fe as we historically have stayed in hotels near the plaza. Casa Cuma is approximately four blocks north of the Plaza with only the last thirty yards being anything more than a moderate slope and the middle two blocks of modest grade. It is easily walkable even if you are out of shape or older and except for the dead of winter when you probably would want to use a cab, walkable anytime of day or night. The neighborhood is extremely quiet and except when our door was open, never heard street traffic.

Value - We spend the minimal amount of time in our room as we want to partake in all that a city has to offer. We do not need a 42 inch flat screen tv (they have I believe 22" flat screen tv), nor a spa facility or room service. Shop Kayak and you'll find this to be reasonably priced especially when factoring in free parking that depending upon your room location is seconds to a couple of minutes away.

Cleanliness - We had the "Chili Room" which is adjacent to the lobby and was initially somewhat worried about the noise from other guests walking in during the evening to grab snacks or water. Maybe once over the three nights did we even hear anyone walking or talking in the lobby. The room air conditioner was extremely quiet and with a combination fan, allowed you to adjust the temperature throughout the night to your personal tastes. The room and separate bathroom was spotless. As a male reviewer I tend to overlook decorative issues such as bed softness and decor. That said, the sheets were incredibly soft as were the large bath towels compared to the typically stiff, smaller ones most hotels now offer. If I can notice and comment on this aspect of the room, it has to be special.

Being heavily reliant on Tripadvisor reviews, I am sometimes suspicious of overly complimentary reviews, worried that "friends and relatives" are increasing the ratings. As you read all of these reviews I want to add that I find it hard disagreeing with what others' are writing.

Shaan and Colleen, the owners, are friendly, helpful and project a serenity that even someone as cynical as I find refreshing. They will do anything you request, prepare outstanding formal sit-down breakfasts and offer amenities like unlimited water, yogurt and cookies throughout the day. To introduce the only negatives in my review to make this believable, the shower pressure in our room was less than adequate regardless of how I adjusted the nozzle. Probably a structural issue that cannot be improved and the coffee served in the morning could be a bit hotter. Talk about being nit-picky!!!

We would absolutely recommend this B&B to others and would, without any hesitation, stay here again.

Room Tip: Can only speak to our room but being next to the lobby was not an issue from a noise perspective.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
inlovewithsantafe, Owner at Casa Cuma Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Thank you so much for the fantastic review! We are so, so happy to hear that you enjoyed you stay here at Casa Cuma Bed & Breakfast.

We consider ourselves very fortunate to be so close to the Plaza area and yet in a quiet neighborhood. With so much going on in the Plaza area, especially in summer, it's nice to be able to offer a quiet refuge to relax and rejuvenate in. Being able to park your car and walk to restaurants, museums and all the cultural things going on in town is a vital ingredient to a relaxing vacation.

Once again, thank you so much for your wonderful review. We really enjoyed having you here as our guest and hope that we will see you back here at Casa Cuma some day soon,

Colleen and Shaan
Casa Cuma Bed & Breakfast
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

From the moment we walked through the entrance of Casa Cuma B&B until we departed 3 days later, we felt most welcome. Staying with Shaan and Colleen was just like staying with friends. Their charming and comfortable home is within an easy walk to the Santa Fe Plaza area and our ability to navigate easily around Santa Fe was greatly enhanced by Shaan's fabulous maps and verbal guidance. We enjoy hiking and his advice and help in planning our day at Bandelier National Monument and Valle Caldera was invaluable.Colleen's breakfasts were fresh, nutritious and filling and gave us a great start to our busy days. This was our first time in Santa Fe and when we return, we will certainly stay at Casa Cuma without hesitation.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
inlovewithsantafe, Owner at Casa Cuma Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Thank you so much for your wonderful review! We love to hear that folks are happy here and that the information that we provide is helpful.

We love to hike and Santa Fe has so many great hikes, with lots of diversity, so we do our best to try to match folks with the right hike.

The Valles Caldera is one of my favorite places on the Earth, so I am especially happy that you went there an enjoyed it. The elk herd is amazing and just the peacefulness of the place is worth the trip. Hmmmm. I haven't been there in a while. Think I'll put that on my list for this week.

Once again. thank you for the great review and for choosing Casa Cuma as your home away from home in Santa Fe. We look forward to seeing you back here again soon.

Colleen and Shaan
Casa Cuma Bed & Breakfast
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrentham, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

The B&B is located within short walking distance of downtown and offers quaint, comfortable rooms and terrific breakfasts cooked by Saan and his wife who are excellent, friendly hosts. While we were there they could not be more accommodating in offering helpful hints about how to best enjoy the area. This is a place we will return to when in Santa Fe.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
inlovewithsantafe, Owner at Casa Cuma Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Wow! How nice of you to write such a wonderful review! Thank you.

We know that vacations are special to everyone, so when you travel, you want to experience what the area has to offer, and while there may be too many things to do all of them, we try to make sure that our guests get a good feel for what Santa Fe and Northern New Mexico provides. We'll do our best to find more things to do on your next trip, as well as remind you of some favorites from this trip.

Once again, thank you for the amazing review. We hope to see you back in Santa Fe and at Casa Cuma soon.

Colleen and Shaan
Casa Cuma Bed & Breakfast
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Casa Cuma B&B for 4 nights in early June. I have nothing but positive things to say about the experience. The B&B is ideally located with only a short walk to the Plaza, is quite comfortable, clean and quiet. Both owners (Shaan and Colleen) are very friendly and joined us several mornings for breakfast. Shaan was very helpful in lining us up with info on our day trips around Santa Fe and hiking trails to the hinterlands. Colleen is an exceptional cook and cooked up some delicious gluten free breakfasts for my wife who has celiac. Casa Cuma and Sante Fe are definitely on our short list for a return visit.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
inlovewithsantafe, Owner at Casa Cuma Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Thank you, thank you, thank you! What an amazing review! You are so kind.

I am personally so glad to hear that your wife enjoyed the gluten free breakfasts. I try to be sure that everyone gets a good breakfast, no matter what their dietary restrictions might be, so when I hear that someone found them to be delicious, it's especially rewarding.

We are looking forward to having you back at Casa Cuma soon. I'm always working on new recipes, so hopefully you will find them delicious too. Once again, thank you for your kind words.

Colleen and Shaan
Casa Cuma Bed & Breakfast
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Cuma Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Cuma Bed & Breakfast

Address: 105 Paseo de la Cuma, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 beautiful rooms just 5 minutes from the Plaza. Gourmet breakfast in the flower filled garden with mountain views, or next to a crackling fire in cooler weather. Luxurious bedding, feather beds and down comforters. Soak in the steaming hot tub under the stars. Peaceful and relaxing. Free museum passes, Wi-Fi and off street parking. Homemade snacks welcome you home at night. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Cuma Bed And Breakfast
Casa Cuma Hotel Santa Fe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Cuma Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.