We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fun alternative” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Silver Saddle Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Silver Saddle Motel to your Saves list
Silver Saddle Motel
2810 Cerrillos Rd, Santa Fe, NM 87505   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Austin, TX
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A fun alternative”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

This is an old school Route 66 type motel. It is a refreshing change from the cookie cutter, over priced chains. We had the "Willie Nelson Room" (#3). Clean, quiet, comfortable and reasonably priced. Only minor complaint is lack of electrical outlets, but this is an old motel and wasn't built to accommodate all our electronic gadgets that constantly require charging. Friendly owners and a wonderful breakfast out on the patio.

Room Tip: Rooms toward the back are further from the highway although noise was not a problem up front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    114
    27
    5
    5
See reviews for
72
167
46
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014 via mobile

Just a warning out there to folks who are booking trips last minute. I booked the Silver Saddle for a last minute trip to Santa Fe, and changed my mind a couple of hours later, but it was inside of their no cancellation time, so was charged for the two room stay. Be sure you are gong to make it, they are very inflexible! This can make it a very expensive hotel, to say the least.

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmond, OK
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

I think the title says it all. Our stay last week was perfect - very clean, best beds in town, easy to get to and affordable, with breakfast. The rooms are decorated with a Western theme, which Dawn does herself, and the grounds are lovingly cared for and very pretty. This place has it all and at a very reasonable price with free parking. We mentioned we were getting up early one morning to go to Chama and they provided us with the coffee maker, coffee, cups, etc. so we could have some before we left. They really go out of their way to make their guests feel welcome. Thanks Dawn, Miguel and all of the Silver Saddle staff - Rocko too!

Room Tip: Rooms with higher room numbers are in back - more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Great hotel that's a flashback to mid-Century times. A "must do" on a Route 66 tour. Short (10 minutes) and easy drive to the Plaza, and close to other interesting things to do. Don't miss the Jackalope complex next door - lots of artisans and imports at better prices than the Plaza stores. Clean and tidy rooms with everything you need; kitchenette included fridge, sink, microwave. TV and cable. Table space too. Shower is tiny, but functional. Well-kept property with friendly and welcoming staff. Breakfast was pretty basic, but it's nice to have a little something to get you going so that the first big decision of the day doesn't have to be breakfast. People enjoyed visiting as we dined al fresco. Considering this room cost about 90% less than others available, it is a heck of a deal.

Room Tip: Recommend Room 23 for peace and decor - very pleasant and quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

I love this place. Clean and affordable in expensive Santa Fe. Rooms have western theme to them. Get room #1 it has a lot of space. The lady that checked me allowed me to pick what room would suit my needs better. When in Santa Fe this would be a must stay. I cannot say enough good things about this place. Even spoke to the owner the next morning and she was very nice decent motel breakfast too. Thanks Silver Saddle.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Charles, Missouri
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

We are so happy that our search for pet-friendly, reasonably-priced accommodations led us to the Silver Saddle! This historic Route 66 motel, while updated to meet the needs of today's travelers, retains all the charm of its original design. The friendly, enthusiastic owners Dawn and Miguel were welcoming and helpful with their suggestions for navigating Santa Fe. Had a wonderful patio breakfast while chatting with other Midwest guests. We'd love to go back and spend more time here--we'd definitely recommend the Siver Saddle to those looking for an authentic taste of old Route 66!

Room Tip: If traveling with a pet, please be sure to ask for a pet-friendly room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

We were in Santa Fe for the Int'l Folk Art Festival and stayed at the Silver Saddle. Each room is decorated differently--ours was "cowgirls" and it was tastefully done. Clean, well-equipped and quiet rooms; Shawn, the desk clerk, was very helpful giving us directions to places in town. Very reasonable rates, accessible location, more than adequate breakfast, pleasant and helpful staff--we are so glad we stayed here and will definitely stay here again on our next trip to Santa Fe, New Mexico.

Room Tip: Pick the theme for the room you want--if it's available you will get it. Ask Shawn what the opti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Silver Saddle Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Saddle Motel

Address: 2810 Cerrillos Rd, Santa Fe, NM 87505
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Santa Fe
#6 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#11 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Silver Saddle Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Saddle Hotel Santa Fe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silver Saddle Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.