We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“$55” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Silver Saddle Motel

Save Saved
You added Silver Saddle Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Silver Saddle Motel
2810 Cerrillos Rd, Santa Fe, NM 87505   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 60 hotels in Santa Fe
B. C.
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“$55”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

Please don't be misled. This hotel is $55 because that is what it is worth. There is a difference between inexpensive and cheap, this is cheap. No in room coffee, no hair dryer, no room to swing a cat. We won't go near it again!

Room Tip: Find a different motel or hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cowgirlup2, Owner at Silver Saddle Motel, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Yes we are a vintage 1950's route 66 motel. A lot of budget travelers enjoy our motel because for a budget motel in a very expensive destination city (with a $10.60/hour minimum wage) our rooms are very clean with new beds, flat screen tv's, carpets and artistically recycled decor and furnishings. We do have hair dryers, coffee pots and irons available at our front desk. Just please ask. Our rooms do have microwaves and refrigerators. We also have a nice little patio and a vintage store in the office.

Santa Fe does have several luxurious hotels and resorts and you are right that's not what the Silver Saddle motel has to offer. We offer good ole fashioned friendly customer service, and a staff that’s knowledgeable about the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    209
    106
    26
    5
    5
See reviews for
68
156
43
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dayton, Ohio
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

This hotel does not deserve #5 ranking by Trip Advisor out of 59 hotels in Santa Fe area. Clean, yes, retro, yes....at least it didn't have a rotary dial phone !! Motel absolutely not worth it's high ranking. Our room was 12' by 20' with 2 double beds, cement walls, no headboard..watch your head. The bathroom shower was probably 3' by 3'...no tub. No amenities what-so-ever. We requested a coffee pot for the our morning coffee. Delivered by the front office with coffee in a Tupperware container !! Hotel not worth the $63 we paid.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cowgirlup2, Owner at Silver Saddle Motel, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
We believe our rating is so high because most of our wonderful customers are satisfied with the motel being what it is, vintage, route 66, clean, updated, friendly and affordable for Santa Fe. Like any other motel we have a several different room sizes. We are sorry that our property didn't meet your families needs and likes but we do appreciate you trying us out.

Our rates are very competitive with Santa Fe's budget motels and hotels.

All historic properties have their challenges but one stays at the historic properties because we are nostalgic, or if you are like me when I travel, I like to experience different and quirky things and places on a budget.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Potomac
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

This is a very cute, reasonably priced motel outside of the downtown area of Santa Fe. The room was a very nice size, including a little kitchenette and was very clean. The breakfast buffet, which is included, provided lots of options. The owners are knowledgeable about the area and took lots of time with us as we planned our day. I highly recommend this motel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
co springs, co
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

parking spot in the front of our room. Rooms were retro/vintage and refrig, sink, table, full bath, LCD tv, and $55/night. and clean and bed was fine
staff was friendly

next door to jackalope

if higher price would rate 3 stars

Room Tip: higher number farther from Cerrilios
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaluma, California
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 111 cities Reviews in 111 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

Stayed one night on the way out of Santa Fe. Yes, it has a quaint and homey appeal and at $52 is good value. However, the rooms are basic and it is a long ways from downtown Santa Fe. I would rather pay more for nicer accommodations walking distance to Santa Fe and not have to drive. But for one night, it was perfectly fine. Front desk is helpful and friendly, it is located on a busy road amidst your typical strip malls. We stayed in the upstairs kitchenette - #28, which is away from the road and quiet. The easy-to-patch hole in the wall was testament to a room in need of TLC.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

This older property is a value-gem. Our room was adequate in size and the bathroom was huge and had been upgraded with modern fixtures. Our shower was big enough for a square-dance (but we couldn't find enough dancers). This property is super-clean and everything was bright and sparkled. Our mattress was very comfortable.

No rod or hangers for the clothes, though.

But if you're a Jackalope fan, it's right next door.

Room Tip: Rooms on the northeast side are a little quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Hill, Maine
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

We had a wonderful time at Silver Saddle with our kids (4/6). The motel is close, but not too close, to downtown and we always had a parking spot in the front of our room. Rooms were retro/vintage and sufficiently stocked (refrig, sink, table, full bath, tv, etc) and @ $65/night in Santa Fe (or anywhere in NM) it was a total bargain. Breakfast is included and was in the front office with the other guests. We love interacting with other guests (that seem like they are interested) and this communal, funky setup was perfect for that. Front desk gave us great suggestions for dinner (skip Dr. Field Goods next door...got to Cowgirls!) and attractions (kids museum, "miraculous staircase"). It's right on a busy road, so can be a little noisy sleeping, but we found that in other "big name" hotels in NM. We liked it so much we added an additional night to our stay rather than in ABQ. Convenient little taco truck 100 feet from motel. Absolutely would recommend to those that appreciate the experience more than the size of the showers (ours was huge!)

Room Tip: We got the Roy Rogers rooms which the kids loved. Double queens, kitchen area, table, refrigerator...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Silver Saddle Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Saddle Motel

Address: 2810 Cerrillos Rd, Santa Fe, NM 87505
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Santa Fe
#4 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#13 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Silver Saddle Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Saddle Hotel Santa Fe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silver Saddle Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.