We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic Budget Motel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Silver Saddle Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Silver Saddle Motel to your Saves list
Silver Saddle Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   2810 Cerrillos Rd, Santa Fe, NM 87505   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Petaluma, California
Top Contributor
234 reviews 234 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 125 cities Reviews in 125 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
“Basic Budget Motel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

Stayed one night on the way out of Santa Fe. Yes, it has a quaint and homey appeal and at $52 is good value. However, the rooms are basic and it is a long ways from downtown Santa Fe. I would rather pay more for nicer accommodations walking distance to Santa Fe and not have to drive. But for one night, it was perfectly fine. Front desk is helpful and friendly, it is located on a busy road amidst your typical strip malls. We stayed in the upstairs kitchenette - #28, which is away from the road and quiet. The easy-to-patch hole in the wall was testament to a room in need of TLC.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    268
    143
    27
    5
    5
See reviews for
90
199
56
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

This older property is a value-gem. Our room was adequate in size and the bathroom was huge and had been upgraded with modern fixtures. Our shower was big enough for a square-dance (but we couldn't find enough dancers). This property is super-clean and everything was bright and sparkled. Our mattress was very comfortable.

No rod or hangers for the clothes, though.

But if you're a Jackalope fan, it's right next door.

Room Tip: Rooms on the northeast side are a little quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Hill, Maine
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

We had a wonderful time at Silver Saddle with our kids (4/6). The motel is close, but not too close, to downtown and we always had a parking spot in the front of our room. Rooms were retro/vintage and sufficiently stocked (refrig, sink, table, full bath, tv, etc) and @ $65/night in Santa Fe (or anywhere in NM) it was a total bargain. Breakfast is included and was in the front office with the other guests. We love interacting with other guests (that seem like they are interested) and this communal, funky setup was perfect for that. Front desk gave us great suggestions for dinner (skip Dr. Field Goods next door...got to Cowgirls!) and attractions (kids museum, "miraculous staircase"). It's right on a busy road, so can be a little noisy sleeping, but we found that in other "big name" hotels in NM. We liked it so much we added an additional night to our stay rather than in ABQ. Convenient little taco truck 100 feet from motel. Absolutely would recommend to those that appreciate the experience more than the size of the showers (ours was huge!)

Room Tip: We got the Roy Rogers rooms which the kids loved. Double queens, kitchen area, table, refrigerator...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

Pros: low price, fun decor, nice new sink, clean room.
Cons: shower too small, have to get wet, step outside the shower and soap up, step back into shower to rinse. Don't drop your soap in the shower--bring soap on a rope. ! Like a phone booth. Room is rather small. No rod or hangers to hang your clothes. Breakfast at 7 am, a little late for us. I don't like the non-refundable cash deposit.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Top Contributor
222 reviews 222 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

If you need elegance or if you want to be on the Plaza, you won't choose the Silver Saddle Motel. However, if you're interested in a unique experience, this facility needs to be at the top of your list. This 'retro' facility is comfortable, clean and affordable. The ownership is friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

Very much enjoyed my stay! Between the history, the kitsch, the spacious, comfortable and very clean rooms, and kind staff and free breakfast, I would stay here again on my next trip to Santa Fe. Thank you!

Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

Yippie-yi-yo-ki-yay!! Dawn and Wendy are great hosts! No minuses at all. Wife and I spent five nights over the Valentine's Day weekend. Best deal we've had on a room in many visits to the area. Easy in-and-out and park at your door. Hitch your wagon at the Silver Saddle and enjoy Santa Fe!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Silver Saddle Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Saddle Motel

Address: 2810 Cerrillos Rd, Santa Fe, NM 87505
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Santa Fe
#7 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#9 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Silver Saddle Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Silver Saddle Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Saddle Hotel Santa Fe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silver Saddle Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.